We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice suprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
Diplomatic District Street | Westbay, Doha, Qatar
+974-4423-3118
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 467 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Al Khor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice suprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Trader Vic's had very tasty food that that fits in well with the theme that they are trying to achieve. Great cocktail and pleasant surroundings created a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAllan_TV, Owner at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear stevej2000

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad that we could make your evening enjoyable and you liked our service
On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank you again and would like to welcome you again in our Trader Vic’s restaurant

Thank you
John Allan
Trader Vic’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    76
    35
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Hawaii Lu'au”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Accompanied by my wife and a group of friends we joined the inaugral themed event 'Hawaii Lu'au in October at Trader Jack's Doha (part of and behind the Hilton Hotel, Doha) in early October.

This event was really enjoyable, we were greeted with traditional Hawaii Garlands and the famous Mai Tai cocktail on the outside terrace of this restaurant. The backdrop was sublime, water lapping from the Gulf and the back drop of the city sky scrapers lighting up a balmy, comfortable evening.

We were entertained by a 4 piece band from Cuba who played suitably themed 'happy' music whilst we eat our way through a veritable banquet of fund. The tastes were all delightfull and they served something for everyone, meat, fish, vegetarian. Service too was exceptional.
The spices and cooking style ensured that our group was in Ecstasy from the fusion of flavours.
Overall the evening was simply delightful!
We will be watching out for future events from this 5* Hotel venue to join similar culinery experiences. I suggest you do too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear John J

Thank you so much for your time to write this wonderful feedback which I have shared with my team. We are really glad to hear that you and your valuable guests enjoyed your night there and we would like to welcome you back soon in our Trader Vic’s. Thank you again for recommending us to your friends

Thanks & regards
John Allan
Trader Vic’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A must see in Doha, amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We tried this restaurant several times during our holiday in Doha and we have alwasy been impressed by the amazing good food, professional staff, inviting atmosphere! Thank you to the team for making us feel so welcomed! I suggest let yourself be amazed by their selection of food and drinks! If u have the time visit them several times so u have the opprtunity to try all the menu items and of course the famous mai tai drink!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear AncaM81

On behalf of the entire Trader Vic’s team I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and we are very happy to know that you liked your visits to us and enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere

Looking forward to welcome you again and thank you for recommending us to your friends

Thanks & Regards
John Allan
Trader Vic’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Would be fun if it was busy,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went to TV as it was easy and right near our hotel. We had been in the London one many times, and it was cosy and atmospheric. This one is quite large and it wasn't busy at all on a Sunday night,
The service was fine, despite reading other reviews, and didn't have to wait long for anything. We had a couple of rounds of nice cocktails, Bahia! a nice sweet one! like a piña colada type drink . We ordered the sea bass fillets and the lamb chops. Both came as described , and cooked as asked. No problem with the food .
the music is very dated, not sure if they change it regularly as other people haven't commented, but it was like going I back in time, with music like from the 70's/80's. It did make us laugh though, or was the the cocktails working their magic!!!
If this place was full, it could have a real buzz about it, but sadly on the night we were there, it was flat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Had the potential to be a Doha legendary place... Yet fails.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Finally decided never to return for food here; visited several times since it opened & have always been disappointed - why do they keep failing with poor service & poor quality food for high cost. The ONLY redeeming feature is the outdoor seating area - but ensure you order double rounds as you'll be waiting for your beers for what seems to be a lifetime !
Shame really - it could be so, so much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trader Vic's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.