We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went back 3 times!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kargeen Caffe

Kargeen Caffe
Al Bashair Street | Madinat Qaboos, 118, Oman
+968 9925 3351
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An elegant ambience with ethnic interiors, serving delectable home made cuisine; take you back in to living in vintage Omani culture. Choose a whole new experience of a beautiful candle light dinner on the lawns, accompanied by myriad stars or a cozy meal under the canopies.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We went back 3 times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great atmosphere and some pretty delicious Zataar bread. Sitting outside in the warmth, a delicious Banana Colada and Lemon Mint drink. Delightful and highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    131
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pretoria
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great ambience, great patio setting but food is hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The setting is as lovely as others describe. The menu is extensive ranging from Indian to middle eastern food. However the quality of the food isn't consistent across the menu. The shuwas (meat dishes) were lovely but my fish breyani was poor. Fish was overlooked and it was served with flavoured water (yes!) in a separate bowl - was called the gravy! Even accommodating the fact that it wasn't an authentic breyani, it could have been a much tastier rice and fish dish. We will go again but will stick to the grilled meat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Ambiance Ambiance Ambiance!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

While waiting for our order in Starbucks, I chanced to asked d Barista where can my friend have dinner? and he pointed out this nearby place.

Upon entering d Garden, was so fascinated w/ d place & since it was a great evening, we opted to stay outdoor than indoor.

Food was great, but service a little slow maybe because the place is really packed!

Should I go back to Oman, would still visit this fantastic restaurant!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing food.....but nice surroundings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visiting Muscat for 2 days & wanted to try local Omani food; chose this cafe from other reviews. Met by an unenthusiastic waitress (cafe not even busy) & shown to a table in the gorgeous outdoor garden; the surroundings were the only highlight. The waitress without emotion just handed the menu, when asked questions she seemed vague, for example wasn't sure what was available and what was not. Chose the Omani shuwa and a chicken mandi; both very small portion of meat on the bone sitting on a bowl full of rice. Asked for some bread to accompany the food and was charged extra, all Arabic restaurants normally continually provide as part of the meal. The food was so uninspiring we left disappointed (& hungry!), not wanting to risk trying anything else. Not recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“kargeen at Madinat Sultan Qaboos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This restaurant has an Arabic ambience with the choice of sitting inside or out under the trees with twinkling lights - very romantic atmosphere! We had the most delicious fish and salad, and although not licensed, had scrumptious fresh jiuce drinks - lemon and mint! delightful, friendly staff - which is what we find everywhere here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kargeen Caffe also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Kargeen Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kargeen Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.