We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Food outside of India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Lounge

Saffron Lounge
Building No 26 | Katara, Cultural Village, Near Intercontinental Hotel, Doha, Qatar
44080808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 467 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food outside of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food is outstanding. Well worth it. The Ambiance and the service are also excellent. I would like to thank the chef, Mr. Pravish Shetty for personally consulting and accommodating the food allergy requests. I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian food in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Saffron is located within the Kattara Cultural Village in Doha and we took the opportunity to be seated outside so that we could enjoy the vibe and music of the events within Kattara. This was our second visit and whilst we were slightly less blown away this time, the food was very good once again, with sizeable portions. We shared starters - potato balls and vegetable samoosa's - both were excellent. The 6 of us then shared 5 main courses, a mixture of chicken and lamb dishes and all of them had very different flavours with lovely tender meat. The pashwari nan's were exceptional.
Service was good despite being outside the main restaurant and whilst the cost was quite high - about USD 200 (no alcohol) - we felt it was decent value for the quality and quantity of food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“High standards, but a high cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Saffron Lounge's menu is divided geographically, appetizers and mains from the various regions of India grouped together. Upon ordering, rolled up papadum with several chutneys are delivered to your table, and soon after, individual samples of their soup of the day. The staff are very attentive-- a bit too attentive for my tastes, putting the napkin onto your lap and dishing up rice onto your plate should ever the opportunity arise. Their insistence to constantly keep your water glass topped off (should you choose to have water at the table) can get expensive-- 66qr for three bottles at my most recent lunch, for a non-overly-thirsty table of 6. The food is certainly high quality (my favorite is the butter chicken), but it does come with a high pricetag-- up +100qr for a prawn appi, and 26qr for a lassi. Yummy tip: try the peshwari naan-- delicious and lightly sweet!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Probably The Best Meal That I Have Ever Eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Michelin Star Chef Vineet Bhatia served us,... probably the best meal that I have ever eaten. It was really outstanding food. And, although I am a 21-year vegetarian, there were non-vegetarian diners with me, who enjoyed it just as much.

For about $45 per person, we were absolutely stuffed, and could not eat all the food we had ordered, although we wanted to.

The menu is approximately 51% vegetarian. All options are clearly marked. The service was superb, and the atmosphere was extremely comfortable.

My highest recommendation!

Location: (25°21'32.97"N), (51°31'34.69"E)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exotic but local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ate here with a small group of multicultural friends and the service was excellent. Unobtrusive, polite and timely. We ordered a range of food to share and the attention to detail by the chef was impressive. Starters which were a feast for the eyes, works of art, with well-balanced flavours and coloured by saffron, fresh pomegranate seeds sprinkled around crispy sails made from shaped pappadoms; one of the main courses was a baked pie crust cut away to reveal a succulent lamb byriani beneath. As well as visitors from overseas, many local families eat here, giving a peaceful and contented atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.