We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Location & Accommodation In City Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Doha Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W Doha Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
W Doha Hotel & Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Location & Accommodation In City Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The W Hotel located in the heart of Doha’s city centre is a quirky, formal and first-class hotel run by exuberant staff. The hotel is only five years old, has multiple facilities, is kept in immaculate condition and is a few minutes walk from the largest shopping mall in Qatar; The City Centre Mall. I stayed at the W Hotel for two nights due to it’s modern design, location and feasible reputation. Upon arrival to the hotel I was greeted by a friendly manager and quickly escorted to the room in no time. This was my first stay in a W Hotel and in general it was formidable.

The main lobby of the hotel is tremendous, with blue lights hanging from the roof as well as many various available seating options and check-in desks. The lobby then leads off to the Italian restaurant, La Shiga, as well as the Market restaurant and finally the lifts. During my stay I didn't dine in the restaurants so I can’t speak for the quality of food. The breakfast buffet although was rather impressive, offering a dense range of foods and drinks. The restaurant in which the breakfast is served, The Market, is also outstanding with small half closed of seating area shaped in cubes circled around the buffet. The two-tiered swimming pool was quite spacious for a city hotel, with a lap pool leading down to a smaller and more spacious semi-circle shaped pool. The fitness centre is found next to the pool and the variety in equipment is unrivalled within Doha. One evening I had late-night room service which was surprisingly rather good for in-room dining.

I stayed in a deluxe room on a higher level which I found had enticing views of Doha. I could see neighbouring buildings as well as the beach/sea in the distance. The pearl shape of the rooms make it delightful to stay in as there is ample room for bags, working desks and a chair. The bed was astoundingly comfortable and perfect to sleep on after a lot of travelling. The bathroom is nicely designed with a rain shower, bathtub and two sinks. I did find that the bathtub could not fit an adult completely in but it could be said that it is a compromise for the sizeable shower. The mini-bar has multiple things on offer at not such a cheap price as expected at any hotel.
The W Hotel in Doha offers a slice of convenient luxury that will enhance your experience in Doha hugely. The pearl shaped rooms are a high point of the hotel as well as the organised staff. The only thing I would say that impacted my stay was the odd ‘lounge’ located on level two. It was said to be a lounge but it was more of a nightclub and stunk the whole floor out and was constantly noisy late into the night. I personally don’t see the need for it in a W Hotel but I guess it would come under the quirky side of the hotel chain. This hotel is best for working in the city or if you want luxury in a convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello maxamoh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to compose this kind review of W Doha Hotel & Residences, we were very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us!

We hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to Doha!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    233
    65
    15
    13
See reviews for
82
180
115
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

There is nothing negative I can say about my stay at the W Doha. If you are travelling to Qatar, this is where you should stay. The staff are so friendly and attentive, the rooms are amazing and the food is delicious!

The best part about the W is that even the smallest of details are taken care of. They go above and beyond in every aspect. The rooms have extra plugs, make up remover in the bathroom, extra pillows are at hand and the wi-fi is super fast.

The breakfast here is amazing!! I love that the staff remember things about you that make your stay even better. For example, they remembered the kind of tea I liked so, after the first order, they knew without me having to specifically order it.

The location of the hotel is ideal. It's close to the corniche and the airport was only 25 Riyals away. Transport is readily available and if you feel like staying in, there's plenty to do at the hotel itself.

As someone who travels a lot, what I expect from a hotel is great customer service levels and a stay that makes your journey memorable and hassle-free. The W Doha goes above and beyond and personally I'm looking for any excuse to travel to Doha just to go and stay there again!

Room Tip: The W suite is a little more money but 100% worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Claudia B,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of W Doha! We were thrilled to hear that you had such a great time at our hotel, its always such a delight to hear such wonderful comments from our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future on your next visit to Doha!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We spent 2 days in Doha as a stopover in our way to Thailand, and W Doha offered much more than we need to that period. Great modern installations, we got 2 champagne flutes for our honeymoon and service was amazing. Room very well equipped (with Nespressos and daily newspaper), friendly staff, outstanding breakfast service and very good restaurants. I cannot point out a thing that was not extraordinary.
We had an evening flight out of Doha and managed to get a late checkout for 2pm, but we stayed in a sort of restaurant lounge (with snacks, beverages and internet available) for as long as we wanted.
Of course, difficulties in having alcohol (extremely overpriced) have nothing to do with the hotel, but with Qatar regulations.
If you are looking for a very modern hotel, that’s the place to go in Doha.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello Bruno_MR,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of W Doha! We were happy to hear that we could make your short stay with us enjoyable and your honeymoon special. I was also very happy to hear that you enjoyed all other aspects of our hotel, especially the service. We take great pride in the level of service we provide to our guests, and its such a delight for us to hear such comments from our guests.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your special trip in Thailand, and hope to welcome you back at W Doha on your next visit to Qatar!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed in WDoha many times and from the initial stay, have always been impressed with all my experiences so far. Awesome rooms, perfect food and entertainment options including bars, in room amenities, spa, fitness center, pool, all the works. Extremely helpful and friendly staff, as well as courteous service whatever the need may be. No need to look for any other accommodation in Doha. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: All rooms well designed that I stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello abbasalialoc,

Thank you very much for your most wonderful review of W Doha! We were thrilled to hear that you've enjoyed your previous stays with us and that we could exceed your expectations. It is always such a delight to hear such comments from our guests!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Best one. Really. Having tried couple of them I have no doubt this is the hotel to choose! Staff are always there for anything you can need. Restaurants are amazing and they even have gluten free pasta! Clean, quiet rooms, super comfy beds and very nice swimming pool. Feel as good as home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello ElmoinDoha,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of W Doha! We were very happy to hear that you consistently enjoy our hotel, the restaurants and the service of our team. I was also glad to see that we can provide you with dishes fitting your dietary requirements!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice, multinationalty and frienly staff, all are doing the best to satisfy you, vareity of the food, i like la spiga resturant, it is amazing food and the bar boy "Simon" is very frindly and helpfull and nice to chat with him during the dinner, he makes me fell like home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello ismail-libya,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of W Doha! We were thrilled to hear that you had such a great time at our hotel and that Simon from La Spiga could make you feel at home!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

One of the best hotels I visited
Breakfast was very delicious. .. very clean and nice facilities. ....but we had a problem in check in they asked us to pay 500 R per night as insurance cause it was new year which is nonsense and they didn't mention it before. .and the Lebanees guy warking in the reception was very rode. .and not professional. .. but Mr. HASAN saved the setuation

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello ameena a,

Thank you for taking the time to review W Doha, we were glad to hear that you liked the cleanliness of our hotel and the facilities. I was sorry to hear that you faced challenges upon check-in but glad that Hasan, our Welcome Office Manager could solve it for you.

Hope to welcome you back again to W Doha.

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Doha Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Doha Hotel & Residences

Address: West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#1 Business Hotel in Doha
#2 Spa Hotel in Doha
#8 Family Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Doha Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Doha Hotel & Residences is located in the prime West Bay area of Doha's city-centre. The multi-story structure of the building reveals panoramic views of the Arabian Gulf. W Doha brings a new flavor to the region as the first lifestyle design hotel in Doha. The hotel sets the standard for modern luxury accommodation in the city, offering residents all the benefits and amenities that come with being connected to a W. The design of W Doha is modern and contemporary with an infusion of the design elements indigenous to the region, including lighting, colors, and social areas. All rooms have IP telephones and digital safe boxes with laptop charging facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your W Doha Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Doha Hotel And Residences
w Hotels Doha
w Hotel Doha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Doha Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.