We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Islamic Art

Museum of Islamic Art
Corniche | P.O. Box 2777, Doha, Qatar
+974 4422 4444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Doha
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in the MIA Park on the Doha waterfront, the museum building stands out as an architectural gem. Once inside, you will see masterpieces of Islamic art, including metalwork, ceramics, jewellery, woodwork, textiles and glass, collected from three continents and dating from the 7th to the 19th century.
Denmark
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is an amazing architectural masterpiece. The entrance is free, and the exhibition is very interesting. What is there not to like?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,166
    488
    116
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

In my 5 day stay in Doha I actually went to the MIA twice because I liked it so much. The art is really nice if you like Islamic paintings, rugs, ceramics and sculpture but I think the building itself is the best work of art. The cafe is lovely with a very nice view and the Turkey bacon and egg sandwich was so delicious, I had it at both visits!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“ok but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

they have obviously thrown some money at getting some amazing artifacts but descriptions are awful such as "spoon 1300-1400" next showcase "spoon 1300-1400" I am not an idiot I can tell it is a spoon tell me something more. with a bit of thought it could be an amazing experience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“great architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

the building itself is amazing. the collection is somewhat limited, compared to places like the Islamic Arts Museum in Kuala Lumpur for example. it will take about 2 hours to go through the place, which is convenient. there is no entry fee for the museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Highlight of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We're not really museum people, but we could have spent hours in here. The exhibits are fascinating, and the museum building is amazing in and of itself.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Islamic Art also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Islamic Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Islamic Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.