We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souq Waqif

Souq Waqif
Between Musherib street and Al Rayyan Road, Doha, Qatar
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Shopping in Doha
Type: Shops, Flea/ Street Markets, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Shopping
Attraction details
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old and new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The souq waqif is a market in the centre of Doha. Apparently it is located on the traditional market site of the Bedouins but the buildings are actually less than ten years old. Nevertheless, they have created a replica of an old souk with little winding alleys that actually does feel as though it has been there for centuries. Perhaps it was created with tourists in mind but for the times I visited it, it was a real bustling marketplace with everything being sold, from spices to saucepans, traditional dress to caged birds. There are several restaurants and places to smoke shisha. If I was in Doha again I would stay in one of the hotels near here as it is one of the few places in Doha (apart from shopping centres)where you could just stroll around and sit and have a coffee or a meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    470
    119
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A glimpse of old Doha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of the few remnants of old Doha, although I gather the buildings are not original but restored. There is a lovely part of the souq where restaurants and cafes are located. A great place for a mint tea and some shisha.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Almost too perfect, looked like a movie set.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Souq is a must see and is buzzing with people and atmosphere but it looked just a little too perfect, almost as if it was newly updated to look old. Despite this it's a really interesting place to sit and eat or drink and people watch with a good mix of all nationalities (including some taking their pet monkey in a pink tracksuit for for a walk on its lead). The pet souk has to be seen with some interesting dyed chicks and baby rabbits in tutu's!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for shisha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the perfect place to get authentic Qatari souvenir. One has to bargain for the goods they are about to purchase. We had a fabulous evening with seafood and shisha at the souq.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best souq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have visited most of the Arabic countries and pretty much all of them have a souq but I must confess that this is the best I have seen so far.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souq Waqif also viewed

 

Been to Souq Waqif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souq Waqif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.