We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Overpriced!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Rabie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Rabie
Save
You added Al Rabie to your Saves list
Sharia Bahsa | Souq Saroujah, Damascus, Syria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Damascus B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We took a 4-bed room just next to the courtyard. Very noisy at night. Toilet is clean but didn't supply anything e.g. tower, soap even issues. I asked a reception staff to call to reconfirm hotel in Aleppo and he asked me to repay him the telephone charge. It's fair. He took me SP50 but later I found that he paid only SP25.
There are many budget hotels around the corner and no need to take this one at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
12
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I traveled Syria with my brother recently and had made a reservation with Al Rabie 6 weeks prior to our arrival. My brother arrived before me and the morning of, I notified them he would be showing up before me and to let him into our room. I recieved a "no problem" email from them. When I showed up at 11pm, they explained that my brother was in a dorm room, and i should sleep in the rooftop dorm this evening and tomorrow we'd get the double room we had requested. After much arguing, I got my way. The gentleman was rather rude and did not want to give up the room, despite it being their mistake. It seems no matter what, you cannot count on reservations at this hotel. We did return at the end of our trip in syria before we left, and they did have our reservation. We only returned because the water was nice and hot, and the included breakfast was great. Not sure Id return though, due to the uncertainty of reservation status.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I made a reservation via e-mail with this hotel and got a confirmation twice! The price was 2200 SP for a double with private bathroom. When we showed up the receptionist didn't even look at us and said with an arrogant voice that they were full despite our reservation. They redirected us to a collegue hotel Al Saada. The room was horrible there and we didn't take it.

I read the comments here on tripadvisor and was warned. So I already booked a second hotel via booking.com. This hotel, Al Majed, is cheaper ,1500 SP, and much beter.

My advise: don't go. Al Rabie is using it's good report in Lonely lanet but they aren't worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We arrived at the hotel after long bus ride to find that my email correspondence with the owner confirming my double room amounted to nothing and that there was no room available.

The owner pointed out that in his reply to me he had said "don't arrive late" (it was a tick before 3.30pm) I simply had to laugh. He seemed to work on the basis that the louder he mocked us for being ignorant of how hotel booking worked the less sense he was required to make. I'd pay good money to show my friends a video.

Avoid or take a video camera if arriving after midday.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We booked with this hostel based on the write up in Lonely Planet and, based on our experience and other's reviews, it appears this hostel is now coasting on reputation rather than reality.

Despite having a printed copy of our email confirmation, they said we did not have a reservation and we were confused. We challenged this, evidence in hand, and they just became rude, not even offering us any options. Avoid till they start improving their game.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We spent two nights there at the start of our trip. We were lucky enough to get a room without booking, but two tiny single beds with no bathroom.. There are some nicer rooms but it seems you have to book months in advance to stand a chance.

When we left for more Syrian adventures, we asked the manager to keep us a room for a night ten days later..We hassled him with emails but never got any answer and when we arrived, he said he had nothing. So don't expect the management to take huge care of you..

The best part with this hotel is the price and the beautiful inside courtyard. They know they are unbeatable in Damascus for accommodation in that price range. If you want a place relatively cheap go there but don't expect huge comfort, it's far from luxurious!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We made a booking at Al Rabie about 3 weeks ahead of our arrival date (encouraged by the glowing Lonely Planet write-up), despite receiving two emails confirming our double ensuite room we arrived to be told we actually had a room at their "sister hotel" Al Saada. This hotel was terrible and not of an equal standard, the communal area had no character, the young staff were the only rude people we came across in Syria and the communal toilets & one shower were never clean. A very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Rabie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Rabie

Address: Sharia Bahsa | Souq Saroujah, Damascus, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Damascus
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Al Rabie Hotel Damascus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Rabie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.