We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Market

Spice Market
West Bay | W Doha Hotel, Doha, Qatar
+974 44535135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 414 restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Doha
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Awful, over rated, extremely expensive, food was rubbish. Minute quantities of fusion nosense. Water a ridiculous price. Very very unhappy. If it wasn't for the company we would have left after the silly entree.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    284
    109
    39
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spice Market at the W Hotel, Doha, is my favorite location for both lunch or dinner. The food is great, the service is outstanding and the ambience is very comfortable and classy. Other than the amazing food, Spice Market really stands out because they have the friendliest staff. I always feel like i am entering my second home.
A big shout out to Steven and David the friendliest waiters ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello Annie K,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and kind words about Spice Market! David, Steven and the rest of us here were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and the service provided!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“business dinner at this exciting restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Was over in Doha for a business meeting, this fusion restaurant is clever and it works and like a lot of restaurants in the gulf it does suffer from noisy music. Excellent food, beautifully presented.
We were a chaotic group from all over the World, but we all agreed it was a special meal.
Will definitely go again. Try the clever version of the sweet and sour prawns and the sushi. The tuna sashimi is superb and the puddings quite delicious.
And this was all without a drop of alcohol!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello nitricoxide,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Spice Market by Jean Georges! We were glad to hear that your dining experience with us was special, and that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant here at W Doha!

Hoping to welcome you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

this is on our list of favorite restaurants! i also love their jazz nights on the weekends!
the menu has a bit of everything for everybody!
the staff are very attentive! and the food is excellent!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello Hermelanian,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Spice Market! We were very happy to hear that you enjoy our restaurant!

Hope to welcome you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Taster Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just back from my second visit to the Spice Market, the first being a Friday Brunch which I cannot fault.

Tonight we opted for the taster menu, 5courses 10tastes each one as delicious as the next. It was truly amazing and offered great value for money with a bottle wine being included for 2of us. Was worried that 'taster' meant small portions this was not the case and we were full up on the lead up to desert.

We arrived just before 7pm and got a table for 2 without booking. It was very busy by the time we left.

Service was fantastic, I don't think we are ever going to have a bad meal here, the only problem being that the other restaurants about are going to have to live up to these standards.

Looking forward to my third visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello lorna A,

Thank you very much for your kind words about Spice Market, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the Tasting Menu and our restaurant!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spice Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.