We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place not to miss in Doha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strata Restaurant, Lounge & Bar

Strata Restaurant, Lounge & Bar
InterContinental Doha The City, Doha, Qatar (Formerly Strata Restaurants and Lounge)
+97440158888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 467 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Strata is located on the 55th & 56th Floor of the InterContinental Doha The City in the heart of the Westbay Area. This makes it the highest Bar & Lounge serving alcohol in Qatar! Stunning views are however just one benefit! A brand new and ever changing Mediterranean Fusion Menu can be enjoyed till late, the Wine Bar on 55th serves some of the best Wine by the Glass and Bottle of the city and the Bar & Lounge area on 56th is energized by international DJs 6 days a week along with great cocktails.
1 review
“A place not to miss in Doha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is clearly one of the best restaurants in Doha for me so far.
- Very friendly staff with just the right level of attention

- excellent food quality
- each recommend wine was a positive experience
- the best view in Doha
- excellent bar

What could be improved:
- I would expect a bit wider food selection (esp. on vegetarian side)
-Make the place better known as it felt bit empty
- prices are a bit on high side

But all in all a really nice evening spent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    9
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“High class and high location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is one of the rare places where I enjoyed the evening I spent in without a single complaint. It’s viewing the new Doha which is called the west bay. Fabulous view and tables well organized in both the restaurant and the lounge. Strata serve the Sushi and Sashimi in addition to the traditional Japanese dishes. The service is AAA as well. However it is not the place that I can afford to go regularly due to the high cost. We were 4 people and paid $650.00. Compared to Qatar’s prices, it worth it, especially for the Sushi fans.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Just great view.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

To start with I paid the most expensive bill in 4 years I have been in Doha. Reached the place it was freezing cold, we asked for the AC to be turned down a little but nothing changed. Then we sat at our table which had an amazing view and the waiters started taking our orders and stuff and started serving the bread which was not warm. After a long wait around 1 hour we got our steaks before the salads! The meat was very good but everything else was very average and the food was served not very warm. Overall service was average prices were too high and the food well not bad. But I would never go back there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over expensive for nothing !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Very Poor service and extremely expensive (300 Usd per couple) with extremely small portion .food takes ages to be served . Unprofessional staff .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing view...but very low food & beverage service and quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recommend going to Strata. Their happy hour lasts until 8 pm and you can enjoy a very quite sunset with amazing views of Doha.

But, I don't recommend is to eat there. The menu offers very expensive choices (small bites only) and with very low quality. I tried the sushi platter (I think it was QR 190 or something for 9 pieces of sushi!!!) and the 3 mini burgers. The bun was so bad that i decided to eat the meat only, and the meat was tasteless and burned!...disappointed.

I blame the entire InterContinental Hotel for not setting up the right concept for their F&B outlets, as before Strata I was on their other bar (mezzanine or one of the first floors) and the service was also very disappointing and not worth trying even.

This hotel is far from the atmosphere and levels of the other hotels in Doha....especially the Intercontinental close to Katara that is one of the best hotels in the city offering very good F&B options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strata Restaurant, Lounge & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Strata Restaurant, Lounge & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strata Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.