We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“charming and centrally located... at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Rose Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Rose Hotel
Save
You added Beit Rose Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bab Touma Main Rd | Sefel al Taleh, Damascus 1-15, Syria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Damascus
Lebanon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“charming and centrally located... at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

Charming 7 room hotel in an old Damascene house, run by owners who love their work. Gorgeously restored with amazing attention to detail, including ornately painted ceiling beams in each room. Friendly staff who are happy to accommodate. Beautiful tiled bathrooms, comfortable beds, and access to BBC and CNN in the rooms for news junkies. Fountain in the courtyard. Roof-top views of the Old City. Free wireless internet. Tasty breakfast included in the room rate. I checked around with numerous other small hotels, and this spot had the best prices. Location is great – quiet, within good walking distance of sites and shops, and easy for taxis to find. Great place all around!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tunis
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

a beautiful renovated house! each room has its own style, each item has a history, and great breakfast! staff and owner Soumar are lovely and house ideally located in the old city, would love to go back! don't forget to discover the roof terrasse, amazing panorama!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Location is fantastic the attention to detail and comfort in each room is also the same.The owners and all the people who work here are really kind have a great sense of humour and know the old city really well. Compared with the prices for similar style boutique hotels this was is cheaper and more personal.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Hi, I am Linda from Bremen Germany.
I decided to go to explore Damascus, Syria in November 2009. As it came to hotel search, I always found in internet mostly the boutique hotels, which were very expensive, like 150-350 $ per night. But I was looking for cozy, hotel with personal touch, Arabic style, not too expensive, with Really clean rooms and in Old city. As I have a friend there, she found me this wonderful Beit Rose hotel, which I booked. When I came, I was really impressed, because the hotel is beautiful, my room Nr. 6 was the piece of the art, with huge Arabic style bed, furniture and there are details, which you can admire. It was very clean, with beautiful bathroom ( also piece of art, because of old Damascus wall plates ), which was also very clean, with modern sanitary devices. I really felt like a princess sleeping in this huge Arabic style bed, looking at pictures with Damascus Roses and other interesting stuff. Near my room was the stairs to go up to terrace on the roof, where are nice tables, to sit down, drink some wine and see over Damaskus roofs. It's a wonderful view. The hotel has a nice Innenhof ( sorry, don't really know how it's called in English, probably the inside yard, with the tables for breakfast, surrounded by the citrus tree with big fruits and a fountain. It's very very nice. The breakfest is good, coffe is tasty, the only thing, I missed, something warm, like fried eggs or boiled or Spiegeleier ( it's in German), but anyway breakfast is good, it contains balls of goat ?cheese, olives different kind, vegetables, jams, crousons. The hotel staff is very very friendly and everything is easy to reach in Old Damascus. I am really impressed, taking to account our German each/small thing to notice.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

The Inn has been beautifully restored. Great charm and good vibe.

The owners are terrific people as are the staff. Well worth the money. Close to great restaurants, shops and night clubs. Would I go back? - Absoutely!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We found this hotel by chance but it was a really good surprise, the rooms are gorgeus, the staff friendly, only the prices i have to say are a bit high.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My partner and I stayed here soon after it opened in May 2009 for the first 2 nights of a 9-day trip around Syria, which might have explained why our taxi driver had trouble finding it! The hotel was arranged as part of a package for my partner and I, but was only added at the last minute when another hotel was unavailable. Needless to say we were not disappointed.

The hotel is a converted and restored house, with 6 or 7 rooms individually decorated with Syrian artefacts. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small and had a low doorway, but it was querky and different and certainly shouldn't put you off.

The central courtyard is both peaceful and beautiful and a perfect place to enjoy a traditional Syrian breakfast each morning, served by very friendly staff. The rooftop terrace is a great place to catch some sun, read a book, and look out over the hustle and bustle of the old town.

The staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and sights in the town.

If this sounds like your kind of hotel, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beit Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Rose Hotel

Address: Bab Touma Main Rd | Sefel al Taleh, Damascus 1-15, Syria
Location: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beit Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Rose is a traditional Damascusine house of the eighteenth century that has been restored recently over a two year period with a delicate attention to preserve its authentic style; however very fine details were changed in an attempt to add a unique charm. The house is located in the heart of old Damascus, just few steps away from the Mostakem street (straight street) that dates back to the Romanian era. Therefore it's the ideal gateway for exploring the history, browsing surrounding area of interest and enjoying the sensational experience of the Syrian cuisine in the abundant nearby restaurants; many quiet bars are offering a chilling environment nearby. Each room is provided with air condition, heater, a small fridge, TV, international phone line and also wireless internet. Our breakfast is a combination between a continental and traditional Famascusine one and it's served for all our guests free of charge. We provide meals from our kitchen (is located out of the hotel). We do have a breezy specialized cocktail menu (served all day long). The Beit Rose's friendly staff go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Rose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.