We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi at its best...service not so much!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yee Hwa Restaurant

Yee Hwa Restaurant
Al-Kinana St. | Doha Downtown Hotel Apartments, Doha 5731, Qatar
+974 44419898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 467 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Barbecue, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Authentic Japanese and Korean cuisine offering ALL you can eat sushi on Sundays and ALL you can eat Korean BBQ every Mondays and Wednesdays.The most extensive sushi rolls menu available.Korean BBQ grill on each table.
Doha
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sushi at its best...service not so much!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant tucked away in the hustle of Al Saad, Doha. The restaurant was quite busy when we went, and in 5 minutes a table was offered to us. The food arrived quick but we wondered what was wrong with the staff. Y were they not smiling and not friendly at all.
but the sushi was delicious, fresh and hit the right spots and satisfied the craving for sushi.
would surely go for the Korean bbq and all you can wat

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Tej2385,

Thank you dining with us and for your valuable comments on this site.

Your comments gives us mixed feelings here at Yee Hwa as we are thrilled that you enjoyed our food but at the same time we are very disappointed that our service did not live up to the standards that we aspire.

We apologize for this and hope we can be better the next time you visit us.

Sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“melt in your mouth tuna sashimi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had the mixed sashimi with a seaweed salad and my wife had the soba noodles and a cucumber roll. Although the seaweed salad and cucumber rolls were a bit small, the meals came with plenty of side dishes and the noodle and sashimi portions were good. The tuna was especially nice, but all the fish was fresh - not chunks of ice like in some restaurants. The wasabi and soy sauce were quality as well, and the meal was presented nicely. Tea was refilled often and service was attentive. Personally, I didn't care for the football match on as I think it distracted from the ambiance, but that is a minor complaint. All in all, a great night at a fine restaurant. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Eric B,

Thank you for visiting us at Yee Hwa and for your valuable comments.

We are delighted that you had a nice experience with us. As you may know we do buy most of our fish fresh from the market. For example our salmon is brought to us fresh everday and tuna is flown in every few days.

However once in a while we do serve frozen tuna whenever the tuna harvest is unsuccessful.

Our Hamour and Sherry is also bought fresh everyday from the fishermen at the corniche.

We hope you come back soon to try our new sushi rolls menu.

Until then we wish you good eats.

sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Japanese cuisine also on offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I ate alone on my first evening staying at the Doha Downtown Hotel. I was guided to try the bento box as a quicker option for a tired traveller. Excellent value at QR 120 plus QR 15 for a pot of green tea. Good selection of hot and cold dishes in the box with a wide and varied range of accompaniments. I was hungry but unable to finish. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Geoff_from_Oz,

Thank you for your recent visit and your review of our restaurant.

Bento box was a great choice as it has a little bit of everything inside.

It seems you are staying at the Doha Downtown Hotel Apartments? This means you are practically family and we hope to see you at the restaurant more often.

Please feel free to ask for the restaurant Manager Mrs. Irene the next time you are in and she will take good care of you.

Thank you once again for your visit and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Potential with lack of execution”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just a warning - Although I didn't factor this into the review because it's not really their fault, finding a parking spot is going to be a nightmare.

The restaurant's atmosphere is great; it's got an authentic vibe about it that immediately sparked nostalgia for the family run hole-in-the-wall type places found all over Los Angeles that never fail to hit the spot. Unfortunately, the polite lady taking care of the front of the house is where the pleasant experience ends and everything that follows keeps falling short of expectations. Reservations were made in advance, or so I thought. My name didn't turn up on the list and so I was forced to wait for a table, and so did the patrons who walked in a few minutes later (who were seated before I was - national dress seems to be a requirement for 'first come first serve' to apply).

Took ages for the waitress to take our order, and even longer for the food to arrive; I wish I could say it was worth the wait. The sushi was edible at best and a worryingly coloured order of Tuna sashimi had to be sent back. If it wasn't for the disappointing service, I would've considered returning to try the Korean food everyone raves about. I really wish the food and service would've lived up to Yee Hwa's authenticity but until that happens, I wouldn't recommend you stop by.

..and the quest for good sushi in Doha continues.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Ramy K,

Thank you for your recent visit and review of our restaurant.

First of all let me begin by apologizing for losing your reservation which is definitely our mistake.

I have now spoken to the restaurant manager (the polite lady) about the events surrounding your visit on October 6th. Please allow me to address some of your concerns which you pointed out in your review.

The customers who had been seated before you were actually first on the waiting list. They had stepped out of the restaurant before you arrived and returned just moments after you. This is why they had been seated before you and their national dress was and is absolutely not a factor when seating our customers.

The server in charge of you that night has been spoken to and internal actions have been taken.

I understand that you tried our all you can eat sushi buffet. We do try and include as many rolls for our buffet (currently 16 rolls and many different nigiri and sashimi) however due to time constraints on a continuously sell-out buffet night, the more delicate time consuming difficult rolls (signature rolls) are excluded, however available on our a la carte menu.

Our tuna is flown in fresh from South East Asia on a weekly basis and the color (full blooded red) is quite different from the frozen tuna (light red to pinkish), but we assure you that it is of superior quality to the frozen type.

We do sincerely hope that you reconsider your revisit and try our extensive sushi rolls menu (over 60 rolls) and our Korean menu prepared by our Korean chef with over 30 years experience in authentic Korean cuisine.

If you do reconsider, please note that there are more parking spaces available at the back of the building with a quick (less than a minute) walk through the basement car park and up to our restaurant. Alternatively should you wish, you can call us when you are outside and one of our staff would be happy to park your car for you.

Once again thank you for your visit and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice Korean food. Best in Doha.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very nice authentic Korean food. Korean owned & managed.
I've been many times, always enjoy it there best in Doha. Nice food very reasonable prices.
The only thing I could possibly say bad is I don't particularly like the type of disposable chopsticks they use.
Always busy as it’s very popular so larger groups may need to book in advance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimchimoon, General Manager at Yee Hwa Restaurant, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Monza886,

Thank you for your recent visit to Yee Hwa and your continued support of our restaurant and the Japanese and Korean cuisine in general.

We much appreciate your continued support of our restaurant.

With regards to the disposable chopsticks... The reason for us using disposable chopsticks are purely hygienic. We are currently in contact with some suppliers to supply us with better quality disposable wooden chopsticks and this should be finalized soon. In the meantime, next time you visit us please ask one of our servers for our plastic chopsticks or a pair of our Korean metal chopsticks and they will happily accommodate your needs.

Once again thank you very much for your review of Yee Hwa and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Seung Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yee Hwa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yee Hwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yee Hwa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.