We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite...suits me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Regal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Regal Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Regal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ras Abu Abboud Street | PO Box: 22057, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Suite...suits me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

excellent room space, nice staff, good food especially buffet breakfast, well connected to banks and super markets.Good working desk in the room, well connected to wifi & world. They have provided complete care and comfort

Room Tip: Suites are cool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
5
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My mother taught me never to be direspectful of people who give you things (regardless of how crap the Christmas present may be).
So thank you Qatar airlines for booking me accommodation (without me knowing) during a 10 hour connection stop, it was much appreciated and the service through immigration was first rate.
Unfortunately the 'Grand Regal' sort of lets the side down.
The hotel is neither grand or regal and certainly does not rate as a 5 star. The rooms are spacious enough and the beds are comfy but other than that they are rather drab and worn.
Perhaps the best way to sense how dull this place is is to take a trip to the bar(s). There are two that feature 'live' music. One has an Indian theme and whilst it did have a live band strumming away there was not a single guest or hotel staff to be seen inside - great gig boys. The second was a rather secretive affair where you had to prove you were a foreigner. This did contain patrons and the remnants of what might once upon a time have been a live band. It reminded me of an old peoples home where the terminally sad go to die. And unfortunately this persumably continuous sense of bordem has rubbed off on the staff who have adopted a service attitude to match the decor.
So if this hotel is offered to you for free then take it with a smile, if you have to pay then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were put up in the hotel when we had a missed connection with the airline. Despite the name, the hotel was unfortunately quite run down. There are signs that it was once a nice hotel, but it is not currently up to 5 star standards. Service was dismissive, paint was peeling off the walls, I had to fix the shower head myself to have a shower and there was no wireless internet in the room.

Food was a buffet and (admittedly were there a little late in the evening) the food was terrible - meat was rubbery, overcooked, and all rather unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked two rooms at this hotel the last minute while having a very late dinner at a restaurant in Doha, seemed like the better choice when I made the reservation, had the best rate for a five star, had the option of two interconnecting rooms, and rate included breakfast and free wifi.
We arrived quite late at the hotel, service was pleasant but slow, but I guess that could happen when you are checking in at 1 am. The rooms were pleasantly spacious, had flat screen TV's with cable, very comfortable beds, no signs of overuse or uncleanness on the sheets or pillows. Bathrooms were well sized and equipped, with marble allover, large Grohe shower head with great water pressure and no issue with hot water, and had bathroom amnesties. Overall the room and bathroom were well worthy of a five star rating.
Breakfast bar was well equipped as well and it included an omelette counter and complementary newspapers.
Will be my first choice to check out if I decide to visit Doha again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived early in the morning following an overnight flight from Cape Town and although it was much earlier than the advertised check in time, they arranged a room for us very quickly and at no extra charge. The room was spacious and airy, fully air conditioned and well appointed on the 9th floor.
We ate in the al a carte restaurant for two nights and the food was delicious and well presented. My only suggestion to the management team, would be to have a booklet in the room, explaining where all the facilities of the hotel are located, the opening times of the restaurants and dress code, but apart from this we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Grand Regal(Ex Merweb central). I have stayed at this hotel 3-4 times in the past year firstly when it was under previous owners and recently under new owners. The first time I stayed at this hotel the first impressions were not good as you drive towards hotel it is a in an old area of Doha and it's quiite run down but once in the hotel your impression changes . The reception staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries . The rooms are spacious and clean with very good house keeping . There is bar on the first floor with average live music but with good service . The food was always presentable with a good selection on the buffet style meal although ala cart menu was very basic . But since change of owners they tried different things and in my opinion why fix something if it's not broken . 50% of the staff have been changed and this has had detrimental effect on moral the new staff are trying but not same standard as before .You used get your evening meal/buffet in first floor restaurant but they decided to move to ground floor in the lobby it's like eating your meal in the main street the food that was supposed to hot was warm at best cold buffet/salad bar was room temperature not a nice meal . This is supposed to be 5star hotel prevoius was Avery good 4 star hotel now it's a poor 5star hotel the only upside for the hotel is compared to other 5star hotels this cost half the price so will remain popular . But I won't be stopping here again as can get better value/service for my money.

Room Tip: The room differ in size and price but most rooms are of decent standard/size wifi is available in mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Ive given this hotel a three star rating purely because the rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable and they had bottles of Strongbow at the bar. Its also a handy location for the Corniche and Villagio Mall.

However, the management and staff have several things to learn.

1) If you ask for an extra bed in your room, it should be there upon arrival, especially when you arrive with little people at nearly 9pm at night. It should also not be broken and have to be replaced!

2) If you are in designated family room and you ask for drinks to be bought to the room, whilst leaving the door wide open, sitting in view of the open door, the waiting staff really SHOULDN'T ring the door bell and wake said little people up.

3) Further more, when delivering a complimentary drink as an apology for waking the kids up - its really not a good idea to ring the door bell again once the parents have just got the kids off to sleep and the door is STILL OPEN!!!!

4) Nor is it acceptable to "Accidentally" stamp our check in cards with the inclusive breakfast and not discuss it with us so we think "Marvellous, free breakfast" only for us to have our cards checked AFTER we had eaten the breakfast and then get charged for it! All the staff saw us walk in so why no one stopped us to ask us our room number as is the norm in most places is beyond me.

5) When discussing the issue with the duty manager his "its not our fault you ate the breakfast you must pay. Its really not the hotels fault so why should we pay" attitude was disgusting. His insistance that we pay 50% and the member of check in staff pay the remaining was horrible. It wasn't something we had budgeted for and it wasn't worth the money

6) It also does not leave a pleasent taste in the mouth when at 9pm at night (again after the little people have gone to sleep) to have the same check in member of staff phone the room begging us to pay his 50% of the bill as he couldn't afford it.

There are several other issues I have with the hotel. The spirits tasted watered down, no idea where our car was kept over night, and to access anything in the car we had to call the valet service to fetch the car for us (who incidently are incapable of opening any doors to help out!), the speakers from the mosque just outside the family room window (I know call to prayer is expected, but surely there was a better location for the family room right then right across from the local mosque). Views of Doha, if you craned your neck and looked out the far right hand corner of the window. However, there were stunning views of Doha's shanity towns right outside our window. They knew that four of us (two adults two children) were staying in the room, but towels and water only provided for two. Also the fridge didn't work in our room, we were going to mention it, but it seems like anything a guest has to say to a member of staff is greeted with a less than hospitable attitude so we didn't bother.

All in all, if you can stretch to staying somewhere else, then do. However if this is truly your only option, then don't eat the breakfast and stick to the bottles of beer/ cider and wine (and scrutinise your bill for everything!!)

Oh and I think that the 5 stars it has on the outside of its building are they just for decoration, they certainly don't reflect the standard of the hotel!

Room Tip: The interconnecting family rooms are good sizes, but the call to prayer did wake the kids up very ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Regal Hotel

Address: Ras Abu Abboud Street | PO Box: 22057, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Regal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Grand Regal Hotel is perfectly located in the Qatar’s premiere financial district, on Ras Abu Abboud Street, close to Corniche road, near Qatar National Library roundabout, and Qatar Islamic Museum. It is just 5 minutes drive from the Doha International Airport, within easy reach of Doha’s major historic sites and leisure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Regal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Regal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.