We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and Very Hip Hotel but Not for Famiies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Doha Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W Doha Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
W Doha Hotel & Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 124 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Cool and Very Hip Hotel but Not for Famiies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Let me start by saying that Doha itself really does NOT have anything to Offer except Waqiff Souk and I probably would never go back until they get their act together unless for work. Everything in Doha is one big construction mess and they are no where close to be compared with Dubai.Saying that I must say that the W Doha is certainly a cool Hotel and I did get a nice Upgrade as a SPG Platinum member with my Suite award. Staff is friendly and courteous but it really is only geared for Young Couples or Trendy jet setters . The biggest thing we noticed was the Night Club and the big bouncer saying clearly that we were not welcome. Although we had NO intention to try and get into the Night Club with Kids!! we just did not feel that the abrupt rudeness was called for inside the hotel premises. No doubt W makes a lot of Revenue on these Club and Bars as it does in Leicester Square but this should be made clear to people before arrival. Breakfast was ok, but nothing special and the we also noticed that much of the Pool area was covered by the shade. A small pool but still durable. The local area is non existent and do not try and go for a walk as there is no pavement to walk on as there is construction everywhere. All in all I do not think it was great but the cool room and upgrade made up for most of it.....

Room Tip: Corner Suite or Wow Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello cornelia007,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review W Doha Hotel & Residences. I was glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, but disappointed to hear that you did not feel welcome as a family because of the hotel's popular night scene. We do our best to give our guests a warm, welcoming and vibrant feel throughout the hotel, thus it was a shame to hear your did not enjoy the atmosphere. Your comments, however, do provide us with some great feedback and we will re-look at how we manage that.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha.

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    233
    65
    15
    13
See reviews for
82
180
115
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were here for 3 nights. As a SPG platinum we were given a 1200 SF suite that was very nice. The breakfast was free for SPG without choosing it as your amenity. It was a large buffet and was very good.

The design of the W Doha is like all of the new build W hotels. Very clean, chic, with an emphasis on local design and a little busy.

The lounge and club in the W are the hottest places in Doha. It was quite busy both nights we went.

Insist the taxi drivers use the meters. They will try not to but if you press they will.

The Islamic History Museum is a must visit even if not interested in anything other than the amazing architecture of the building.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello Muntz73,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of W Doha! We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as our SPG Platinum guest!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Messrs W Doha,

I have always been a great fan of most restaurants in this hotel ,notably the Market by Jean Georges for it's wonderful food ,superb service and awesome Team extending the bedtime and warmest service you ever wish to have ...then ,with the arrival of Chef Monica at La Spiga by papermoonmilano ,things started to be bright ...thud is becoming a great place too ....her arrival made all the difference in the world ,that you feel and taste in her creations and dishes ...thumbs up !
Never to forget the W Cafe with its unparalleled service ,care and genuine attention extended by Ingrid and her lovely Team being Katherine ,Elvin and Michael.....great ambassadors to the place and to the W Hotel too ....
Having stayed at the hotel on various occasions, I had the chance to sample the property from a different angle ...
Check in was always like a breeeeeeeeze ,with warm service extended from the Heart of Guram ( the Great ) ,Wonderful Ali and Ioanna ....!!!!! Great people to meet your customers at check in ...could never be better !!!

The rooms are superb,well appointed ,except that I felt personally that the flow of water from the shower was not under high pressure as wished ..in all rooms ...

When it comes to Health Facilities ,Guys you need to get some things sorted out in order not to jeopardize the whole fantastic WOW experience ...where on Earth is the W s health club?????!!!!!....a gym under expansion work ,that s fine ...acceptable ....a lovely outdoor pool ..great ....where is your splash area ??!!!!.....you rely on bliss spa to provide it ????.....not the best idea in my humble opinion....
At various occasions ,to access that area you need to submit your request to the spa to let you in ,to discover either the sauna or the steam are out of order and the place is not supervised ...attendants only arrive at 4pm!!!!!!....is this a W standard?!!!!!.....never ....
Ystdy tbd sauna was smelling like burning oil ...very unpleasant ....no wonder the area is almost always deserted ..ppl have realized this us not thx best splash area in Doha ,...disappointed !!!!...

Room Tip: All rooms are great ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello Karim H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review W Doha, we were very pleased to hear that the W Cafe team, Chef Monica Ali, Ioana and Guram could make your stay here worthwhile! I was however disappointed to hear that Bliss did not meet your expectations. I would like to thank for your feedback, and assure you that we will work on them to make your experience better the next time you stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your review, and hope to welcome you back to W Doha!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

You cant expect nothing better.Good location,wonderfull rooms,the receptionists Maya and Ali and insider Iona are the best.if u go to Doha and not stay in this hotel u will regret.
The restaurants and lounges are amazing. Wahm lpinge,crystal.Beautiful people always a joy in the lobby

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello Cainha13,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of W Doha! Maya, Ali, Ioana and the rest of us here at the W were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could exceed your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for work.

The hotel is really a party venue, with a lot of non guests coming for the various bars and restaurants here. Some of the people I saw coming into the hotel were pretty interesting-looking, but I suppose if they go about their business quietly, who cares.

Had a great room- the look won't be to everyone's taste, but the accommodations are certainly very comfortable, spacious and plush. I get the feeling that the fittings and fixtures might not age very well, though- assume like the rest of Doha, the hotel was built using iffy-quality imported labour, and if you look closely, the finish on certain things like tiles and taps isn't very good.

The gym is tiny, like all hotel gyms.

The ground floor breakfast buffet was alright- also had an ok pizza in the same restaurant in the evening.

There's a hilarious coffee shop, also on the ground floor, which is filled with candy and cakes and lollipops.

Having said the hotel is primarily a party venue, the business centre was actually quite helpful and well equipped. Wifi in the room cost me (I think I remember right) about US$95 for 72 hours access for 3 devices, which was less helpful...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello EuroLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review W Doha Hotel & Residences. I was glad to hear that you generally enjoyed your experience with us, but disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations at all levels. With regards to your comment about the our night venues, the hotel does have a very successful nightlife, however we do try to minimize that impact on our guests. I would like to inform your that we have also just opened our new, improved and larger gym.

We would like to thank you for your feedback, and hope to welcome you back again to W Doha to give you the full WOW experience that we pride ourselves upon.

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very nice stay! Amazing rooms (king bed, modern bathroom), spa,restaurants. I can easily compare this to the best I have been too (ritz Moscow for example). One plus for W doha is the service. Really great tips and friendly behaviors.
My only feedback: wifi should be free everywhere. This is a must for every guest ! A nice to have in the future: jacuzzi

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello Hussein D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of W Doha! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and consider W Doha as one of the best hotels that you have stayed at. With regards to your feedback about the Wifi, I will make sure to communicate it with our team.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time and hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Having recently visited Qatar on business, this city offer world-class hospitality standards. We stayed at the W Hotel which exceeded every expectation in every corner of the offering. The Spice Market - fabulous lively atmosphere with faultless service - well done Ryan! La Spiga Paper Moon offers the most welcoming and comfortable interior décor apart from delicious Italian cuisine..... best in Doha!
This hotel can compare to any luxury five star hotel internationally and in fact excels in every field : accommodation / cuisine / service / attitude and many other aspects.
A true worthwhile leisure holiday option for the future, without any doubt - this can be highly recommended as they will also arrange wonderful desert safari's and tourism cultural excursions to suit your need - nothing is every a problem to them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello Jenni B,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of W Doha! We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us from all aspects!

We would love to welcome you back again in the near future for another fantastic W Doha experience!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Doha Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Doha Hotel & Residences

Address: West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#1 Business Hotel in Doha
#2 Spa Hotel in Doha
#8 Family Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Doha Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Doha Hotel & Residences is located in the prime West Bay area of Doha's city-centre. The multi-story structure of the building reveals panoramic views of the Arabian Gulf. W Doha brings a new flavor to the region as the first lifestyle design hotel in Doha. The hotel sets the standard for modern luxury accommodation in the city, offering residents all the benefits and amenities that come with being connected to a W. The design of W Doha is modern and contemporary with an infusion of the design elements indigenous to the region, including lighting, colors, and social areas. All rooms have IP telephones and digital safe boxes with laptop charging facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your W Doha Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Doha Hotel And Residences
w Hotels Doha
w Hotel Doha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Doha Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.