We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, fantastic location. Even better when construction ends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Doha The City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Doha The City to your Saves list
InterContinental Doha The City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great experience, fantastic location. Even better when construction ends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a 23-hour layover in Doha on our way back from India to the US, so we decided to spend a day in Doha (which turned out to be a GREAT idea) and we stayed at this hotel. It is within a 5 minute walk to the City Center Mall, and overall very centrally located. Parts of the hotel are still under construction, but we didn't find it bothersome. The whole area around the hotel is like that, in fact but again, it didn't bother me much. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms comfortable and modern. The bathroom was HUGE. Our room faced the back of Doha (towards the Aspire tower) so although it was a great view, I'm sure it wasn't as cool as facing towards the city. We had room service and it was delicious. The staff was also really helpful with helping us with cabs etc. I would definitely come back to Doha and stay again at this hotel. Great job!

Room Tip: I'm sure there's no bad view at this hotel, but I'd ask for a high floor and facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear GP110174

It is great that you got to spend time at our hotel during your short layover. Yes our hotel has a great location and that is one of our key selling points. Thank you for all your positive comments and we hope you get to stay with us for a longer time on your next trip.

Renzo M. Cavagliotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    125
    38
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
45
27
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was doing a stopover on my way home to Melbourne when I stayed at this hotel. I was very impressed with the level of service and comfort this hotel provides. I was most impressed with the restaurant Prime and my room had excellent views over the city itself even if there was a construction site right next door! In short, i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear GP110174

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stop over. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed Prime and the view from your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013. Festive Greetings to you!

Best regards

Renzo M. Cavagliotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall, this is a great place to stay. I was in Doha for a 5 night business trip and booked an executive floor / club room. My room was perfect! Enormous but very nicely appointed with a fabulous sitting room. The bed was absolutely perfect. Fabulous linen, great pillows and a wonderful duvet. I could hardly face leaving it! The bathrooms are great and very well appointed. Everything about my room and bathroom was great apart from the fact that it took ages to get any hot water to the bath or shower.

I would recommend the Club floor as the lounge is fantastic. The staff, especially Miriam, are amazingly helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food and beverage offerings are great.

The gym is perfect and very well equipped for a hotel gym.

The only things I wouldn't recommend in this hotel is terrible top floor bar. It's sleazy, grubby, smokey and really down market. Don't go! Also the spa / hair dressers is a real disappointment. It's completely unmanaged and I felt quite anxious having a simple hair cut there!

Room Tip: Book on the Club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Iyad73,
Thank you for your review and for being a Priority Club member, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels .Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if your stay was negatively affected by the overall design. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are very unhappy about your experience. Rest assured, your input will be shared with my management team.

Best regards

Chris Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I visited Doha last week, and was staying at intercontinental Doha the city, it was a great hotal, the room was amazing and comfortable along with all the facilities there. If i visit the counrty again, this hotel will be my stay.

thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Judith H,
Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations for the rooms and the facilities. I hope you choose our hotel for your next visit to Doha.
The team looks forward to welcoming you back!
Renzo M. Cavagliotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental on an overnight trip to Doha. The hotel has an excellent location. The staff were very helpful...
The hotel has a lovely pool and several restaurants to choose from.
The room was very spacious,clean, comfortable and well appointed.
I will definitely come back on my next visit to Qatar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Cindy M
Thank you for your positive feedback. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards

Renzo M. Cavagliotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a new hotel with large spacious rooms but the rooms are poorly designed, infact in the lounge there were no ceiling lights at all, just a tiny desk light and standing light. So it's no joke that a torch is needed! The bathroom was spacious - with bath and shower right up against the floor to ceiling windows..scarey at 38 floors up. The housekeeping was ok but not wholly consistent. Room service food good. Breakfast in the Square was utterly bizarre as the dining rooms were austere and, frankly, badly designed and not recommended. Staff were trying to be helpful. The hotel top floor lounge /bar was spectacular. There is building of similar sky scrapers all around, so you may be prepared for some noise and access challenges.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear JandJWestSussex,

Thank you for this great review. I really liked your comment on the staff being 'first class'. We appreciate your feedback and hope you decide you stay with us in the near future.

Festive Greetings.

Best regards
Renzo M. Cavagliotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Went to this hotel for brunch with friends. Was amazing! Paid approximately £60. Food was amazing with lots of choice. Alcohol was good! Cannot comment the rooms etc as never stayed, however the entrance etc looked great!

Would certainly recommend the Brunch!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Craigos24

Many Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on our Brunch. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back for Brunch and perhaps a stay at the hotel as well.

Best regards

Renzo M. Cavagliotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Doha The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha The City

Address: P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha The City 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Doha The City is perfectly located in the exclusive area of West Bay, and stands tall amid the financial district, the Diplomatic Street and is only 5 minutes away from Qatar Exhibition Centre and 15 minutes from Doha International Airport. At close proximity from Doha Golf Club, Souq Waqif and Katara Cultural Village and is opposite the City Centre Shopping Mall it is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Doha The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Doha The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.