We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turki Center Restaurant

Turki Center Restaurant
Souq Wakif, Doha, Qatar
Improve this listing
Ranked #265 of 526 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Lebanese, Turkish, Middle Eastern
Description: No real street address like most of the places in Qatar. Sorry.
Restaurant details
Description: No real street address like most of the places in Qatar. Sorry.
canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Their foods fresh the Kebabds and everything is good , taste wise too Their fresh fruit juices are the Best Fresh And without added water etc We go there very often

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doha
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“best shawarma in Doha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

good service, great food - can eat in or take away. Shawarma sandwiches or meals, great grills, tabouli, hummous...all the favorites!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Turkey Central?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

If this is Turkey Central it is a Doha Institution serving excellent Turkish/Arabic food in a clean and nice but not glamourous restaurant on Al Mirkab street which is a popular shopping destination. Try to get there between 6-7 as the Arab world descends on it after this and it can be hard to get a seat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“A Doha Institution Actual It's Turkey Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Local on Al Murkab Street which has some of Doha's best shopping Turkey Central is a Doha institution offering excellent and reasonably priced grilled Arabic food. You also get large portions. Service is good and decor basic but acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good foo at an out of the way place in Souq Wakif”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Turki Center is first and foremost a schwarma restaurant. Schwarma, for those that don't know, is similar to a gyro--think of it as a Middle Eastern burrito.

It's a real hole in the way dive. And just like everywhere else in the world, some of the best local food is served up at places just like this. Turki Center did not disappoint.

Let me restate: it's a hole-in-the-wall. When you walk into the restaurant, you will know that there hasn't been a health inspection there in years. We sat in a tiny room that we shared with the sink for washing glasses and dishes. But, it still tastes good.

There were four of us in the party and we each ordered two chicken schwarmas. It was good, but it had a unique flavor that I couldn't readily place because I wasn't expecting it. Curry. There was an ever so slight Indian twang to the schwarmas. It was good--it just surprised me.

The food is good -- just don't expect the prettiest place when you walk in.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turki Center Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Turki Center Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turki Center Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.