We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel but needs a a great deal of improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Doha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Doha to your Saves list
The St. Regis Doha
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doha West Bay Area, Doha 14435, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A grand hotel but needs a a great deal of improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed for 5 days at the St Regis Doha. With the St Regis branding, you would and should expect a certain level of service, excellence in facilities and that "X or wow factor". Sadly, this hotel is lacking in most of these attributes and I'll tell you why.

Firstly the pros and where the hotel does indeed excel. Huge, grand, and lavish lobby, spotlessly clean and well maintained common areas. The ground floor was clearly designed to impress even the most discerning traveller, and of course sufficiently ostentatious to even impress the many Arab royalties who do frequent this address. The hotel boasts about 6 restaurants, though not all are open all day or for all meals. The two Gordon Ramsey restaurants within the hotel were certainly not as impressive as I hoped for. The Chinese inspired restaurant - Hakkasan was much better and more lively in atmosphere. Breakfast in the hotel main restaurant (Vine) was just average, with a rather limited selection of local and international food.

The gym was huge by most hotel standards with all the latest modern equipment you would need and the pool is magnificent - just about Olympic size! There is also a private but very small beach front area and the hotel does have some stunning views of the city skyline and of the new development called "The Pearl".

Now to the cons and where vast improvements need to be made. Firstly, the facility itself. For a relatively new hotel, I was surprised to see so much wear and tear already quite apparent. In my room for eg (room 206), parts of the walls were discoloured from leakages I believe, and the floor carpet was not well maintained. The room design looked a bit dated. Even though the hotel opened officially in May 2012, you get the feeling that its "been around" much longer. I anticipate this to worsen and hence I think the management needs to pay greater attention to the standard of maintenance and housekeeping.

Location wise, this hotel is really "in the middle of nowhere". Perhaps in a few years time, when the new developments have been done up, this hotel might be considered one that is well located. You need to take a 30 minute or so taxi ride to the city centre and to all the tourist attractions.

Within the room, the bed was too soft and the water pressure in the shower could be much better. Housekeeping was generally ok, but I think the real challenge is to deal with the poor quality of the materials, furnishings and finishings.

Service was inconsistent. While the concierge was generally responsive and alright, it was often very difficult to reach them on the phone. The "ground staff" at the lobby all looked a bit confused, especially when the crowds increased. Some of them looked rather "lost", not knowing what to do or how to respond to queries by hotel guests.

Another horrible practice is that the hotel still allows smoking within the lobby lounge. When I was at the W Hotel in Doha (for a lovely meal at the Market by Jean Georges), I noticed a staff who politely but firmly told a couple of Arab women that smoking within the premises is not permitted. I applauded the staff for doing so.

Overall, while the St Regis looks superficially grand in design and ambition, you just get the feeling that it has not reached that level of professionalism and competency that one would expect of a truly luxury 5* hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is always great to receive constructive feedback so that we can constantly improve our standards and services.

Whilst I was delighted to know that you appreciated our hotel’s facilities, the cleanliness, design and decoration, I was disappointed to find out that the services we provide did not meet your expectations in certain areas.

We have taken on board all your observations regarding the maintanance, service inconsistencies and assistance throughout the hotel and would like to assure you that we are taking immediate actions to improve this.

Thank you once again for taking the time and effort to share your impressions with us, we do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and i would like to invite you to contact me directly on your next visit so i can personally assist you with the arrangements.

With kind regards,

Tareq Derbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    79
    56
    22
    30
See reviews for
109
117
24
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed at the St Regis for a week and can not say enough about this great hotel. All services are 5 star. The food, the rooms, the view...what a great hotel. I stayed there for 5 days last week and was treated like royalty. From the minute I arrived to the time I left they were great. The view is great, the beach, the jazz club was excellent, the wine bar with a piano player and singer..excellent! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good. Great design
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

It was a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, the services we provide, the food, the comfort of our rooms and particularly the Jazz Club and the atmosphere throughout the hotel.

We are much looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,

Tareq Derbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I visited St. Regis doha when was just oppend and I got shocked from the cheap finishing specialy the interior decoration and the wood skirting is one of the restaurants.
the service is so bad specialy at the lobby cafe and valet parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking to time to share your feedback with us.

While I was pleased to know that you appreciated the design of our hotel, it was disappointing to know that the decoration was not up to your expectations in certain areas.

Your remarks will be integrated into our ongoing quality management program.

Thank you very much once again and we do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The St Regis Doha in the future.

Regards,

Tareq Derbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was my first visit to Doha so I can't offer comparisons with other hotels. I was more than happy staying here, with a comfortable and spacious room and excellent amenities in the way of restaurants, bars, and relaxation areas. Service and attentiveness of employees is excellent. It is great to see this level of management attention and employee training. Internet speeds could be a lot better in this day and age, as could reliability. The 'free' option is deliberately limited in download speed which again is a petty feature. The hotel location is a little remote, although that means it has its own private sand beach and it is only a kilometre from Katara Cultural Village, an area of seafront and restaurants. All in all, I would be more than happy to return to the property on future visits.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a great feedback.

I was truly delighted to know how much you appreciated your experience with us, the facilities and services we provide, the variety of restaurants, the design, decoration and atmosphere of the hotel and particularly the professionalism of our teams.

It is always gratifying for us to receive such positive feedback as this gives us the opportunity to show our associates that their efforts are truly appreciated by our guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions. We are much looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,

Tareq Derbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

i stayed 3 days in st regis Doha is a marvelous hotel and the staff is excellent in all ways.it is expensive but otherwise very good experience.the weather was nice.the only problem was that it is little away of the city center..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with us and for the kind and constructive feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Tareq Derbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had a great time in my last Business trip to Doha, my stay in St, Regis was a great experience, the staff were so friendly and helpful, especially n the Vintage Bar, Kris the bar tender, AJ and the all the rest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for a great feedback.

It was pleasing to know how much you enjoyed your experience with us and the overall friendliness of our associates particularly our Vintage team.

Looking forward to your next visit,

Regards,

Tareq Derbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had a fantastic experience at SaraB Lounge Cafe. The atmosphere was very relaxing with a nice music. It was Christmas Season and the hotel had a huge Christmas tree and a delicious Gingerbread house. The waiter (Janyla Mamasheva) was so kind and attentive, she told me about the program of festivities in the hotel. The tea and caked were absolutely delicious. All the stuff was very polite and very responsive, I felt like they were my friends. I felt very welcome at this hotel and enjoyed my evening a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the warm atmosphere and decoration at The St Regis Doha and particularly the Tea Ritual and the professionalism of our associates.

Wishing you Happy Holidays and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Tareq Derbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Doha

Address: Doha West Bay Area, Doha 14435, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Doha’s glittering West Bay, the St. Regis Doha is a five-star luxury hotel with 336 guest rooms including 70 seductive suites, aiming to set new standards of luxury service & excellence with the signature St. Regis Butler Service.The hotel introduces a collection of ten signature restaurants & bars, extensive recreation facilities including world-acclaimed Remède Spa. The St. Regis Doha is the finest address for leisure & business travelers in Doha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. Regis Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Doha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.