We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shahrayar Luxury Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shahrayar Luxury Hotel
Save
You added Shahrayar Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Bab Touma, Al Kymarieh | Tel Al Kadi, Damascus 00963115410516, Syria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Damascus
Riga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Great place in the middle of Old Damascus. With breakfast including lot of local food and friendly staff and nice tree in the yard. Of course u have expect limitations defined by being in the middle of medieval city. And u need to have a plan how u will find the hotel, however that will be a challenge with every location in Old Damascus

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

We are a norwegian/french family who stayed 4 nights in Damascus in the end of january this year. This hotel was mainly chosen because of its location in the old city. But we could not have found any better hotel. The rooms were spacious and beatifully decorated in syrian style. The bathrooms were comfortable with lofts of hot water. Delicous breakfast was served in the charming courtyard. The staff vas very kind and helpfull and efficient. They did not only help us with our requests but also suggested things we could see or do. The next day we had planned to go for a trip to Palmyra and needed av van because we were already five persons. A van arrived at time, and the driver was extremely clever to manage to drive through the narrow streets in the old city. And he was very sympatic too. We enjoyed to stay in this hotel and would like to recommend it to anyone who are planning a visit to Damascus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This new-ish small hotel was encountering problems due to a rain & snow storm during our visit. It's located in a typical Ottoman house with open courtyard, and Damascus city regulations apparently no longer allow hotel owners to put a glass roof over the courtyards. The courtyard was very wet and cold as a result, and the tarpaulin they had strung up to try to keep the rain out was not working too well. However, we really liked this hotel, especially the extremely kind, welcoming and helpful owner. She didn't have any rooms available on the second night we wanted to stay, so went out of her way to find other hotels in the area for us which had availability. This was way beyond the call of duty and helped us out immensely as we didn't have to spend half a day door-knocking to try to find a room.

In the summer, this hotel would be a wonderful place to stay with its beautiful courtyard and quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I stayed in this hotel in November 2010 for 2 nights. The hotel is an old style Syrian house with a refreshing miniatur pool and a lemon tree in the citadel. The hotel is located just in the centre of old Damascus. The employees were very helpful ,the service was also very good.The rooms were small in size as well the bathrooms but they were designed with some authentic furnitures. The entrance floors were a little bit noisy in the mornings because of breakfast preperations but the second floor was nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidi Ifni
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

All of the 8 rooms in this small and charming hotel are decorated differently in Syrian style with luxury amenities. The beds were really comfortable with perfectly pressed high thread count sheets and matching comforters. This was the only hotel of our five day stay in Syria that was really clean and where the staff was caring. The staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel is a little hard to find but once you find it, the Shahrayar is within walking distance of all the main sights. The free Internet services works well as long as you know it is a proxy server -- the first concierge didn't know how to help us with that, but the night concierge showed us how to get it working. Excellent breakfast. When we were leaving the owner came to say good bye and gave us a small inlaid box as a parting gift, a nice touch. We had a ground floor room which was fine for us as early risers, but if you want to sleep in ask for an upper floor as the breakfast is served in the courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We arrived late, and left early after breakfast: but our impressions were most favourable. It's a newly renovated hotel, with the usual courtyard arrangement, a superior quality breakfast, and very well-appointed rooms. It is a bit difficult to find, though, and a few people we asked for directions didn't have a clue, probably because it's so new: worth taking the address if you're staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shahrayar Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahrayar Luxury Hotel

Address: Bab Touma, Al Kymarieh | Tel Al Kadi, Damascus 00963115410516, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Damascus
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shahrayar luxury boutique hotel is located at the heart of old Damascus surrounded by some of the most renowned historical places like Omayyad Mosque, Hananyia and St. Paul Churches. The essence of Shahrayar …… has been reformed from an 18th-century house to an amazing oriental renovated standing out hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahrayar Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.