We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, attentive service but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ipanema

Ipanema
West Bay City Center, Al Wahda Street, West Bay, PO Box 25500 | Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel, Doha 25500, Qatar
+974 4419 6100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 466 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $68 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Discover an authentic Brazilian Churrascaria (char-grill) with Rodizio-style service. Choose from different sizzling meats and seafood on skewers carved at your table at one of the most memorable restaurants in Doha. Open for Friday brunch with live music
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice place, attentive service but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant in the Renaissance hotel is nice with live music and attentive service.
We were less impressed with the meat; often too cooked or too spicey. In addition ‎the progression of the meat cut could be improved ( i.e. do not start with lower quality cuts, though you are more likely to give up when the more expensive meat comes up).
Overall a positive experience but food should improve

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Director Of Restaurants at Ipanema, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Vigorish93,

Thank you for visiting Ipanema and sharing your experience with us. It is nice to see that you had a good experience and your feed-back regarding the meat will be passed on to the culinary team.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back soon,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    35
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Meat, meat & more meat!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

... Sonora great choice for veggies!

That said, visited for a colleagues birthday & the staff were very helpful, so as well as the huge salad bar, they arranged to get a risotto from another restaurant in the Marriott.

Deserts were delicious (try the individual flambé)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Director Of Restaurants at Ipanema, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Matthew H,

Thank you for dining at Ipanema and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you had a great evening, and that the team could accommodate your request for a risotto. The culinary team will also be pleased to see that you were satisfied with the choice of salads and desserts.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back at Ipanema soon.

Best regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Meat, Music, Magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stop reading if you're vegetarian. Because you aren't going to be able to savour the wonder that is this Brazilian churrascaria. A mountain of meat keeps coming to your table until you tell the servers to stop. The signal: a flip of your coaster from green to red. Cleanse your palate with the grilled pineapple. The slightly charred thin slices flavoured with cinnamon and sugar will get you ready for your next cut of meat. The live band from Brazil really adds to the party atmosphere. The setting really is ideal for a fun night out with family, friends or colleagues -- perfect for a large dining part.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Director Of Restaurants at Ipanema, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear BoulanGerry,

Thank you very much for dining at Ipanema and sharing your feed-back with us all. We are delighted to read that you had a great dining experience, and that you enjoyed food, service and entertainment.
Ipanema is indeed very popular with meat lovers, however, we are also offering a vegetarian option.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back at Ipanema soon.

Best regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it so much the first time we went back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We first went for a Friday brunch in February. Fantastic food, excellent value for money and the staff are attentive to your needs. They explain the concept of red card/green card for your meat, bringing over cuts of meat you like more often, they were quick at refilling our glasses. The ambience is wonderful and the live band are very much in the background: not too loud at all.
We enjoyed the brunch so much we went back for dinner a few weeks later. Again wonderful service and cannot fault the staff at all.
I even encouraged my boss to go for the Friday brunch and he enjoyed it as well.
Certainly a place to go back to again and again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Director Of Restaurants at Ipanema, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear CathyHurman,

Thank you very much for sharing your dining experience with us all. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed brunch, as well as dinner in our Brazilian Churrascaria. At the same time we would like to thank you for recommending Ipanema to your friends and colleagues, and we are glad that they also had a good time in the restaurant.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had this on our last evening during our stay at the Marriott hotel. The food and service was great. 15 cuts of 4 different types of meat. 30 different items on the salad/dessert bar.

its quite costly around 300 QAR per person but it was well worth it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Director Of Restaurants at Ipanema, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear NSCB,

Thank you very much for visiting Ipanema and sharing your dining experience on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to see that you had a good time, and that you were satisfied with our food selection.

Should you come back to Doha in the near future, Ipanema will hopefully be on top of your list of places to visit again.

Best regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipanema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.