We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and nice property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Doha The City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Doha The City to your Saves list
InterContinental Doha The City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great room and nice property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hotel is new, in the center of Doha; this is a business hotel, and that's what i used it for. I had a week of meetings there, and the facilities were very good; the downside is the bars, they really need to do something about the 1st floor bar, very boring...and the one on the top floor has good views, but it must have been a sushi restaurant before and lacks character...You can walk across the street to the mall, so very convenient.

Room Tip: I had a smoking room; clean, nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Sean,
thank you for your well balanced feedback! We are delighted to share with you that we are currently working on changes for the outlets in question and hope to meet your taste better... we will be more than happy to receive your comments then again.
Please make sure you come and stay on your next trip to Doha,
Your dedicated InterContinental Doha The City team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    149
    47
    20
    7
See reviews for
50
58
32
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was shocked when i read Mr. Ali's review titled: "A balanced critique review by an everyday commuter”. I ask of you readers to not to take it into account. Myself and MANY people I know go to this specific gym because of the GREAT manager they have. Liesel made me personaly love excercise, she improved my health and she succeeded in not only getting me to the gym, but making me look forward to the gym. Her respect to all cultures is amazing. I am an arab muslim girl and having Liesel as my personal trainer made me so proud of how respectful she is to all cultires and beliefs, and knowledgable about them too. I once witnessed a man at the gym (tall and bug man-brown hair) shout at leisel and her staff, he called them stupid etc. and i just saw liesel maintain her smile and she asked him if theres anything she can do to make the situation better for him, i was AMAZED by her professionalism, and when i tried to ask her about it, she didnt entertain the idea, all she said was: each person should feel at home here and we are all a family, when one person is upset, you do what you can to make it better." Thats why reading Mr. Ali's review made me very upset, and i felt I had to share the truth of many, i cannot accept - my culture - doesnt accept - someone being wronged. I urge you all to go and sign up for personal training sessions with Liesel, the gym manager and I can guarantee you will share my view.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Noor,
thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and others. We have reported the particular review with TripAdvisor and it has been (for the time being) removed, however might re-appear in different form and shape. There is however a possibility that the gentleman has removed the review himself after a bit of further consideration. Nevertheless we are delighted to read that your experience is a PERFECT 10 and thank you for your recommendation and loyalty.
See you back for some more sweat in the gym!
Your InterContinental Doha The City team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It is rarely that one waxes eloquent about a city hotel, but then the service at Intercontinental Doha The City (there are two Intercons in Doha), was exceptional. Initially I didn’t take note, passing it off as a courteous person or so – and one is always grateful for them at city hotels, but this remained consistent right till the moment I left, which was about four days later. In my experience of staying in hundreds of hotels, this was a first for a city hotel. Kudos.

The hotel itself is at the edge of Doha’s financial – diplomatic district, and I when I looked it up, I thought the disappointing edge – overlooking the city – last year I had stayed at a hotel room with a sea view! Anyways, the city view from my high perch of nearly 40 floors above ground proved to offer a spectacular night view of the city, including of planes landing and taking off in the distance. Doha fortunately isn’t that large, though you wouldn’t think it because of its awful traffic jams!

My room, and it was a regular one, was spectacular. It was huge, to start with, and came well stocked every kind of amenity. The lovely French windows went from wall to wall. The work desk was an L overlooking the view. Multiple plug points around the room helped. The only time I needed an adaptor was for a 3-pin plug. Wifi was free, and the net speed was excellent. The TV had personal welcome message. The minibar was huge, though here’s one the free tea and coffee options were limited – same as any other hotel, but given that the standards had been set so high, a bit of a letdown. The furniture was high quality and aesthetic. The bed was comfortable. I usually never get to sit on the couches in most rooms, but this one was so nice, I spent whatever free time I got on it, cushions and all. The washroom itself was divided into three distinct parts. Soaps and shampoos, all good. Lots of closet space, and with bathrobes, slippers, iron, shoe polish etc all in their places.  The air conditioning was more layered than I have ever seen. Room service was prompt, and housekeeping unobtrusive.

Nevertheless, it is the public areas of this hotel that steal the show. There are multiple lifts that ensure one doesn’t have to wait long. There are two lobbies, and the check in lobby is small but with ample welcoming space, and drink. The main lobby is larger, and comes with lovely aesthetics and help is always at hand. The restaurants are varied. The main one, The Square is huge, and even though they charged me on day one after misinforming me that the conference dinner was there, it is a lovely place to have a relaxed meal in. The breakfast buffet choice is substantial. There are other restaurants, including Strata at the 45th the 46th levels! It’s a large hotel and has multiple bars, and while I didn’t try, they may measure up!

The hotel is justly known for its rooftop infinity pool, and it did not disappoint. The only observation, be patient if you want a spot on the sun deck – paleskins occupy it from sunrise to set! The gym is here too, but a little squeezed for space. Make up enjoying the Jacuzzis as you take in the view from lofty heights!

The location is also quite good. All main corporate offices are nearby, and the main souk and museum a short cab ride away. It is walking distance from Doha’s largest mall, and very near the coast. Though not many people frequent the beach in Doha!

I had not expected much, and I left very pleasantly surprised. Not the least by the free Vimto in the lobby!

Room Tip: High up for bird's eye view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Suman,
thank you very much for your kind words and the detailed review of the hotel and your stay experience! This leaves nothing much to add from our end... we will be delighted to "wow" you again on any future stay!
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was my first time to visit Doha, Qatar and stayed at the excellent hotel "The Intercontinental Hotel Doha City", Qatar for a period of 4 days and I am very satisfied from the first day of my stay until I leave the said hotel.

The staffs were very accommodating and helpful towards the customer's needs and relentlessly giving positive advice to the new customer like me. In addition to these I am very comfortable and well rested on my designated room at 36th floor since it was regularly maintained its cleanliness and having an amazing view outside the hotel.

With these, I have a wonderful stay at said hotel and I am sure I will go back again to this hotel.


Henry Olivar - Philippines

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Henry,
thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with us and others!
We will be delighted to see you back on the next possible occasion!
Sincerely yours,
the team of the InterContinental Doha The City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been staying in this excellent hotel for the past 3 months (in a 3 bedroom apt) since mid- August 2013 and can say that I have been really satisfied with the hotel, my place, and the entire staff. Customer relations is excellent as they will not rest until you are fully satisfied. Cleaning is done regularly and professionally; front desk hospitality is run very well; and requests are treated with lots of attention to details. When you are in a hotel, you want to be treated like a VIP guest, and that's how I feel in the Intercon-the City. When I asked for a special TV station to be added to the list of available TV channels, the expert technician talked to me and tried his best to see if it is possible even though this is not a standard request. On my birthday, and to my surprise, I found a tasty cake and a fruit plate compliment of the hotel, on my dining table after a long day of work. This kind of attention to customer satisfaction is to be commended and indicates a hotel policy that is geared towards excellence beyond customer satisfaction. I can only commend the professional work of everyone in the hotel and congratulate them on a work very well done. Special thanks goes to Mr. Kamal, Mr. Michael, Mr. Mina to name just a few of those with whom I dealt with. I am planning to stay in this hotel as long as my company lets me, as I really enjoy being here. It feels like a true home away from home. The hotel is really central and is close to everywhere you want to go. It is within a 2 min walking distance to City Center, a big shopping mall, where you can find almost anything you are looking for. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Adel,
thank you very much for your great and detailed review and the fabulous feedback associated with it. We wish to continue seeing you as satisfied and happy with our sincere, genuine and honest hospitality delivery.
With best regards,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my second stay at the hotel this year and we came back because we enjoyed it so much the first time. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them and they go out of their way to make your stay as stress free as possible.

I live in Qatar but sometimes just need to feel like I have 'escaped' without having to go too far, and this hotel provides some very good escapism and relaxation.

Both times that I have stayed, I have been in an Executive Club room, which allows me access to the Club Lounge. This is well worth the cost, as this allows you to have breakfast, afternoon tea as well as evening drinks and canape's. The staff (Maya, Jeralin, Angeli, Igor and Karen) are amazing and make you feel like a celebrity!

Unfortunately, not all of the restaurants are open in the hotel yet, but I love eating at Prime so for me it is not the end of the world (although it would be nice to have the option). Every time that I have eaten at Prime I have been very pleased with the food and the service from our waiter, Pius, who has served us every time that we have come to the restaurant. This is lovely as you feel very valued, especially as a returning customer.

All in all, I have a wonderful stay every time I visit this hotel, and I cannot wait to check-in again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi WorldTourist!
The pleasure is ours and we are waiting for you to return at any time! We are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us to date!
We shall be looking after you as usual and without fail!
With best regards,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was my third visit to the hotel in a year, and I just love it. Perfect location, ten minutes walk from The Corniche, 15 minutes can ride to airport and The Pearl, and loads of places to eat and drink nearby - Jones the Grocer being great for a late night snack. In some ways this is a straightforward five star business hotel, but everything is done with such panache, it feels genuinely glamorous. I had an absolutely gorgeous room this time, on the 32nd floor, looking towards the skyscrapers of city centre. I'm writing this staring out at the view and just loving it. Doha can be a bit sterile, but when you see it from this height it has the wow factor. Which is what the gym has. Being on the stepper on the 46th floor did make me feel my further few storeys were a bit pathetic. I will be back, needless to say.

Room Tip: Know what view you're after - towards the skyscrapers, or towards the sea and the desert. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Indianophile,
we love that you loved your stay! The elevators can be a little confusing in the beginning, as one serves our Serviced Apartments and Residences and the others the Hotel Rooms as well as the Restaurants. For Strata, Dohas highest Restaurant, Lounge and Bar there is a 3rd one due to the shape of the building on the 55th & 56th floor. We are looking into how we can signpost those options even better...
Looking forward to your return!
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Doha The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha The City

Address: P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha The City 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Doha The City is perfectly located in the exclusive area of West Bay, and stands tall amid the financial district, the Diplomatic Street and is only 5 minutes away from Qatar Exhibition Centre and 15 minutes from Doha International Airport. At close proximity from Doha Golf Club, Souq Waqif and Katara Cultural Village and is opposite the City Centre Shopping Mall it is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Doha The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Doha The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.