We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decor and ambience is better than the food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Spiga by Papermoon

La Spiga by Papermoon
W Doha Hotel & Residences, Westbay | 201, Doha 19573, Qatar (Formerly La Spiga by Papermoon, W Hotel)
+974 4453 5135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 526 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decor and ambience is better than the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've been to La Spiga a few times now and it's not necessarily for the food - but this is Doha and I don't expect much.

I'm not going to really bang on about the food, it was okay by Doha standards. Try the Pappardelle Paper Moon.

On the other hand, the decor is cool and funky with their large disco ball styled pizza oven and the cool chill out music in the background gives it a nice youthful ambience. The service is refined and not overwhelming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at La Spiga by Papermoon, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello oscsmith,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review La Spiga, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance in our restaurant. I was, however, disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our dishes as much.

I would like to take this opportunity to discuss your experience further; if you could email me at e-insider.wdoha@whotels.com

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    59
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true Italian experience in Doha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

La Spiga by PaperMoon is a unique place to taste the true and authentic Italian finest and traditional cuisine. Without doubt the best new restaurant in Doha. The menu is simple and reflects Italian cuisine at its best; traditional recipes are revisited with a contemporary twist; the restaurant ambience is welcoming and modern, the staff and its management attentive and always welcoming, try the business lunch which offers a great selection of starters, mains, pizzas and desserts. Hard to pick a favourite as since the restaurant has opened I have tried most of the dishes. Well done to all at La Spiga which is a great addition to the W hotel offering!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at La Spiga by Papermoon, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello Italchamind,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our new Italian Restaurant La Spiga and your wonderful words. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon to try the rest of our dishes!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a great experience. The W is known in Doha for truly memorable dining. The replacement for the tired and old Maison Du caviar is a bright; vibrant Italian resto that is truly a worthy addition to the Doha food scene. The eggplant entre is amazing; along with real oven fired pizzas the place is brimming with genuine Italian feel.

If you're looking for a relaxed, unpretentious Italian resto in Doha, look no further.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at La Spiga by Papermoon, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello Jhaysom,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of La Spiga. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our new restaurant, the ambiance and the dishes!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great lunch business menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

La Spiga is a recent addition to the Doha eating scene. I went there for lunch and was pleasantly surprised by the Qr95 3-course lunch menu. The food was good and the service was quasi-perfect. Only minus is that the acoustics are not top notch and it does get quite noisy in there, especially for a business lunch when you don't really want to talk to loud.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at La Spiga by Papermoon, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello WoburnExpress,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about La Spiga, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our new Italian Restaurant here at W Doha!

Hope to welcome you again soon for another Business Lunch!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“La Spiga”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

4 of us went to eat at La Spiga, a warm welcome, a good table, and very pleasant service if not expert. I ordered wine and the wrong bottle arrived. In the middle of conversation I almost didn't read the label then thought better of it and was pleased I did. It was a very different wine. But the real problem was the food. I ordered sea-bass. It was perhaps, the worst fish I have ever been served. It was cold, limp and old. It was tasteless and the spinach with it inedible.Not at all happy and disappointed. There can be no excuse whatsoever for allowing that dish to leave the kitchen .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at La Spiga by Papermoon, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello Stephen C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review La Spiga. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our restaurant and the Sea Bass to the fullest.

My sincere apologies for your unfavorable dining experience, and hope to welcome you again soon in order to turn your experience around.

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Spiga by Papermoon also viewed

 

Been to La Spiga by Papermoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Spiga by Papermoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.