We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy and overall nice hotel, but some things need to be improved...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Doha Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Doha Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
W Doha Hotel & Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 119 Hotels in Doha
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fancy and overall nice hotel, but some things need to be improved...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

It's very nice concept hotel, a lot of good restaurants and bars.It has been considered a Doha "place to be" since it's opening, plus with Pearl island being dry now that leaves even less options for expats and visitors to have some quality time in Doha- makes W even more attractive spot i guess.
Me and group of friends tried Wahm for a farewell party and it was not particular welcoming, they kept pushing 2000 QAR (or 5000 QAR) minimum spending for bottles thing, and am pretty sure me and our big crowd spent twice as much at the end but the way we were approached by not very professional staff was a bit annoying and insulting. Lack of flexibility and empowerment was obvious to us. Then our order got completely messed up, we got 2 steak baguetts instead of 4 initially ordered and it took another hour to get the rest of order. Just to mention we were kicked out to the new area behind the building with no heaters and it was a pretty chilly night. We had two girls in the party in short sleeves dresses that got cold the next day. Very poor service for a 5 star hotel lounge I should admit. I don't think me and my friends will be back to the place, pity as it used to be much better before.
Hotel room is of nice design, beautiful bathroom, nice room amenities including Nespresso machine was a big plus. Requested a tooth brush- arrived within 3 minutes, bravo!
The minus- surprisingly uncomfortable bed, I tried to find a "golden middle" and failed.. if you have a problem with your back - consider another hotel . Mattress felt not even and not very supportive, in the morning felt far from being rested.Plus could not close the curtains till the end so some light from the window was also a bothering factor.
Breakfast in Market restaurant was great! Did not notice if there was an egg/omlet station, but may be it was done on request. Overall variety is fantastic, pastries are excellently baked, salmon is delicious, very good atmosphere and pleasant back ground music. Well,jar coffee could be better, but it's pretty bad in all the hotels, I guess it gets brewed well ahead breakfast starts so can't really taste great when you arrive at 8 am.
Just last thing- sushi are definitely the best in the city here.My favorite outlets are Spice Market and Market restaurant on the lobby level. Great food and service! Hopefully it will stay that way!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    211
    60
    15
    13
See reviews for
72
159
107
563
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Most outstanding hotel in the hub of Doha. Great rooms with view/facilities and personal room service and cleaning - just great! Modern, clean and clearly destined to be a favourite with visitors to this lovely part of the ME! Close to main shopping mall of the city which is good as anywhere in the world with very courteous people wherever you go!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the port/West Bay lagoon...what a view! The higher the floor the better the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDoha, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hello Sussex_boy_123,

Thank you for the outstanding review, we certainly appreciated the vote of confidence and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

The W Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ad Dawha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have been to Doha like 5 month ago and I recommend crystal as the best club in doha due to services and quality of people and hospitality. Music is variant in every night always playing the best hits. And you can feel the difference in management between all other clubs due to the proffessionality of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDoha, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hello Bassel E,

Thank you for the great review on Crystal Lounge, we were delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting and the team take care of you.

Make sure you keep an eye on our facebook page as it has all the latest happening's in the hotel.

See you soon.

The W Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

I have no comment about W Hotel. Its simply amazing. From the moment when you come in untill you check out, you will be completely satisfied with everything there. There is international staff, very nice people and the guests are proms, like Antonio Banderas, many sportist etc.Everything is perfect and thats why the hotel is one of the top hotels in Doha and the prices are high. The restoran Spice market is amazing. The supervisor of the restaurant -Mimi is the best you can meet . The club is great, super quality music, and the other bar on the top of the roof is also a great place to have some drink and have fun with top djs. Dont miss this hotel if you go to visit Doha. AMAZING

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDoha, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hello Miss-JellenaZikic,

Thank you for the review, we were delighted to hear that you have found your perfect place in Doha to hang out.

Please let us know when you will be visiting again.

All the best,

The W Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

W was for sure ver nice..there s this cool loungy mood to the W concept all over the world, however am not sure how Cool a hotel should look like,
the lobby, enterance, interior design looks really nice,a bit dim and dark if you ask me,and not inviting and it s full of staff, different positions all wearing black looking smart , 5 star, but eventually you end up carrying your own bag up to your room!
nevertheless very friendly, we kept the room until 16:00 the day of the check out which was very convenient.
room itself is nicely done, bathroom products , BLISS, very good. Coffee machine in the room..so no complains.
restaurant also was fantastic, nice and lively ..some excellent outlet, coffee shop you can find..
so over all, a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDoha, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hello carlaDubai,

Thank you for the review, we were pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us.

I have to apologise for the incident with your luggage, we certainly don't expect our guests to carry their own bags.

In regards to the lighting, there is two very distinct feels to the hotel. During the day the hotel feels alot more open and light, however in the evening we do like to turn the lights down, so I am sorry it was not to your taste.

Thanks again for the review, please let us know when you will next be visiting the hotel.

All the best,

The W Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for business use from Monday to Monday with my better half visiting at the weekend. The staff particularly were tremendous. My needs were met immediately and when I was away at work my my better half was made to feel at home. Everything from car usage to dinner bookings were executed perfectly. I practically live in hotels with my work and this hotel really was one of the best because its staff excelled its already strong reputation and facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDoha, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hello Alexander L,

Thank you for the review, we were delighted to hear that yourself and your better half enjoyed your time with us.

The team certainly appreciated your comments concerning the service.

Thanks again and please let us know when you will be visiting us again.

All the best,

The W Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We used Qatar as a 1 night stopover between Europe and Asia. W is not the nearest to the airport, but as nothing is really more than 15mins away that doesn't matter. Don't arrange an airport pickup, at 150 Riyal it's excessive, a taxi is only 45. Same applies when you leave, no taxi's pass by but there is a huge taxi rank at the huge City Centre shopping mall a few mins walk away - if you want to save the money, you can.

The reason we picked W is it appeared to be a mix of modern styled, spacious rooms with good dining and a bit of nightlife and that's pretty much what it delivers. It's a clean, modern, vibrant hotel with a younger 'in crowd' vibe. We had been concerned that it might be style over substance but overall we don't feel this was the case and would certainly stay at a W hotel again.

The 89 Riyal 3 course lunch deal in Maison du Cavier was excellent and great value for money, it's not often that we're impressed with set menus but this was great, matched by very good service.
Some comments have noted the music volume from Crystal lounge. In the lobby it is loud but we were on the 5th floor and I don't recall hearing it.

The only real problem we had with this hotel was we felt the room rate was too high.

A couple of other tips/points:
- The City Centre shopping mall is a few mins walk away which has a great range of shops but also an ice rink - quite fun to do in the desert.
- For any fellow sports fans who want to have a beer in front of the footy, the Champions bar in the Marriott is good spot. For early kick off premiership matches it opens early (it has an exemption to serve before the 5pm law). It's just the other side of the right hand end (food court end) of the shopping mall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDoha, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hello Club_Street,

Thanks for the review, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the hotel.

Please let us know when you'll be back.

All the best,

The W Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Doha Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Doha Hotel & Residences

Address: West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#1 Business Hotel in Doha
#2 Spa Hotel in Doha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#11 Family Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Doha Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Doha Hotel & Residences is located in the prime West Bay area of Doha's city-centre. The multi-story structure of the building reveals panoramic views of the Arabian Gulf. W Doha brings a new flavor to the region as the first lifestyle design hotel in Doha. The hotel sets the standard for modern luxury accommodation in the city, offering residents all the benefits and amenities that come with being connected to a W. The design of W Doha is modern and contemporary with an infusion of the design elements indigenous to the region, including lighting, colors, and social areas. All rooms have IP telephones and digital safe boxes with laptop charging facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Doha Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Doha Hotel And Residences
w Hotels Doha
w Hotel Doha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Doha Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.