We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Business Hotel in Doha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Doha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Doha to your Saves list
InterContinental Doha
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed Business Hotel in Doha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years since first visiting Doha. It may seem a little out of the way from the heart of things but it is well geared for the business traveller, and has plenty to do to relax as well. Thhe pool area is very nice and there are a number of places to eat dotted around within the complex.

The Club Lounge is well worth the access with a relaxed atmosphere and some nice nibbles. Alcohol is not cheap in Qatar so it is well worthwhile perk for a pre-dinner drink. The only downside is that smoking is allowed in a room next door which means that the whole lounge might as well be designated for smokers.

The hotel limo service is expensive in comparison to a regular taxi, but they are quite few and far between - one of the only real downsides to the location.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Doha as your place to stay while in Qatar and for posting your positive review. I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you also for pointing out the smoking room next to the club Lounge and please note that we will be reviewing this matter to ensure convenience of every guest in the lounge.

Since we have received numerous comment regarding taxis being unavailable, we are pleased to inform you that we have now contracted a taxi company and have 24 hours taxi service available from the hotel. We hope you find this more convenient during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Doha in not too distant future.


Sincerely,

Hafidh Al Busaidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    143
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
69
85
39
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I stayed at The Intercontinental Doha for a couple of days in February and the stay was extremely comfortable. The staff at the Intercontinental Doha were extremely impressive. The entire process from check in to check out was very smooth.

The rooms at the Intercontinental are very aesthetically done and have all the amenities one could ask for. The room came with a very sturdy, nicely done desk which was ideal for work. They had also provided free internet at the rooms which is a boon for business travelers. On my second day there, they had left a wonderful fruit basket in the room. A very pleasant surprise indeed.

The food at the intercontinental was pretty good and the staff were very helpful in suggesting alternate venues for dinner when we wanted to try something different. The hotel has a very well equipped gym in the basement.

The hotel is quite some distance from the Airport and could take anywhere between 30-45 minutes to reach. It is ideally located if your work is in the West Bay area, which is about 10 minutes from the hotel. Getting cabs near the Intercontinental is close to impossible, so one needs to use their cab services. These cab services are premium cars and are quite expensive.

The Intercontinental Doha is quite an expensive place to stay in but it delivers in terms of quality for the price you pay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent review that you have posted here in TripAdvisor.

It is our aim to always exceed our guests’ expectations and I am very delighted to know that the team has done that with you.

Since we have received numerous comment regarding taxis being unavailable, we are pleased to inform you that we have now contracted a taxi company and have 24 hours taxi service available from the hotel. We hope you find this more convenient during your next stay.

I trust we will see you again soon for another enjoyable and quality stay at the InterContinental Doha.


Sincerely,

Hafidh Al Busaidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

amazing hotel, but clearly the intercontinental are light years behind the ritz-carlton in Doha for service. Wanted to use the pool and gym facilities and got a towel shoved in my face from a receptionist who was yapping on the phone, no instructions about lockers, how to use them, what facilities etc. Once by the pool, 35 minute wait for a cold soft drink, another 30 minute for a pina colada that wasn't even anywhere NEAR a pino colada. The intercontinental also keeps its pools at sub-zero temperatures so a swim is out of the question unless you fancy some hypothermia. However, the beach front and views are fantastic. The ritz-carlton is slightly cheaper but amillion miles ahead in facilities and a billion miles ahead in terms of service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

It was with great concern and disappointment that I read about the poor service you received at The Bay Club and the Pool Side.

Naturally it is not an intention to provide poor service and every effort are being made to ensure that it is not repeated. The pool temperature is now maintained at a comfortable 29 degrees Celsius.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these shortfalls to our attention and for staying at the hotel, it is comments such as yours that help us improve our services.


Sincerely

Hafidh Al Busaidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

As an Intercontinental (managed) hotel, the ‘Intercontinental, Doha’, comes with all the pluses, and minuses, of that chain. It’s well appointed (if rather formulaic), comfortable (if lacking charm), courteous (if not friendly) and acceptable (if not desirable).

What it isn’t is value for money! I chose it because the room rates looked good in comparison with some of the other 4-star hotels but the extra costs make this a quite expensive hotel – especially for what you get. My partner’s no mathematician so the QR170 (£28 / $47) for the minibar half-bottle of red wine came as a bit of a shock on the bill. And that is fairly typical for the other services. QR130 (£22 / $35) for a fairly standard starter (salad) buffet seems a bit on the high side. So be warned! I guess they feel they can get away with it, either because a lot of guests are on expenses, or because it is fairly distant from other restaurants and services – although it is worth noting the newly opened Qatara cultural development nearby does have a wealth of restaurants, so perhaps things will improve.

You should also be aware that it is right next door to a building site, and although the work is nearing completion you do get the early morning ‘hammering’. In fairness much of Doha seems to be a building site so it can be tricky to find somewhere where this problem isn’t occurring, but my gripe is really that I had to pay for an upgrade so our room did not look over the builder’s yard but towards the sea.

And my particular ‘bug-bear’, silly charges for Internet access. QR75 (£12.50 / $20) for 24 hours obviously don’t represent anything like the cost of providing this service, and personally at the room rate they charge it should be free.

On the positive side it’s got a nice outdoor pool area, fairly good beach, and great views towards Central Business District in Doha (well some people do love skyscrapers), and as I’ve mentioned it is close to Qatara which as it gets going might be a real plus.

I've stayed at a number of InterContinentals and I'd say this was the least impressive. But you'll be comfortable and looked after.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

An unexpected stopover in Doha made me stay in the Doha Intercontinental for 2 nights. While nothing was downright wrong, it is a hotel that definitely lacks the mojo of other Doha properties (Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons come to mind), albeit i will concede that the value equation is different from the 2 mentioned.

Main lobby is dull and for a Middle East property, interestingly small. Health club and swimming pool decent. Breakfast buffet passable (smoked salmon smelled from a mile away....) Rooms sad: smallish Tv, uncomfy armchair, ugliest framed drawings I have seen in ages. Bathroom starts to show its age and the standard-issue IC ammenities (Elemis Brand) subpar.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011 via mobile

Lived up to its 5 star rating. Large rooms and everything you would expect of a top hotel. Large pool and next to the water. Great breakfast and nice restaurant. Out of town but easy to get taxis.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asb2579, General Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken a moment of your valuable time to write a review regarding your excellent experience at the InterContinental Doha.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us, as we continue to strive towards improved services and facilities offered to our guests.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our large free-form swimming pool and the 500m beach, which is one of the longest beach in Doha as well as your breakfast experience in our International Buffet restaurant - The Cafe.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Doha in not too distant future, where you may be assured of our best possible attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

The Doha Interconti has the advantage that it is close to the convention centre if this is what you are in town for.

It is a good Interconti. Things that could improve is the food in the lounge. The lounge itself is very nice and has an incredible view on the sea and the beachg, but it closes at 11PM. For our purposes it is better when a lounge is open 24hrs.

The service orientation is good, but we have seen Interconti's that were better (like Cairo City Stars, which is steller when it comes to service.)

The ambience with the big pool and the beach is very nice.

Thomas Göldenitz

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha

Address: Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#6 Family Hotel in Doha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#12 Business Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Doha is an iconic landmark in the Heart of Doha. Nestled in landscaped gardens with 500 meters of sandy beach, the InterContinental Doha features 8 restaurants and bars including the famous Belgian Cafe, a range of recreational facilities and a free form swimming pool. The hotel's prime location is just minutes from downtown Doha and major government and corporate offices and within walking distance to the Doha Exhibition Centre, City Center Mall and Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Doha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.