We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yee Hwa Restaurant

Yee Hwa Restaurant
Al-Kinana St. | Doha Downtown Hotel Apartments, Doha 5731, Qatar
+974 44419898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 467 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Barbecue, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Authentic Japanese and Korean cuisine offering ALL you can eat sushi on Sundays and ALL you can eat Korean BBQ every Mondays and Wednesdays.The most extensive sushi rolls menu available.Korean BBQ grill on each table.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Plesant atmosphere, great sushi. Staff very friendly but typical to Doha, had to get their attention to take our order, bring needed items, final check, etc. Overall good experience and quality food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Authentic Korean Food in Doha!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Yes, there is authentic Korean food in Doha! What a pleasant surprise!

We tried a few popular Korean dishes (bulgogi, bibimbap, mandu, jajangmyun, etc...) and bbq prepared by a Korean chef! Unlike another nearby restaurant in Doha that describes itself as a Korean restaurant- but has a chef from Burma, YEE HWA truly serves authentic Korean food. You'll be happy to find the Korean bbq grills at the tables. The decor is bright and cheerful.

Next time we'll be sure to try the sushi and Japanese food. If the quality and authenticity is anything like it's Korean food, we'll be as equally delighted. Looking forward to returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good service. Go for the shabu shabu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled on this place after visiting the cafe next door. I asked if they did shabu shabu - basically a Japanese hot pot into which you drop thin slices of raw meat to cook it before dipping into various sauces. They did, and it's excellent - helped by the fact that there's a hot pot stove set into each table.

The quality of raw produce is excellent, as is the service. The sushi and specials are also very good.

Overall it's hard to fault.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Japanese food not up to standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My friend and I were visiting the gallery round the corner when we noticed this restaurant. Since we both love sushi we decided we wanted to try a new Japanese restaurant in town (though it is Japanese AND korean) The service was fairly efficient and they brought some Korean starters (kimchi and some other good stuff) as we ordered our salads - the thai salad and the salmon salad - both were very disappointing. The salad did not come with any lettuce but rather on its own and we had to ask for lettuce to be put in. For our main course we ordered a world roll and a tuna avocado roll - the latter came with only tuna wrapped around avocado and no rice. The world roll was slightly better. I was thoroughly disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great new restaurant, lovely menu choice, very attentive staff, wonderful food and cook very very well. We were offered a private room as we had a party of 8, the manager really looked after us. All in all a fantastic new restaurant. Will definitely be back, and very happy to recommend to others. Great addition to the Al Sadd.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yee Hwa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yee Hwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yee Hwa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.