We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Harp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of sheraton hotel

sheraton hotel
Doha, Qatar
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 459 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Irish Harp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

the hotel is just wow and marvellous, went there last week with my friends and we had a very good time,,,,good service from the waitresses,,high security in the club and good kind, smilling and warm welcome from UMRAV the manager in Irish. i must say we had the best time out in Doha..We looooovee Sheraton. good job and thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ghana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vacation holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On a vacation holiday with my family. ...we had a nice time...with the luxurious buffet ....I really had a lot of fun....and will never forget this wonderful holiday in life....such an amazing place to be....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had a nice dinner in the hotel buffet. The variety was ok and the food quality was good but they should try to add some more main dishes due to most of the buffet was based on salads and desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bad service, bad food at the Cove”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a quick dinner at the Cove, an outdoor restaurant at the hotel. We were there around 9.30pm. It seemed like the staff were not too happy about that since they close an hour after that. The menu is limited to some Arabic, Japanese and Asian food. We ordered two types of sushi, a chocolate cake and a tom yam soup. I told them to bring the cake last but the dessert came first with the sushi. The sushi with salmon on it wasn't too fresh. We had asked for extra wasabi but it took them 10 mins to get to the table. The cake was light and delicious. The only saving grace.
The soup? Never made it to the table. Finally, we got the bill with soup listed on it. Bad experience. I will never go back to this restaurant! Food and service, a real shame despite the relaxing setting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay and Multiple resturants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Sheraton hotel boasts some impressive architecture and ultra-friendly experienced staff, but lacks in some basics that all travelers might appreciate.
The biggest flaw is the allowance of smoking in the common areas. In my opinion this is an easy and quick fix. Management, you are behind the times- it is not 1995 anymore. All of your guests have access to the smell of smoking and the destructive forces of cigarette smoking on our bodies. Had we not been pre-booked, we would have left. We would not recommend the hotel to others or stay again until you rectify this. Other basics include finishing your landscaping- piles of debris that are brown and crispy show how long the job has been half-completed; have the SPG lane at checkout actually be for SPG members and not local nationals with kingly egos; and finally, have your in-room menus include one or two more options for vegetarians. Some bright spots are; seaside deluxe balcony rooms are legit with a patio and comfy feeling den areas; all facility bathrooms were clean, have adequate water pressure and are not outdated; beds are big, soft, white and clean; access to a pool, hot tub and a beach park, complete with lounge chairs, golf-carted waiters and ocean access. Also, the food at the pool is standard, but comes out quickly and with a smile.
Cove restaurant: Really nice vibe here, we went in the evening and it was dim and perfect for a few sushi rolls and drinks. I would not recommend this place for anything other than casual snacking though, as the lighting is really low and it seems to be a bar-first, restaurant second spot. For lovebirds, there are a few choice tables on the beach off the patio that would be perfect for dirty talk and a gooey evening. Try the Mudcake if you need a quick aphrodisiac, it's loaded!
Latino restaurant: Good mix of sweet, savory and spicy fare to select from. Nothing boring, cliche or expected. We went on a buffet-style night and she was a satisfied vegetarian as I was with my omnivore stomach. Great value sized alcoholic drinks, and as with the rest of the Sheraton, the employees were friendly and actually seemed happy. We have yet to try ordering from the menu here, but suspect it would be above average.
The Irish Harp: Remember, it is a bar first, and one of Doha's busiest. Just the name implores who it will attract. I have been through this bar a few times, and it just takes forever to get the food back to you. Standard fried bar fare. I would say there is a 8:1 male to female ratio from the five or six times I have been. Better than most spots guys.
There is another restaurant that is real jazzy up on the top floor. I would expect it is high dollar and has the same uninspired continental menu other five-stars offer. Look to other reviewers for that one.
Kudos to the Sheraton for having such a happy staff. You don't see this much in Doha. Get rid of the smoking, show appreciation to your paying members,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to sheraton hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sheraton hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.