We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a real wow experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Market

Spice Market
West Bay | W Doha Hotel, Doha, Qatar
+974 44535135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 493 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is a real wow experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We tried all the restaurants in W Doha and what is hard to decide is which one is better than the other as all three were amazing and unique in their own way. We tried sashimi & crab rolls, samosas, chicken satay - I must say that the samosas and the satay is addictive. Mango salad was refreshing, and then we tried short ribs - which is hard to decide if Market or Spice Market version is better as both are excellent, duck curry was sweet & tender, lobster dumplings was very delicate, Thai jewels are to die for…We had one of the most amazing service experiences throughout the dinner as they were very discreet, refined without being intimidating always attentive, things magically happen as it seems and they are always one step before you need anything...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello NesrinK1946,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about Spice Market Doha! We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our dishes, the ambiance and the service of our team. It gives us such pleasure to hear from our guests that we could exceed their expectations!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    182
    61
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Noisy but Nice ... Very Nice !!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Spice Market has something of a night-club atmosphere about it. Whilst the food choice and quality is excellent the same cannot be said about the background music - background it is definitely NOT. Management - a few volume notches down, please. Back to the restaurant and food, the week I was there I tried a selection of different dishes from the Spice Market menu - sea food through to duck. All were excellent and professionally presented. Would I come back or recommend this restaurant to others? Most definitely. As suggested previously - a few notches lower on the volume control please - this is meant to be a quality restaurant and not a night club.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello spmmik53,

Thank you very much for your kind words about Spice Market Doha, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed dining experience at our restaurant. With regards to your comment about the level of music, we will make sure to work on it in order to avoid disturbing you and our future guests during their dinner.

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QATAR
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“nice but not my style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I try this restaurant for 2 time .. my husband like the food there , soup and nodules ..
But I didn't like it it's not my style of the food .. I like the décor , the service but I didn't love the food ,, ya it's good and you can eat it .. But is not that pining to return .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello QATAR2007,

Thank you for taking the time to review Spice Market. I was disappointed to hear that you did not particularly enjoy the South East Asian cuisine at our restaurant. Next time you visit our restaurant, please feel free to ask your server for recommendations, as I am certain that we can find a dish that suits your expectations.

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Endless Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great food and outstanding interior..the combinations of the food are delicious and you get such a large portion just a bit expensive and guaranteed to be full on weekends, Inspiration for the menu comes from all round the world and you can try several courses ! It meets all the requirements of even the strictest foodaholics !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello Asma H,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Spice Market! We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the ambiance of our restaurant!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to try more of our dishes!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Qatar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

It's no wonder this place wins all the awards.
Food, service, decor, atmosphere - all excellent.

My only gripe is that the spotlights over some tables make you feel you're being interrogated. But that's seriously minor nitpicking. Oh and it's a bit pricey but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hello GarethO368,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Spice Market Doha, we were very happy to hear that you enjoy our restaurant!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Market also viewed

 

Been to Spice Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.