We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Doha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Doha to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ali Bin Abdallah Old Ghanim, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Having just spent 3 nights at the Kingsgate I am very satisfied with my choice of Doha hotel. Found it on the Emirates website, which is usually a positive sign, but got a better deal booking direct on the hotel website. With breakfast it cost 400 QAR per night, which I consider a good price for such a property.

The Kingsgate is not a luxury hotel with all facilities, but is a decent mid-range Doha hotel with good rooms and a short walk from the Museum of Islamic Art, Dhow Harbour and Souk Wakif. This is not the poshest part of town, but safe and interesting if you like local atmosphere. Turkish barber just down the road does a full facial shave for 20 QAR...

My 9th floor room had great view of the city, but pity the window wasn't a bit cleaner (which is why I have deducted a point for cleanliness).

Doha bus station is just around the corner if you are adventurous and fancy getting the bus.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    46
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
19
20
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at Kingsgate, travelling to South Africa from Europa via Doha. We had never been to Doha before, but in retrospect we can now say that we are happy with our choice of hotel. One reason is that it is quite close to the airport, another that is situated on walking distance both to the picturesque old souk, and to the striking new Museum of Islamic Art, one of the main attractions of this city. - On the other hand , if you want to stay in the ultramodern business district, this is not the place, but then you have to accept to be much further from the Airport.
.

We were very well received by the helpful and friendly staff, and the room was with any objection, Nice bathroom, perfect safe for valuables. Wifi functioned very well

If we come back to Doha, we would not hesitate to stay at Kingsgate again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our expectations of this hotel were quite low. We were pleasantly surprised how nice it actually was. Positives - The staff were friendly and breakfast was very good. Rooms are ok, clean but a little cramped with the big chair next to the kitchen units. Negatives - taxi drivers are unaware of the hotel. We had to direct them to the hotel by telling them it's near the Souq.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to Doha five time this year already and I have stayed at this hotel four times, my longest stay was for three weeks. I did very much like the hotel staff, everyone was nice and friendly and I did enjoy the service too. I really enjoy the location of this hotel.very close to souq waqif and about 10 min from the airport. Their restaurant may not be the best in town, but their breakfast was great and their internet work good too. I will be back here later this year and I'm looking forward to seeing all the staff again.....

Room Tip: all their executive suites are comer rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Iftar Buffet was very poor and very limited selection, Also the service in the restaurant was so poor.

Housekeeping was poor and restaurant staff were indifferent.The restaurant was not clean and many flies were seen in the food area.

So, I won't eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently spent 6 days at the Kingsgate hotel, and was very happy with the service, breakfast, and views (from the 9th floor).

This is not a luxury hotel, but it suited me perfectly - small, friendly, clean, relatively spacious, great city views (dusty windows are a given here), and excellent wifi. Breakfast was worth paying for. I didn't have lunch or dinner here, as I could get excellent meals in the Souq Waqif for slightly cheaper, and a more authentic dining experience.

Greatly appreciated the warm welcome and early check in, at no extra charge. Arriving at 6AM in the Doha summer is an interesting experience!

Local traffic around the hotel is, er, dangerous - once you get past the front entrance!

I was lucky enough to find a local (safe) driver who took me around. it is about 10-15 mins walk from Souq Waqif (beware heat and traffic), and 25-30 mins from the Corniche and Museum of Islamic Art (tip follow traffic / police signals / cross during traffic jams).

On the 9th floor, traffic noise was not much of a problem. Air conditioning can be a little noisy, but you get used to it - particularly in the summer! Agree with lack of powerpoints to charge devices - but I coped. Note - Light / fan switch for bathroom are located above sink in kitchenette, took a little while to find!

Will happily stay at this hotel again, as felt more comfortable and welcome here than at my conference hotel in outer Doha. At the price, was a fantastic base for a first time budget traveller.

Room Tip: Room 906 was great :) Lovely view of city by night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The most advantage is the hotel location, very close to souq waqif and about 10 min from the airport. The rooms is good, clean and big. The two main disadvantages were. only two electricity output. In the room , which you. Make difficult to charge all you devices in one time, the other is the poor. And similar of the breakfast everyday. Also the service in the restaurant is so poor.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Doha

Address: Ali Bin Abdallah Old Ghanim, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Doha 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Doha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.