We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be debranded or Renovated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Grand Hotel Doha to your Saves list
Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must be debranded or Renovated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a shame for a company like Accor to keep a propoerty like this.
I have been there for a cocktail party, and the overall condition of the property is simply a tragedy.
Everything is old, not even well maintained.
Mercure brand is not under the spot lights here.
What a shame !!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Mercure-Doha, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
The hotel today has 31 Years .
We understand your desapointement and to explaint the situation:
Only recently we were informed that the hotel will not be demolish.
90 room have been renovated today , and all the building is secure .

We are now on process of discussing with the owners to rebrand & renovate the Hotel .
Accor untill today add only one hotel , and we will open the Pullman in West bay by end of 2015.
Adagio Premium is also under operation next to the french school Bonaparte .
We are doing our best to solve all the issues here .
As you are in Doha contact me , we can have a discution around a nice coffee.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    76
    75
    47
    28
See reviews for
15
30
70
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

hi,
A little bit dissapoubted because of the noise of the construction site just accross the street.
Good locatiin close to Souk.
Good pick up and respectfull people.
Anyway maybe they will change the view soon.

Kr,
Madalin

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Mercure-Doha, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your review , we are trying to do our best with the surrounding .

We hope the situation will be better in future .

thank you very much .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was looking forward to staying at a Mercure but this one misses the mark. A lot of it is out of their control so you just have to choose what's important to you in your personal hotel choices.

Pros: walking distance of the wonderful and famous Souk lined with shops, restaurants, spice markets, etc...
Breakfast was included in our rate and was adequate, the normal buffet with hot and cold options
I got their Arabic platter (hummus, salad, feta, etc) from room service and it was delicious

Cons:
Rooms and hallways stink of smoke - even the smokers in our group were uncomfortable

At checkin I was given a smoking room and when I complained they acted liked I should have reminded them at checkin that I wanted a non smoking room. I then waited in the new room for over 30 minutes to get my baggage. Normally this wouldn't bother me but it was late at night and after a flight so it's not the welcome you expect.

There isn't a lot of options for food during the day, we wanted a coffee and they told us to order to from a little pastry stand in the lobby, we ordered a coffee and croissant, and waited 30 minutes for them to bring it from a different kitchen, apparently the pastries in the glass display were for display only.

Construction -- unfortunately this is not their fault but it is definitely a frustrating situation. Lots of noise. Pickup/drop off in front of the hotel is difficult as you can get blocked in easily.

The Irish pub upstairs has some great selections but it wasn't clear if non guests were allowed in, there were some pretty shady looking locals harassing the female members of our party.

Wifi was intermittent, the first night it was next to impossible to look anything up on the Internet. The next night it was a little better.

The hotel has a downstairs entrance and you can't access the wifi there, so it's a bit hard to keep running upstairs to check your text messages or email if you are waiting for a pickup or something (I was waiting for a friend to pick me up and I had to keep hopping in the elevator to see if she was texting me saying she was late, etc)

I try not to complain too much in reviews normally but since the hotel is already handicapped by the construction, it should definitely step up its service inside in order to win the loyalty of its guests so that we would be saying "yes there is construction but it's so lovely I would stay again"

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Mercure-Doha, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

Yes we are in a middle of a construction Area, with the project of Mushreib (New City Center) and as well the excavation for the Future Doha Hub Underground Metro station.
We will start a major renovation, including the Sound Proofing of our rooms.

We will be connected to the fiber optic by end of week , and all our problem will be solved

The hotel today has 31 Years and we hope, with the help of the owners, that within few years the hotel will be at the top of Accor Standard.
The activity in Doha is getting really high and we are facing difficulties to engage new staff , training is done to improve the service .

Only recently we were informed that the hotel will not be demolish.

We hope we will see you very soon back in Doha .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am an overall fan of Mercure, since most of their hotels I've stayed in have been really nice. Sadly this one misses the mark.
Ok, they can't help that the hotel is right by a huge and noisy Construction site, but it still disturbs and makes it hard to enjoy. But then, the rooms are starting to get old and a bit worn down. My room smelled slightly of cigarrette smoke that didn't help the impression. The only really upside was that there was free wifi in the room allowing easy Contact with family back home.
The restaurant gave a sleepy and pale impression although the food was really nice. I was there late, so the staff seemed to be in a hurry for me and the few other late-comers to finish our food and leave so they could Close the Place down.
I have stayed at four hotels in Doha and this is on a very clear last position of the four. Although not horrible, acceptable doesn't do it in Doha as there are so many nice alternatives. I would recommend you to not choose this Place!

Room Tip: top floors and on the other side of the hotel that is not facing the Constructions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Mercure-Doha, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Customer, Thank you for your review.
Yes we are in a middle of a construction Area, with the project of Mushreib (New City Center) and as well the excavation for the Future Doha Hub Underground Metro station.
We will start a major renovation, including the Sound Proofing of our rooms.
For the pool it is not heated, and as you have stated the Sun (in winter Timing NOV/March) don’t go any more to the pool, we are planning to set up a heating system.
The hotel today has 31 Years and we hope, with the help of the owners, that within few years the hotel will be at the top of Accor Standard.
Only recently we were informed that the hotel will not be demolish.
We hope we will see you very soon back in Doha .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skjetten, Norway
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First impression upon arrival was to enter into a ashtray. It smelt like this when opening the door downstairs. But then it became better.
The area were this hotel is suffers from heavy construction. Noise 24h a day. But we were lucky to have room on the opposite side. Those having room against construction area, guess they sleep pretty bad.Rooms are pretty standard, but I have never seen more dirty windows before. Staff is friendly and serviceminded. Breakfast is better than average. On top floor there is a pub and a restaurant. Had a pubmeal one evening, ok -but have tasted better pubfood elsewhere. And guests are allowed to smoke....
There is a pool located outdoor on 3rd floor but the building makes it lying in shadow until 13h30. And temperatur in pool was not more than 16-17 degrees for an unknown reason.

If you book this hotel I strongly advice to ask for a room with a minimum of noise!

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Mercure-Doha, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Customer, Thank you for your review.
Yes we are in a middle of a construction Area, with the project of Mushreib (New City Center) and as well the excavation for the Future Doha Hub Underground Metro station.
We will start a major renovation, including the Sound Proofing of our rooms.
For the pool it is not heated, and as you have stated the Sun (in winter Timing NOV/March) don’t go any more to the pool, we are planning to set up a heating system.
The hotel today has 31 Years and we hope, with the help of the owners, that within few years the hotel will be at the top of Accor Standard.
Only recently we were informed that the hotel will not be demolish.
We hope we will see you very soon back in Doha .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Was booked in here for a rest inbetween flights, unfortunately not must rest had, building works outside hotel on two sides, building flats I think, could not sleep because of the noise, went to pool overlooked by builders, lunch was cold, Water in pool too cold to go in, everywhere covered in thick dust. Left hotel seven hours early to rest in lounge at Doha airport. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Mercure-Doha, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Dear Customer , I would like to present my apologies .

We understand your position , and it is very hard for us too, to run that hotel .
We are under discution with the owners to try to find a solution concerning all those troubbles around the hotel , including the renovation of the total building .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

...you aren't bothered about getting into the hotel without tryng to navigate for ten minutes because the hotel busses block the forecourt, you can sleep through construction going on throughout the night, and you have no urgent appointments that rely on timimg hotel taxi services - hotel taxi was 15 minutes late. overall, the staff were lovely but the hotel experience was very poor. also - female travellers note that the bar/ steak house on floor 12 seriously lacks ambience; it's full of men smoking and watching the boxing. not the place for a quiet drink!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Mercure-Doha, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Dear Customer,
I hope the answer and action that I have done for you and your colleagues have reduce a little your disappointment concerning the surrounding of the hotel.
Receive again my apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Address: Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#56 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Persian Gulf and in the heart of the city, the hotel is located in the business district near the traditional Arab souk and the National Museum. 172 rooms and 3 suites. Non smoking floor. International cuisine at La Brasserie, Mediterranean cuisine at La Villa. The Old Manor Steakhouse and Bar. 3 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. Exhibition centre and golf course nearby. Airport shuttle (fees apply). Leisure facilities includes Swimming Pool and Fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Doha
Mercure Doha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.