We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Theres a reason why this is the No1 Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme
Save
You added Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Boolad St, Bab Touma, Damascus 31109, Syria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Damascus
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Theres a reason why this is the No1 Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

from interior design to staff and management - everything here is 10/10 . The location is great in the old historical centre of Damascus and it is in easy walking distance of just about anywhere you might want to go. Staff were really helpful with directions and organising trips. my only downside to this hotel was checking out - i look forward to returning.was here in 2001 on tour "Paddys On Tour" hope ye remember us and the singing .

Room Tip: request a room with balcony - worth it during the really hot season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
26
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at Beit Zafran 4-5 times during my business trips to Damascus, and I cant even start to describe how much I enjoyed my stay there...

The Hotel itself is a piece of art and history...the rooms look as if they came out from The Thousand Nights & Night stories, so spacious and refreshing to be in especially during summer.
The breakfast they offer on the roof is exactly what you'd expect from such an authentic oriental hotel...Staff are super helpful and nice.

I hope the situation is syria stabilizes soon so that I tale my family to visit Beit Zafran.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I was in Damascus on September 2011, My assistant booked me at Beit Zafran Hotel. and it absolutely exceeded my expectations. Most of the time you feel like you're the only one there,. The staff are amazing. Mr. Nour Moftah the hotel manager who met several time achieves the right balance between helpful, inquisitive and discreet.
Beit Zafran may not be cheap but compared to other similar old town hotels, there is no comparison the management has thought of everything, so you can just relax and indulge yourself. Beit Zafran really took my breath away. i recommend it to anyone who will listen and i can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had no real idea what to expect of this little hotel but it well and truly exceeded our hopes. The location is great in the old historical centre of Damascus and it is in easy walking distance of just about anywhere you might want to go. Service from thenfront desk was really good,helping to organize tours to the countryside despite the political turmoil etc. Our only real gripe was that it took forever to serve breakfast even when we explained that we had a car waiting for us and just wanted a really quick simple meal before we left. In fact nothing we said made any difference. In terms of rooms, we had a large downstairs room which was great but a bit noisy at times. We would probably ask for an upstairs one next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in April 2011, and were hoping we wouldn't be disappointed, as it was one of the most expensive hotels we'd ever chosen to stay in. In short, we weren't! We were travelling with a 21 month old, and the hotel provided a room on the ground floor (easy access with buggy), a large cot complete with soft toys, and the staff were generally very helpful and also incredibly relaxed about us having a young child in their beautiful hotel. We found the inner courtyard extremely restful, and our toddler loved looking at the fountain and sitting on the big chairs. It was an oasis of calm in the middle of the busyness of Old Damascus. The more we explored the local shops and craft works, the more we appreciated that the hotel had been done up to an extremely high standard, with its beautiful tables and doors, all in old Syrian style. Being able to walk out of the hotel in to the heart of Old Damascus was a definite plus, but the way that our room looked in to the courtyard rather than out to the street meant that our room was wonderfully quiet at night. Staff were helpful in arranging trips (airport pick-up worked brilliantly, and a car seat was included), though the guide that we had for our trip out to Ma'aloula and surrounding villages did send us the wrong way at one point. That wasn't really the fault of the hotel, though. In short, we'd recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kogl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

At the end of April we decided to go on the trip through Syria and Lebanon we had been so much and so long looking for. Of course we were worried but as my wife said on the plane home "I'm so glad we did it!" A considerable part of the pleasant memories we have taken with us from this fascinating country and her people is connected with the Beit Zafran. It is a jewel of a hotel, hidden away at the end of a cul de sac with just a nondescript door and a little sign saying that there was a hotel. But once you go through that door you step into a haven of tranquility and beauty. We first arrived there at about 0415 am. Our rooms - at the beginning and at the end of our trip - were on the ground floor and were grand, their size, furniture cleanliness - you name it! And then there were the staff, ever so kind, helpful and accomodating. If ever I come back to Damascus I know where I'll turn to. You are woken by the church bells and having your breakfast on the roof top you marvel at the beauty of this oldest of cities.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We started our holiday at the Beit Zafran and it was our base while on our private tour we had booked with Nawafir Tours who get all the credit for making our reservations.
Atmosphere wow ,service , decor , roof top breakfast attention to detail the Beit Zafran has it all a credit to Syrian hospitality.
Location in old Damascus perfect, we always looked forward to returning to Beit Zafran an oasis of tranquility a very memorable location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme

Address: 33 Boolad St, Bab Touma, Damascus 31109, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Zafran is a wonderfully restored 19th-century home transformed into a luxury Hotel de Charme. A quiet hideaway tucked in the historic neighborhoods of the Old City, our hotel is within walking distance of most major tourist attractions in Damascus. Our personalized service and first-class Damascene accommodations are unparalleled. Stepping into the home, the antiquity, charm and sophistication are unmistakable. Beit Zafran is sure to provide its guests with a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.