We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant for Friday brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Market

Spice Market
West Bay | W Doha Hotel, Doha, Qatar
+974 44535135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 466 Restaurants in Doha
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant for Friday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything was excellent. Food presentation, quality and service. Desserts were spectacular. Expensive though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Yannis A,

Thank you so much for your kind review of Spice Market!

We hope to see you back soon.

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    151
    53
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Off the boil”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

the Spice Market has a new menu, in a City not know for its readiness to change such things that sounds great but to be honest, it was a little lackluster Overall, there wasn't much spice or sparkle to be had and I thought the food was just average stuff really, certainly nothing special or anything you couldnt get at half the price elsewhere. Unfortunate really..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello SIMON G,

We are very disappointed to hear that your expectations of our new menu were not met! I would love to discuss this matter in further detail with you. Feel free to contact me at E-Insider.wdoha@whotels.com

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant (if rather expensive) Asian fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Plush decor, very attentive service, excellent Asian fusion food at the best level I've experienced in any other place worldwide.
Delicious specialties, I've dined there over 12 times and tried almost all of the menu. While everyone will have different preferences, I can safely say that almost everything I've had was delicious (and I am very picky !).
Downsides :
- always crowded (with goo reason !) so service can be slow and on busy evenings you will need a reservation or may be advised to come back after 30 or 45 minutes;
- As everywhere else in Doha, the wine list is outrageously expensive, but if you are an expert of sorts you can spot a few acceptable value for money items on the list (I, for one, recommend the Edelburg Pinotage from South Africa - and bear in mind I'm French so that says it all, doesn't it ?).
- Dining room's a tad dark for my taste and music can occasionally be a little too loud - as is not rare in the region.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello whatever00,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Market by Jean-Georges. We are very happy that you had such a good time with us and that you took your time to write this review!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful - one of the better dining experiences in Doha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Highly recommended. The ambiance is dark, but this is a happening place. The food is great and surprisingly, great value as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hello Brightestsquid,

Thank you for your kind review of Spice Market! We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Consistently good, always prudent to book as it is one of Doha finest
We enjoyed fresh tasty food and were entertained by an Excelent singer -piano player.

Good for business socials, romantic meals, evening out with friends this place is great for all of these things.

Enjoy.

.
.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hello penren08,

We are very glad that you enjoy Spice Market so much! Thank you for taking the time to write down your kind words about our restaurant.

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spice Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.