We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Rest. in Doha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Souq Waquif | Inside the Waqif Art Center, Doha, Qatar
+974 4436 7991
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 467 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Best Italian Rest. in Doha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The food is excellent. And the service is outstanding.

I had a great time there and the meal was perfect. Great value for money. Would recommend it for everyone as it has great vegetarian and non-vegetarian options. The menu is very diverse and suits all tastes really. I went there many times with different friends and I can testify that everyone was very pleased.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Miss Zainab,

Thank you for your comment ,we are happy that you had a great time and meal.
We hope to see you soon

Best regards

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    44
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Gharafah, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We really like it!!! It's very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Friday afternoon. Had some trouble finding it, but asked a couple of people and they helped me get there. The weather was beautiful and we sat outside. Their chefs' specials are very well presented on a small blackboard with a trip pod. Their starters are excellent, we had a pumpkin flan and my GF got the vegetable soup. Both were excellent. For main course, we had Penne Arabiata and lasagnia. They were cooked perfectly and tasted fantastic. To our surprise, the owner asked us to try their ice cream. They make nice Gelato in house. Overall, we had a great experience. One thing that is somehow bothering is the Iraqi restaurant asjacent to them, with their music and Shisha they kill the experience. But it's no big deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Carlittosk,

We thank you for the excellent review , yes you are right we try to keep
our neighbour (iraqi) restaurant in good relation as we can't do anything
about it sometimes we ask them to lower there music as it disturbs most
of our clients but we are located in the Souq therefore we have to adapt
ourselfs .We apologize on there behalf and hope to see you soon

Best regards

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We like it so much!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went there last week for the first time and we all (a group of 8) like it so much and decided to go there again yesterday. The decor and ambience are cozy and comfortable (we are sitting indoor) and the service was wonderful (the waitresses really know what they are serving). Surprisingly it was pretty crowded even on a weeknight so I guess a reservation is a must before you go there. Food are amazing but I wish the soup could have been better (I ordered different soups in my two visits) which would have made it a flawless dinning experience.

Anyhow, it’s one of the best Italian joint in Qatar and I highly recommend you to give it a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear JacqueFoo,

Your comment is a valuable ressource to encourge us to keep a
high standard of food and quality . We brought the matter of the
soup to our chefs ,definitely it will be corrected and will be waiting
for your comment next visit.
Thank you for chosing us hoping to see you soon

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious & Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I recently dined in this restaurant with my husband and 2 young daughters. Both the service and food were terrific.

We ordered the Tagliatelle Bolognase, Asparagus & Shrimp Risotto, Tagliatelle Pesto & shrimp pasta and banana, coconut, pistachio & milk & choco gelatos. We all enjoyed the lot.

It is hidden in the souk but well worth looking out for the signs and finding it.

We will be back. Yum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear travelling_girl033

Thank you for your comment ,we will be waiting for you to offer again
an enjoyable dinner to you and your family

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Doha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great traditional Italian food and atmosphere at Doha's Souk Waqif. Unfortunately, it's a little overpriced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear pfcowden,

We are trying to do our best to keep low prices but unfortunately, weare receiving
All items from Italy everything is increasing but still we will provide at the end of
each bill a discount to satisfy our customers.
We thank you for your comment essentially you had a good traditional italian
food . We hope to see you soon and we will try to follow your guiding about prices.

Best regards

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.