We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it. Avoid!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Paradise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gulf Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Gulf Paradise Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   AL Khalej Street | P.O. Box. 12954, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not worth it. Avoid!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was there for a business trip to Doha and was shocked to see the state of the hotel when I entered for the price we paid for it.
- Rooms were small, dingy, not properly ventilated and had dirty carpets. The bed and linen weren't kept well and tidy. The woodwork was peeling off.
- Food was just okay. Breakfast was decent with ample variety but the dinner wasn't worth having there.
- Not much aware of the location of the hotel within the city but it wasn't the best.
- At the time of billing, they came up with a telephone bill of some 8,000 Rials (about 2,000 USD) for my colleague who was shocked!

Not worth staying specially when there are so many branded ones around now.

Room Tip: All of them are same. And weird!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
4
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

very good, reasonable pay and safe to stay during my frequent visit to Qatar. Also, restaurant with varieties of cuisine including Indian food. Good place to stay. It was center place in the country for me to reach the meeting spot, project sites and shopping, etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Aince and clean hotel to stay. If you are able to compromise little on variety of break fast, lunch and dinner, this is the best hotel, whose tarif is in reach ... check for bargain on the tarif.Book in Advance.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms opposite to road side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is without a doubt the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. After five minutes of running around, my children's feet were BLACK. There was mold and mildew in the bathroom and all over the shower walls. The carpet was ripped and torn away from the wall. The sheets on the bed were ripped and the duvet cover had holes in it. There were flies on the food at the breakafast buffet. I would give this flea bag hotel a zero stars if I could. It was not sanitary. We got back home and spent two days washing everything we had taken with us. Do not stay at this hotel. At and price. Gross!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

While I was in Doha, there was a major UN conference happening. Therefore, most hotels were booked and the normal chains' prices were sky-high, and thus stayed here. Reading the reviews, I figured it would be pretty simple but decent; it was probably the oldest hotel in Doha, and my particular room had "window" that looked out to the hall, so I had to obviously keep the blinds closed the whole time.
The carpets were old, the TV was for sure older than I am, and just all around a fairly depressing place. The lone bright spot was the hotel manager (I think that was his position), who was extremely friendly/intelligent and I had several conversations with him. The other staff was nice, as well.
But the hotel itself is not somewhere I would hope to stay again, despite the service.

Room Tip: Ask to not be at the corner facing the hall; at least to have a room that has a proper window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We had an 18 hr stop in Doha and airport facility's didn't encourage you to stay there , we were sold this at the airport at a very good rate , our surprise when we ended up in the penthouse suite , amazing rooms , service excelant , all staff very helpful

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My first visit to Doha and I stayed here with three of my friends. It was the family room and and spacious enough. Toilets were clean, Rooms were neat, separate pantry and everything was there. Since it was the Sri Lankan nights period I had enough dishes to taste. I am not too sure why some people have commented so badly about the people here. But for me I think they always had a smile ( Not only the Sri Lankan staff) Since I was in the 7th floor I dont know about the kitchen sounds and noisy music some have commented.

Cant comment about the prizes since it was provided to me by the Sri lankan society in Doha. But I believe they may have got a good offer.

Hema Nalin Karunaratne
MD?Heritage TV/Sri Lanka

Room Tip: 7th floor family rooms. 3 toilets, enough space, No sound pollution at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Paradise Hotel

Address: AL Khalej Street | P.O. Box. 12954, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gulf Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.