We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oryx Rotana Doha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oryx Rotana Doha to your Saves list
Oryx Rotana Doha
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Nahda School street, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Strong business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visually, the hotel is very attractive and has a good standard of decor. As usual with most business hotels i stay at in the Middle East, the wireless internet service leaves much to be desired.

Very close to the airport which is useful for quick in and out trips. Not one so much for the family or tourists as lacks any creativity and life.

The jazz bar was ok and decent music, half empty given the type of people and nature of their stay at the hotel.

Will stay again for a short trip/weekend

Danny

Room Tip: All rooms are of decent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience and I am glad to kow that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Oryx Rotana.

We are pleased to know that you have chosen our hotel for your next visit to Doha and looking forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely yours,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    276
    51
    10
    10
See reviews for
81
94
103
518
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The decor of the hotel is breath-taking, modern and very chic. I was hear for 2 nights and this is a great hotel if you only have meetings and transit. There are wonderful dining options and excellent facilities so you don't exactly have to leave.

The outside location is dusty and surrounded by building sites. Not very prepossessing right now compared to the rest of the city. It is however near the airport and the hotel feels so light and airy inside that you don't really have to experience much of the surrounding area.

The front desk staff were obviously very well-trained, and although not particularly friendly, they made the guest feel very important. I arrived really late at night (after midnight) and check-in felt like a lengthy process. I also had some issues with my room assignment. The first time I was placed in a room that reeked of cigarette smoke and seemed to still have a guest in it, there were shoes present etc. It's a testament to how lovely this hotel is and how professional the staff were that I still rate this hotel so highly in spite of this which was dealt with in a satisfactory manner.

The breakfast was quite good as were the food offerings. There are lots of sitting/meeting areas for guests and their visitors to enjoy outside their room and the way the hotel is built and designed, it always feels bright, airy and modern, never crowded. This is a really great place to stay for transit as it is right near the airport. In spite of this and the surrounding construction, it's very quiet and relaxing. The views aren't great if that's what you're after and it's not particularly centrally-located but otherwise, I really enjoyed my time here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Oryx Rotana. I am very glad to know that the level of our services and facilities exceeded your expectations, giving you an enjoyable stay all throughout.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvinience you've been through and rest assured that it has been addressed to the attention of my colleagues to avoid reoccurence in the future.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oryx Rotana once again.

Sincerely yours,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My stay was because of transitting at Doha International Airport connecting between Qatar Airways flights. Being near the airport is the primary advantage of the hotel, but it is certainly a four star in terms of service - the staff were excellent and very friendly. Despite the proximity to the airport there was no problem with noise. The room was clean and of good size and had a good selection of TV channels.

Room Tip: I don't think there was a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and we appreciate the time you spent to share your experience a the Oryx Rotana. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back so please let us know when you paln to visit Doha again as we are looingn forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely yours,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The décor in this exterior unassuming hotel is wonderful- modern and chic. Right on the doorstep of the Airport, there is a free shuttle service every half hour. There are good restaurants in house so one does not have to go out of the hotel area because you are surrounded by airport and building sites- not much to look at. There is a good-sized pool on the first floor with a pool bar, a funky Jazz bar and a good hairdresser.

Room Tip: We chose to overlook the city but we had a few building sites in the way- not great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Oryx Rotana.

I am very glad to know that the level of our services and facilities exceeded your expectations, giving you an enjoyable stay all throughout.

Your compliments will definitely be shared with our team; as such flattering remarks continuously inspire us to do our utmost in everything that we do.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oryx Rotana once again.


Sincerely yours,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

very happy with the effiency of check in - check out process.
great front officeteam...
F&B departments needs some improvement
jazz club was very good though
good one night stay hotel in doha
5 minutes from airport and 20 from west bay (DT of Doha)

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and I am glad to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities giving you memorable stay.

I appreciate your comment for the F & B that needs improvement as feedback like this help us improve our our products and services.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Doha.

Sincerely yours,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

GOOD NEWS, the hotel is just a stone's throw away from Doha International Airport. NOT SO GOOD NEWS is, you can hear the airplanes as they lauch up to the sky. however, bearable. maybe because i sleep not soundly.

hotel room size is adequate and cute. i just wish the TV is a bit bigger. i enjoyed the bed most. i loved each and every thread count. comfy. =)

i liked the gym area. huge and energizing mood especially the terrace part of that. pool size is adequate too. with lots of sun bed by the pool.

the buffet breakfast is awesome! wide variety of sumptious mediterranean food. the only thing is, i got to be blinded by the sun as the roof is a transparent glass. could have been an opaque or transluscent kind of materials used. so blinding, especially if you are relaxing at the lobby. sorry about that.

the most horrendous thing about my stay the KARWA TAXI. eventhough there is a taxi meter, they will not use it. instead, they will ask you how much you would like to pay from hotel to certain area where you want to go. and if you oppose, they will tell you straight away to leave the taxi. HOW AWFUL IS THAT??? so tourist, be careful if you are riding KARWA TAXIs in DOHA. you have to see whether the meter is open or not. and most of all, demand for a receipt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the time and effort you have taken to share with us your experience at the Oryx Rotana. These comments enable us to maintain the high standards of service expected from us.

Though it is beyond our control, we are very sorry to learn about your inconveniences with regards to Karwa taxi.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Doha.

Sincerely yours,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solrød
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I’ve stayed at Oryx between 6-8 times and I must say the product is very good. This is the only airport hotel I enjoy returning to. Plenty of good restaurants onsite, Cellar and the new Chinese are both good.
Hotel limo is very expensive, but you can ask for a local taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our loyal guest in the Hotel. I am very pleased to know that you always choose Oryx Rotana to be your second home away from home.

We wil always be glad to welcome you in your future visist to Doha.

Sincerely yours,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oryx Rotana Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Rotana Doha

Address: Al Nahda School street, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Doha
#3 Business Hotel in Doha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oryx Rotana Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Oryx Rotana Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oryx Rotana Doha Hotel Doha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oryx Rotana Doha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.