We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with some serious service issues – “Soft Opening” still?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Doha The City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Doha The City to your Saves list
InterContinental Doha The City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with some serious service issues – “Soft Opening” still?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now – March 2012, June 2012 and again April 2013., for probably a total of 10-12 nights. It is a most beautiful building, convenient location, with spacious well appointed rooms and great views of the evolving cityscape of Doha, which is particularly pretty at night when lit up. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, as you would expect in the Middle East. The location is good, although it still gets confused with the old InterContinental in West Bay Lagoon.

In the three times that I have stayed here some things have improved. The rooms have been de-snagged, and cleaned properly, as on my first couple of stays it was obvious that the hotel had just been built. Although speaking to fellow guests some had moved to other rooms, with some fixtures that weren’t working – I only had a couple of lights out on this trip. All of the restaurants are now open giving more variety, although I think that they are better choices in Doha.

The in room dining is hit and miss – a Nasi Goreng with Satay, that didn’t contain Satay, and a Cream Mushroom Sauce that didn’t have any cream but a mild curry flavour. This said the steak was excellent. They did try to replace the sauce but 20 minutes after the meal had been finished. When feeding back this to the F&B Director he advised that the hotel was still under “soft opening” which was an excuse given on the previous two stays, and has been on-going since February 2012 – I wouldn’t mind but this is still not publicised, and surely should be as good as it’s going to get now nearly 18 months in. Nor is it reflected in the rates.

The Club Lounge is a great space half of which is like a living room lounge, the other with a more formal dining room set-up. There is very little variety for the evening snacks, and the staff are severely overstretched and undermanned, despite their best efforts to accommodate all of the guests.

TIP: You can wait up to 15 minutes for your car to be returned by the valet as I experienced again on a couple of occasions on this trip again. The hotel has two entrances one for the hotel (where the reception is) and one for the residences. Once checked-in if you have a car use the valet at the residences entrance it is far quicker, and you can pick-up taxis from there too.

It has all the hallmarks of a world class hotel, but unfortunately the service levels and snagging after 1 ½ years after opening still haven’t been resolved. It could be so much more, which is the main disappointment, and one of the reasons I will probably choose to return to the old InterContinental in West Bay Lagoon, despite it showing its age.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the city is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Vigggen,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. The team are looking into the specifics and are working on improving the overall guest satisfaction. We are grateful for the positive observations and apologize for all the negative experiences.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    125
    38
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
45
27
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Being quite new and located in a great area in Doha, I had some high expectations for this hotel. Unfortunately this hotel did not meet those expectations. The room that I was allocated (3014) was significantly smaller than the rooms that my colleagues were given, despite the rate being the same. When I brought this to the hotel's attention I was told that 'that's just the way it is designed'. I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and on the first night I noticed that my shower was broken. It was constantly set onto scalding temperature no matter how much I turned the dial. I asked for this to be fixed every day and upon checkout the matter was still not fixed. There was a drainage problem in the bathroom and so every evening the room would smell like sewage.

On top of this, every morning in the early hours, I was woken up by the mosque nearby. When I asked for some earplugs I was told that was not possible.

On the plus side, the breakfast is very good although City Centre Mall is quite close by if you want a cheaper option.

Overall, I was very disappointed with this hotel and the lack of customer service that I received. Although the staff were all very pleasant during check in or throughout the day, they were not able to handle any issues that would come about on a daily basis.

Room Tip: 3005 is a very spacious room with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Vicky R,

Thank you for giving us your feedback and comments. Please note, all of them are duly noted and we are working on improving our service levels as well as the plumbing issues. We apologize for all the inconveniences caused during your stay.

Kind regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 day at the hotel - was given a executive room which was great. Very clean and spacious with city view.. King bed with a living room to add to the luxury. The bathroom was as big as one room at my house in London. Location is fine with City Centre mall hardly 100m away if you take a short cut. View from Gym on 46th floor is excellent...

Breakfast had a decent spread... Only downer was the wifi in room which was very slow but the wii in lobby was fast enough..Donna why...

Well trained staff who are always smiling.. Will surely stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Jeet_junior,

We would like to thank you for the positive feedback. We are looking into the wifi issue.

Kind regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have admittedly stayed at the Intercontinental in Doha on business a few years ago and was positively impressed with the Hotel from all points of view. It is the type of venue that you could also enjoy with the family. Not being just a business hotel that you could not imagine yourself going to with your spouse and family. Being on the sea front it does offer the other amenities that typical and pure city hotels do not have beyond the pool. The Hotel is very welcoming from all aspects be it the architecture, location, staff, rooms, amenities, venues and quality of food and services. I would highly recommend for anyone going to Doha on either business or pleasure, even if for an extended stay until they perhaps relocate to a more permanent residence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sherif A,

Thank you for this review. I assume that you have confused the 2 properties and this review is meant for our sister property.

Kind Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed yesterday for one night in the Intercontinental Doha the city. We had a club room with access to the club lounge. The room was amazing, really, nice and clean, big bathroom and an amazing view of the city. Now the reason why I rate the hotel so low. We stayed in a lot of hotels on executive or club floors. But what we experienced there was the worst. The check in at the lounge took some time, the english of the check in woman was allready not so good. Then we asked what the lounge has to offer, she said, not too much. Eventhough the lounge is very nice and big. Now, we went for the cocktail time to the lounge. The choice of food was disapointing, rarely food or choice not even desert - the worst selection I have ever experienced. The worst thing: I have a severe nut allergy and the waiter and the chef did not understand and to be honest did not care. When I asked where are nuts in the food, they didn`t know or just said, that all the food is fine, eventhough my wife said that there were nuts. No offer to make me extra food or to take care. The english of the whole staff was really poor - that is really unacceptabel I think. Today we had to leave cause of an early flight out of Doha. We were in the lounge to check out and also to try to get some coffee or food. The staff looked at me strange when I asked for a coffee (opening hour is 6am). Then all the food was ready but they didn`t allow us to eat some quick lunch before our 6 hour flight. We then asked for a taxi, she told us we have to ask the concierge downstairs - again, what service is that? We waited than another 15min for our cab. To sum up: Lack of English, they did not take my nut allergy serious, no customer support and not a 4 or 5 star service - so I can`t recommend the extra money for the club room, get some food or drinks somewhere else, where the service is better. The hotel and the rooms are amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Martin2010187337,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. I apologize for all the inconviences caused and please note that we are paying special attention to this review. We are working on changing and improving the different aspects you mentioned.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had high expectations with this chain, staff tried very hard, but didn't always deliver. The hotel is surrounded by building sites (as is much of Doha) initial room was looking directly at the builders across the road on the 27th floor! Thankfully moved to a much better view without building site right out the window. Given only one side of the hotel has high rise building work at the moment, and I specified would be nice with a view at check in, wouldn't have been too hard to get a good room to start with! Pool was nice, but often crowded during the day. View from 46th floor gym & pool is great. Nothing was said about the bar on the top 56th floor, so if you're interested in getting a drink and a stunning view head up there, although smokey. City Centre shopping mall is very short walking distance, offering shopping, selection of food and easy taxi, given taxis were not easy at the hotel. 20 minute walk to Al Corniche, although not that easy to get to through the building areas at the moment, nice to walk along.

Room Tip: Try to specify to not face directly into the building sites, there are stunning views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear RowenaT,

Many Thanks for this review. Regarding the construction around the hotel, unfortunately this is out of our hands. We are glad that you had a chance to experience Strata and the stunning views its offers.

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Fairly mie modern hotel with big rooms ,the hotel is quiet modern with a nice lobby , it is just 5 mins walk to the city centre mall, there is nothing much to do nearby. No restaurants close by. Quiet location very business like.

Room Tip: The hotel is nice and rooms are all good, avoid taking rooms that face construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear RP07

Many Thanks for this review. We are sorry you did not get a chance to stay longer and experience the many restaurants around the hotel. A few minute’s walk away is the Gate Mall which has 3 fantastic restaurants ( Vapiano, Jones The Grocer and MB co) and West bay is filled with restaurants. Perhaps on your next visit you could try them.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Doha The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha The City

Address: P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha The City 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Doha The City is perfectly located in the exclusive area of West Bay, and stands tall amid the financial district, the Diplomatic Street and is only 5 minutes away from Qatar Exhibition Centre and 15 minutes from Doha International Airport. At close proximity from Doha Golf Club, Souq Waqif and Katara Cultural Village and is opposite the City Centre Shopping Mall it is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Doha The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Doha The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.