We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Hotel

Diamond Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Diamond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Al Ghanim, Tariq Bin Zyad street | opposite Qatar national library roundabout, Doha, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Fornebu, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Huge flat, nice staff and close to the DOHA airport. But the rest was just terrible. Bad smell on the rest rooms, not cleaned the recent tears, uncomfortable beds, noisy, old style, museum furnitures, madrasses hard as concrete..

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel has a spacious room and has attached to a good restaurant for non veg eaters. Service from reception is fairly ok. What I did not like the perfume which they put in the room. It really can cause you a headache. Very poor maintained in terms of corridors and even daily room maintenance. Nearby sarvana Bhavan is there for veg eaters. Overall average

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Planned to stay just for a night during short stay in Doha... booked this "3star" hotel Diamond 2 Hotel by one of websites and arrived at late evening. Checked in to the suite... and was not able to stay more than 3 minutes... Can't describe how dirty it was!!! In 3 minutes saw more than 10 cockroaches!!! Towels were used and dirty! in my opinion just sprayed with air refresher!!! Bedding was so dirty, so disguisting with yellow spots on it. In hotel corridor next to the room door I saw few plates with moldy and smelly food, I was shocked... As the receptionist refused to cancel booking, we asked for a different room, standard with no kitchen (we thought that there will be no cockroaches) and the other room was as dirty as the previous one! Manager told us than in their other Diamond Hotel has a better standard, we gone there with him, and the same situation there... Asked another manager for cancelling our booking, after some time thaey accepted to cancel it... DO NOT STAY THERE!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at this place during the UN Climate Conference when many better hotels were fully booked. It was way overpriced given the low standard. Lots of things that didn't work, such as bedside lamps, shower head, remote control, even the toaster was broken one morning and they served untoasted toast. Very slow to serve breakfast, anyway. Other things missing, even glasses or beakers. But the worst thing is how dirty it was. When we moved in, the room was really disgusting, and we had to call the staff to clean, including the wardrobe and the little fridge which did not offer a minibar, but rather scruffy leftovers from earlier guests. During the first week, we had to complain every day, one day it was the bath tub that was completely dirty, the other day towels were missing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

If you're looking for a budget hotel in Doha that is relatively nice, the Diamond Hotel is an acceptable choice. Paid 300 QR for a double room (listed as 400, negotiated down). Sheets had a couple stains on them and bathroom floor wasn't the cleanest. No windows to open in the room so no air circulation. Kept smelling someone smoking cigarettes, smoke seeped into our room through the drafty windows (that didn't open). Tried a few other hotels around the area and this one was the best. Fine if you are just sleeping there at night and out and about during the day. I would note that the location isn't great for women travelers. There are absolutely no women walking in the street in this area (all workers brought in from India, Pakistan, etc.) so we were often honked at despite wearing modest clothing. It was relatively easy to find a taxi. Staff was very helpful and friendly. There was internet on every floor but for some reason we were rarely able to connect to it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel

Address: Old Al Ghanim, Tariq Bin Zyad street | opposite Qatar national library roundabout, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.