We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“4 day break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Mamlouka

Dar Al Mamlouka
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Al Mamlouka
Save
You added Dar Al Mamlouka to your Saves list
Bab Touma, Damascus, Syria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Damascus B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“4 day break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very nice boutique hotel. recommended.
Very clean, basic food but you can eat out.

We wanted to try something different boutiqu-y to the usual 5* hotels..and this is definately a good choice in the middle of old town/souk area.

Rooms are lovely too...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Just back from a great stay at this boutique hotel in the heart of the old own of Damascus. Great location for sights & restaurants. Fabulous refurbishment, terrace, courtyard and rooms. Good service and restaurant recommendations.

Highly recommended - no kids policy too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed at this unique hotel this week-end . The bedroom was beautifully decorated in an
oriental furniture . Extra clean toilet and shower . There is a Turkish bath simple and cozy , it was a wonderful experience . The worst part of our trip was that we had to leave so soon . We can't wait to come back and hope to spend more time . Thank you Tony for and amazing weekend .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is a fantastic boutique hotel in the old city . The staff are very good , friendly and the service is impeccable . The hotel hotel location is perfect , and every time you go out of the hotel and you come back you feel that you are at home . My room was big and has a private
Terrace . What is remarkable that the room and bathroom are very clean .
I recommend this hotel to anyone is visiting Damascus .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We originally wanted to stay at the well-known sister hotel: Beit Mamlouka - but since it was full, so we booked at Dar Al Mamlouka (which has been only open for two months). It's just a few minutes walk from the other location in the old city/Christian quarter. The house is beautifully re-finished. The staff is great- helpful and friendly. The rooms are really clean and breakfast is very good. We loved sitting in the Liwan and open courtyard. Everything is in easy walking distance from this location. The staff can give you a very helpful map of the old city.

Downsides:
Rooms on the ground floor are VERY noisy. We lost a few hours of sleep over that. One night at midnight I finally had to ask for some quiet!


Recommendations:

To improve the sleep comfort on the ground floor- have 'open' hours for the liwan and courtyard (ie 8am - 9pm).

Update the website with a location map and other services offered and hotel amenities (ie organizing day trips).

There was wi-fi but we could NEVER get it to work.. would be nice to have one computer available to hotel guests.

Was a little disappointed in hotel recommendations about local dining.. many places didn't have what we knew to be local traditional dishes.

Would be helpful for the staff to have some tourist information such as opening days/timings. Sometimes staff didn't provide us accurate information like when they told us us the mosque was closed but we happened to find out that it was open when we walked by it.

WITH ALL THAT SAID - We still would most definitely return and hope that they open a 3rd location in Aleppo! This is a wonderful, beautiful hotel in the heart of Old city Damascus that is NOT TO BE MISSED.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Dar al Mamlouka is an exceptional refurbishment of an old Damascene house located in the Christian quarter of the old city. Like its sister hotel - Beit al Mamlouka - Dar was beautifully brought back to life and exhibits an understated grace that many of these types of boutique hotels botch. It is neither over or underdone. Apart from the beautiful surroundings is the warm and thoughtful service of the staff, starting with the owner all the way down the chain. It's the little touches at the hotel - from the complimentary mini-bar, to the wonderful cappuccino machine - that make it feel so warm and inviting. The hotel is located just a bit off the hustle & bustle of the souk, which was a welcome relief and allowed for peace & quiet, even in the middle of the day. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated, with the suites being a real treasure.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Al Mamlouka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Mamlouka

Address: Bab Touma, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Damascus
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After the success of Beit Al Mamlouka, Mr. Antoun Mezannar had bought a second hotel and renovated it again to meet the same standards of Beit Al Mamlouka. Dar al Mamlouka was owned by a Muslim family. Both boutique hotels reach to the highest levels of style, elegance, and exclusiveness (all rooms have a distinct spirit and decoration in reference to figures of Syrian history). The young, creative and dedicated team is welcoming and makes a point into making each visitor's stay perfect. Perfectly located into the old town these two hotels are a must see address for lovebirds and for passionate of heritage in the best comfort. Breakfast also is a must do with the best Arabic bread and pastries in town. In short: opening your eyes in the morning in one of Mamlouka' stunning rooms is pure magic. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Al Mamlouka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.