We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad timing and dirty place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Grand Hotel Doha to your Saves list
Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Bad timing and dirty place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I booked that hotel as I had a 12 hours transit to Europe so would love to sightseeing a bit in the Qatar city. The only best thing for hotel is a very nice service from staff Mr. Nalin whom waiting at the airport and arrange for transportation to hotel. I arrived hotel around 2pm, the front desk staff told me the room is ready so i checked in and went up to the room. Once arrived at the room still have housekeeping staff 2 person one was cleaning bathroom and other one make up the bed.... disappointed but i just leave the luggages and went out for city tour.

Hotel located in the middle of huge construction and so many dirt at the swimming pool area so dirty can't even sit on the chair, forget it if you want to swim.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0546_gm, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Customer ,

Thank you for your review and I have take note about your remarks about the cleanness of the pool aera , we have already taken action , as on the previous friday we add a big party at the pool .
May be the cleanning was not finish or done properly .
thank you for the comment about Mr Nalin , I will informed hime about it .
We hope to see you again very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    81
    82
    54
    31
See reviews for
18
37
73
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel was priced acceptable since accor has downgraded this from Sofitel to Mercure. Building is quite old and needs some upgradation. Since they have big construction going in front of hotel.its always noisy and can hear louds till night and even noise starts early morning...I must suggest to upgrade the rooms and facilities as this could be a preferred hotel after the downtown project is UP.

Food in Hotel is costly compared to other hotels in same area and also FREE WIFI is only working fine in Lobby and reception area. Signal quality is very bad in rooms and always have to stand near door to get some acceptable signal !!

Room Tip: Rooms on 11th floor are noisy even at late night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your review,
We are starting the room renovation on the 17 November 2013.
As you can have seen we are installing the CCTV camera in the hotel and in the same time all the WIFI devices will be change and hotel connected to fiber optic by OOREDOO .
This will be operational maximum 15 DEC, all equipment received in the hotel, under installation.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostashkov, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

For someone that was not a good time, and I was very pleased.I was in this hotel quite by accident. My plane flew away , and the new flight was not until the next morning. Qatar Airways put us in this hotel for 1 night for free. I was alone , but I still was given a double room . Making all the formalities was a little less than 1 minute. I took my passport , and was given a room key and passwords Wi fi . The room had two beds , a nice bathroom , and a balcony with views of Doha . Of pleasant things - it's tea sets , a free safe in high quantities in bathroom accessories , the availability of the hair dryer, bathrobe and so on. during my stay I was able to visit only breakfast in the hotel and I can say that the kitchen is very, very good . For breakfast there was quite a large selection of food and most importantly everything was fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: gorgeous to stop for 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review .

We cannot had a better Ambassador .

See you soon again in Qatar .

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The only positive thing about this hotel is the location in old downtown Doha which allows you to go walking to thethe old Zouk which is one of the attractive spots in the city because it is very real - not as all the new buildings in new Doha.
Apart from that, the hotel is not nice, noisy, and definetely not the kind of place you'd want to stay for more than 1 night...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review, it is not fare to place a comments after one year of your last stay.
The situation have changed here, the renovation is under process.
And I hope you can come to see the changes during the year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
626 reviews 626 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is very far from the city center.It costs about 10 $ to the city center by taxi and takes about 20 to 30 mts to get there depending on traffic.The souk is a short walk from the hotel.Staff is good.Breakfast is average with waiters having a no care attitude.The rooms are cramped.Bed is hard with springs showing you sleep on springs not on a bed.Rooms are clean recently whitewashed.Chairs are pretty old.Decor is poor for a mercure.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Customer,
I have seen your comments and we are at the city center of Doha, I think you are talking of the West bay site of the super market city center between the towers.
The old city center is around the souk Waqif and next to our hotel.
It is under re construction now.
We are doing our room renovation, and the hotel will have Privilege rooms available by end of 2013. This year we have focus on the security of the building.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Tired and old, noisy as it is opposite a huge construction site which is going night and day, wifi very slow if at all in the rooms, poor quality juice and coffee in the morning (apple juice tasted watered down and the coffee was awful)

Just might be worth staying here if you are working on the construction site opposite so you can nip back to your room easily but otherwise I'd avoid - no way is this one worth the money.

Room Tip: Go for the side of the hotel not facing the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest ,

I have read properly your review and I fill that you were very disappointed of your stay.
We would like to apology.
Yes the hotel is 30 years, but we are under process for the room renovation it will be finish by end 2013.
The location of the hotel cannot be changed, but in few years it will be the best place in town.
I am agreed the majority of our customers are working now for the beautiful site of Msheireb and the construction of the Metro Hub of Doha.
We hope that you will give us another chance later..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed many nights, but my room was ready when I arrived at 7am. The room was very average, but clean and comfortable. All of the reception staff I spoke to were very helpful and efficient. The airport shuttle from the hotel was a good value and if you are a solo traveller, I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Customer ,

Thank you very much for your review ,
We are doing our room renovation and all shoud be finish by end of year .

See you soon .
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Address: Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#63 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Persian Gulf and in the heart of the city, the hotel is located in the business district near the traditional Arab souk and the National Museum. 172 rooms and 3 suites. Non smoking floor. International cuisine at La Brasserie, Mediterranean cuisine at La Villa. The Old Manor Steakhouse and Bar. 3 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. Exhibition centre and golf course nearby. Airport shuttle (fees apply). Leisure facilities includes Swimming Pool and Fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Doha
Mercure Doha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.