We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent, noise terrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha

Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha
Al Gassar Resort | West Bay, Doha, Qatar
97444460105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 492 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $70
Cuisines: Pizza, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Food excellent, noise terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Don't ever go there on a Friday Brunch time when there is a live band playing so loud that you have to shout across the table to your friends, and can't hear the waiters when they ask you things. Best part was when the band took a break and 'normal' music was played at a lower decibel level. I also have a problem with small children running amok around the restaurant, shrieking at the tops of their voices....
Otherwise, the food is absolutely excellent, service a little impersonal, and it seems to take them a long time to get into gear and get you your first drink, be it a juice or a glass of sparkling wine.
They were very accommodating in moving us out of the sun into a shaded area.
All in all quite a good experience, just a shame about the band noise...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningExperienceTeam, General Manager at Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear gmn23,

Many thanks for your review,

I am glad to know that you’ve enjoyed your time with us during our brunch,
I am sorry to hear that the live band has affected your experience with us.

We’ve already took under consideration your feedbacks for actions.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Many thanks

Stephane,
Manager - Gordon Ramsay Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    69
    58
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A potentially great restaurant -- sadly not so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Gordon Ramsay's signature restaurant in the upmarket St Regis Hotel in Doha should be extraordinary. The venue is amazing, the view is stunning, the menu is outstanding, but the luke-warm food and glacial service disappointed this traveller enormously.
Our day started badly: a table booked for Friday Brunch for 4 adults, plus one child in a high chair and a baby (all confirmed twice in writing from the hotel !) had us arriving to find a huge table set for 6 adults -- no high chair -- and very unhappy staff.
We were poked into a corner and quickly offered drinks -- but then made to wait more than 20 minutes for our first course. Then there was a wait of almost 40 minutes between the Starter (Entrée) dishes and the Main Courses. We had to send the fish of the day back. It was cold -- and may have been cooked yesterday. The beef was delicious -- but the vegetables were also cold.
And then there was another 40+ minute wait for desserts. And dirty plates/cutlery only ever seemed to be removed when we specifically asked.
All this in a restaurant where the courses are just supposed to come one after the other. No fancy ordering. No waiting for special dishes to be specially cooked. The numbers of guests and the numbers and timing of the dishes are known in advance.
If I'd been paying for this very expensive meal (instead of being a guest of friends), I'd have been even more disappointed.
GORDON: you need to sort this mess out ! It has been superb in the past -- but is a sad relic of its former glory, and does no credit to your fine name.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningExperienceTeam, General Manager at Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Ian G,

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us for brunch.
I am really sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy fully your time with us..

At Opal by Gordon Ramsay, we strive to ensure that all of our guests have an exceptional experience.
I was therefore sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the overall service provided regarding your brunch.

I already took under consideration your valuable feedback to make sure that such situation won’t happen again.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Many thanks

Stephane,
Manager - Gordon Ramsay Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Opal-a restaurant not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great food and great service! Will be going back soon! Also a great variety of food. Staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningExperienceTeam, Manager at Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Aleka V,

Many Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at Opal by Gordon Ramsay.
It is very important for us to know that you've enjoyed your experience with us.

Many thanks and looking forward to seeing you soo again very soon at Opal.

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“Excellent staff, Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Previous week was the first time, visiting Opal, staff was so kind and the food sooo good.it worths it to be one of.the places to have your brunch,lunch, dinner!!!
Will be there again soon

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningExperienceTeam, Manager at Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Good morning Elenigatz,

Many thanks for you kind words following your first visit with us.
Hope to welcome you again very soon.

Many Thanks.

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best burger ever :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a beautiful meal here on Thursday 6th Feb. looking forward to many more & can't wait to take our family when they come to visit. Many thanks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningExperienceTeam, Manager at Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear BrookeChrisCalder,

The Waygu Burger is definitely a signature dish on our menu,
We are glad to know that you've enjoyed it.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family for another Burger treat.

Many thanks

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha also viewed

 

Been to Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opal by Gordon Ramsay at The St. Regis Doha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.