We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Perfect little hotel in an ideal location to enjoy Old Damascus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Akbik Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Akbik Hotel
Save
You added Beit Akbik Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Damascus, Straight Street | Next to the Roman Arch, Damascus 5565, Syria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Damascus
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect little hotel in an ideal location to enjoy Old Damascus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Beautiful little place. Just come to stay and shop and enjoy the Old City of Damascus. Get to know it and love it, This hotel is not on overnight place to sleep but an experience all of its own.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel is just great - the location is brililant within Damascus and the old city. It is off a bustling street, yet quiet and tranquil while giving you a taste of what an old Damascene house would have been like .... The staff were beyond helpful and made our stay fantastic.
Cost-wise, our research showed that generally Damascus was not a cheap place to stay if you want decent accommodation so this was not cheap on the hip pocket - but for the ambience, service, location and quality - you can't go past this place. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

There could not be a better location than this in old Damascus, literally next door to the Roman Arch on Straight Street. and within walking distance to everything! But from the minute you walk through the door into the cool welcoming stone courtyard, you are made to feel right at home, in fact this is a restored Damascene home which becomes your home. We stayed 3 nights and nothing was too much trouble including cups of tea on tap when I was unwell and instructions to the closest pharmacy. I was even organised for an appointment for manicure and pedicure at the very beauty salon frequented by our utterly charming and ever helpful receptionist. She provided a map, clear instructions and advice on cost and tipping also!

I had booked a double room in advance of our trip on line and everything proceeded smoothly. Our room was spotlessly clean, intimate and cosy but we still had ample room to put our things out and unpack without any problems. I had asked for a room which was quiet and that is exactly what we got.

Breakfast was not only aesthetically beautiful but amazingly good ( the equivalent in a European boutique hotel would be very likely totally outclassed in variety and for sheer taste sensation!) and fortified us for our explorations. Most importantly, the generosity and hospitality of the staff and management is enough to ensure we would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Just amazing location and exceptional staff. Lovely ambience all round. Because of the central courtyard and the fact that noise travels upwards - I found it hard to get a full nights sleep. But would certainly recommend (just remember the ear plugs!)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed for several nights at this hotel off Straight Street in Damascus. We had originally planned to change half way through and move to another hotel in Damascus but decided to stay here after all because the service was so good. Because of this late change in our plans, we ended up staying in 3 different rooms so can speak about them all. The rooms were all attractively decorated, however they were fairly compact and did not have much room for unpacking clothes. This did not bother us as we were out sightseeing most of the time. If we had spent more time in the hotel we might have found the room size slightly constrained. The staff were very good about providing all the little extras and replenishing them each day. The complimentary bottles of water each day were also much appreciated. The public areas were also most attractive and the breakfast was of a high standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Friendly and hospitable staff, great location in old Damascus on the straight street, next to some wonderful restaurants made this the best hotel we stayed in on our holiday. We paid circa £100 per night for a double room incl. tax and breakfast and worth every penny.
Highly recommend it if you’re looking for an authentic and quaint Syrian experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Amazing location - just 2 doors down from Straight Street and off the Roman Arch... pretty much center of the Old City. Convenience stores just on Straight Street for your waters, sodas and snacks. Must go to Naranji Restaurant on the other side of Straight Street - jsut remember to leave room for the huge fruit and dessert tray you get after every meal - served complimentary.

But about the Beit: aside from its near perfect location; the rooms are full of character. Two Floors built around a lovely central courtyard. Breakfast is about 12 meze plates - delcious, but a little too on the leisurely side, in that you need a good hour+ to enjoy... service was attentive just slower and more relaxed than my NYC pace. The room have wood, often mother of pearl inlaid (what you see so often in Syria) , furnishings. Just being in the room, you know you are in Damascus with the character of the room . NOTE I had the single as did my friend - and they are rather tiny. No walk space and had to rerrange furnishing in order to have my suitcase on the chair ( no other place for it and couldnt slide it under the bed). Smaller than some of the European singles I have been to. We often ended up in the Courtyard to sit and saw others doing the same. Also as the rooms face the courtyard and close to Straight Street -- gets noisy. Having said that, although 2 x faults, more than made up by the absolutely accomodating and helpful staff, the perfect location and wonderful rooms themselves. There is a small TV; mini-bar/fridge; complimentary daily bottled water. Staying at this former Mansion does feel liek being with a extended family - very homey and welcoming. A wonderful boutique hotel and a MUST.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beit Akbik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Akbik Hotel

Address: Old Damascus, Straight Street | Next to the Roman Arch, Damascus 5565, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beit Akbik Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Akbik Hotel is an old damascene house, built on the 17th century. It has been restored and converted into a 4 stars luxury boutique hotel.The hotel offers 8 rooms (3 doubles, 3 twins, and 2 singles). Each room has its own character and unique design.The hotel is located at the Old city of Damascus. With a walking distance form all major historical and touristic sites in Old Damascus. Being in the middle of the straight street, next to the Roman arch gives Beit Akbik hotel a distinguish location which makes it accessible for cars and easy to explore the old city of Damascus. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Akbik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.