We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to tourist attractions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Encore Doha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Encore Doha to your Saves list
Ramada Encore Doha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ahmed Bin Mohd. Bin Thani Street | "A" Ring Road, Musheireb, Doha 200922, Qatar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #37 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Walking distance to tourist attractions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Overall: Room rate is reasonable, but everything else is more expensive if booked via the hotel (i.e food, tours etc)

Location: Walking distance to the Souq Waqif and the Corniche. The museum of Islamic Art is along the corniche also. The airport was about 10-15 minutes drive (~ 31 QAR by taxi). The streets nearby do not look that safe, but we did not have any issues walking there at night.

Room: The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked fine. My main issue was with the hot water in the shower. When turned on the shower, and left running for a while, no hot water came out. We had to call reception to get someone to fix it. The guy came turned on the hot water from the sink tap, and waited for that water to be hot. Once water from sink is hot, the shower will also have hot water. 2 free water bottles are provided, and can also have tea / coffee in room.

Breakfast: Reception informed us that breakfast would cost more if we decided to eat there in the morning, so it was better to book the night before. We decided to try the breakfast for the first night we were there. The breakfast range and quality is as per hotel standards. There was cereals, bread, fruit, hot food (i.e. eggs, sausages (chicken / beef) and usual drinks, juice, tea, coffee, bottled water. In my opinion, it is better to eat outside as can try local food and the price is cheaper.

Service: The front desk is very prompt at answering any questions, or providing assistance. My only complaint was the lack of attention to detail. We got information from the staff about booking a city tour, and asked them to proceed with the booking. The staff called us in our room to confirm that booking was made. I asked to what time the tour start, as they had told us that there were 2 possible options, and we were happy to go with either. They did not know and had to call us back to give us the details. They then called us again after a few minutes, to tell us that we had to pay by cash and could not use credit card. My expectation is if I am being informed of a booking confirmation, all the details would be readily available, instead of having multiple calls.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RamadaEncore, General Manager at Ramada Encore Doha, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Your feedback is appreciated and we do regret the slight inconvenience you may have faced with hot water.

Our hotel is ideally located in one of the safest cities in the world and most of our guests are happily surprised at the quality and value offered.

We hope you will be staying with us in the future as well.

Sincerely.

SAQIB ANWAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    121
    53
    12
    9
See reviews for
15
52
52
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We quite enjoyed our time at the Doha Ramada Encore. Must as others have described, this is clean, safe, and comfortable hotel very close to Souq Waqif. Rooms are a good size. Breakfast was good and a reasonable price. The dinner buffet had a nice selection and included soft drinks. The staff were incredibly helpful and very polite.

We booked a car and driver through the hotel to tour the city. Our driver was excellent and the price very good.

Room Tip: Make sure to walk to Souq Waqif
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RamadaEncore, General Manager at Ramada Encore Doha, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and the feedback provided. We are glad that you enjoyed the value for money offered by our hotel.

Your positive comments have been passed on to our team members and will provide us encouragement for further improvement.

We hope to see you at our hotel soon.

Sincerely.

SAQIB ANWAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed two nights and we really liked it. Very clean and friendly. Walking distance to the market, corniche and the islamic museum of modern art.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RamadaEncore, General Manager at Ramada Encore Doha, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for your comments and recent stay at our hotel. Your encouragement is much appreciated and we have passed on your comments to our team members.

Our friendly and helpful staff are our most important asset and we value their contributions. You have also enjoyed our location which is also appreciated by most of our guests.

We hope you will stay with us in the future as well.

Sincerely.

SAQIB ANWAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel is not cheap by any standards (at least 130 USD). However, in Doha that is practically as cheap as it gets. The hotel itself is nice, the swimming pool is clean, the gym is sufficient and the staff are kind and friendly. The location is a little close to the airport and the bazaar, but not close to downtown Doha. The neighborhood just like the rest of the country is very safe.
I would definitely stay here again. The decoration of the rooms is a little bit burlesque, but the beds are comfortable and the tv and shower work perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RamadaEncore, General Manager at Ramada Encore Doha, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and we do appreciate your choosing to stay with us.

As a mid scale brand with focus on practicality and affordability without compromising on essentials, we are happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Our hotel is located close to the airport as well as several cultural, historical and shopping attractions as within walking distance. The bank street, A, B & C ring roads are within easy reach.

We look forward to your stay with us in the future as well.

Sincerely.

SAQIB ANWAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

After making a confirmed booking and arranging business meetings at the hotel i arrive to be told the hotel is full and i am being moved to another hotel. Not practicle as i have arranged various meetings at the Ramada. So eventually get a room. Well a so called room more of a box with a tiny window. To complement the room a noisy AC unit right outside the window.
Would not reccomend very disapointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RamadaEncore, General Manager at Ramada Encore Doha, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest

We do sincerely regret that you faced some inconvenience upon check-in. I assure you that this was an exception due to reasons beyond our control and not the norm.

Our rooms are designed with practicality and affordability in mind and the size (22sq.m) as well as photos are displayed on all websites for guest information.

Ramada Encore, a tier of the Ramada brand, was launched in 2000 for business and leisure travellers looking for a great value, midscale hotel. You may have expected to stay at a full service Ramada Hotel, which may have caused a misunderstanding.

We hope you will give us another chance to be your choice in the future as well.

Sincerely.

SAQIB ANWAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre du Perray
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

4 queen sized bed / non-smoking Rooms were booked and confirmed.

Arriving at 20:00 in the hotel, we are told there are no queen sized bed any longer. Furthermore, the available twin beds room are smoking!!

This is totally dishonnest practice.

When complaining to the receptionist, he explains that as in every hotel, these conditions are 'subject to availability' - something which is NOT reported at all to the confirmation. Is this what is called "insulting intelligence"??

The rooms themselves are OK yet it is worth to know that there is no window - sorry, there is one, with view on the internal, technical column!!

What a disgrace!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RamadaEncore, General Manager at Ramada Encore Doha, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room choice not being available upon check-in. Room types are indeed subject to availability at most hotels around the world, while every effort is made to meet guest requests.

Our practicality, affordability and quality are the main reasons for most guests being happy with our product. We do offer larger "Business" rooms with a better view at a different price while large rooms with views of the sea or the marina are available at some hotels in Doha, at much higher prices.

We hope you will be staying with us in the future as well.

Sincerely.

SAQIB ANWAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed here for almost a month and had absolutely no problem whatsoever. The service was great, the employees friendly and the food tasty. It's location was also a plus. It's right next to the old city center, also known as "Heart of Doha", where you can take a walk through the real Doha. I will be staying here again on my next visit to Doha, Qatar.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-RamadaEncore, General Manager at Ramada Encore Doha, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your highest rating for our product and services. Your positive feedback will provide us encouragement to improve further.

Our services and staff friendliness are appreciated by most of our guests as well as our location proximity to several attractions. We are at a waliking distance to "Musehireib Heart of Doha project" as well as several cultural attractions.

We look forward to your stay with us in the future as well.

Sincerely.

SAQIB ANWAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Encore Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Doha

Address: Ahmed Bin Mohd. Bin Thani Street | "A" Ring Road, Musheireb, Doha 200922, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Doha
#19 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#34 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Encore Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in old Doha & only 4 km from Doha airport, walking distance to Souq Waqif (Traditional market), Musheirib Downtown Project, Gold Souq (Gold market), Museums, Grand Hamad Street, Doha Corniche Waterfront & Al Khoot Fort. A short drive to B / C & D ring roads. Modern and trendy rooms of 22 sq.m with free wi-fi (no downloads/streaming), tea/coffee maker, daily water bottles, iron & board, electronic safe, IDD phone with voice mail, satellite TV, work desk, sofa, queen or twin bed, en-suite with walk-in shower, hairdryer, bedroom slippers, bathroom amenities. The Hub, all day dining offering a variety of cuisine options and a casual gathering place. Free wi-fi (no downloads/streaming), airport transport (on request), tour assistance, currency exchange, temperature controlled indoor swimming pool, gymnasium and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Encore Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Doha Hotel Doha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Encore Doha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.