We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Happy Hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paloma

Paloma
InterContinental Doha | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
+974 4484 4444
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 466 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Paloma is a Doha institution . . . Keeping people happy with a perfect mix of good food, great live, music, live sport and fun for the past 11 years! Paloma has been giving the citizens of Doha a great night out for the past 11 years and is still going strong! Join us every evening to try our recently changed Tex-Mex menu offering dishes such as Fajitas and Burritos, alongside the best steaks in Doha . . . Live music 6 nights a week from our resident band from the UK, Big Mouth, playing everything from classic Rock 'n Roll to R 'n B and Hip Hop . . . DJ Shadi in the House every Wednesday, Thursday and Friday playing all your dancefloor favourites until the early hours . . . Doha's Biggest Ladies Night every Wednesday with UNLIMITED FREE DRINKS for ladies from 10pm until late . . . Airline Crew drink free of charge every Thursday night from 10pm . . . Friday night is Doha's best kept secret with free drinks for ladies and airline crew frrom 10pm until late . . . Live sport shown daily on our huge screens . . . That's a lot of reasons to come down to Paloma - see you there soon!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Happy hour provides brilliant value for money on both food and drink. I ordered the fajitas on my first visit and it was piled high with chicken. The atmosphere is relaxed which is a nice change from some of the more extravagant bars. The service is also great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Aklan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Didn't realize it was actually a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Been here a few times only to party. Get some drinks and see people get wasted on their way out. Basically that's it. More of like a party place than a restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spicy food not consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Four of us went for dinner and it was overall a good experience and there was a live band which was fun. However, there wasn't wasn't any consistence with the amount of spice in the food. I had the chicken fajitas which were lovely. However, another member of our party had them too and they were so spicy - they burnt your mouth - tonnes more spicy than my chicken. When we queried the difference of the amount of spice in the same dish we were told all the chicken was marinaded together and so it all tastes the same. This was clearly not the case and it has put me off returning to the restaurant and generally I love Mexican food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Waste of space”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Many years ago, this was one of the few bars in Doha. Back then it was a good expat hangout. Now it's a complete dump and needs gutting and a relaunch. The food is awful - well, it is Mexican, so not the best choice. They have one of those awful Filipino bands that expats in the GCC have to tolerate, and there is no atmosphere. That's because everyone is at the Belgian Cafe on the next foor up - proof that a good concept and OK food can succeed here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It was Great before but not anymore.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have been in Paloma many times, more that 15 times, in the begining it was great, i like the ambiance and the band ( big mouth band) nowdays it really Crab, mostly asian ladies and drunk people... so many times i have witnessed a fight, avoid ladies night becuase it over crowded all the times. there is no dance floor, just small space in front of the band.
Its better to go to Lava in next door, more relaxing and Class. and same prices for all the beverages.
The entrance fee also for ladies night is expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paloma also viewed

 

Been to Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paloma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.