We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birkat Al Mauz: A ghost town in your way to the Green Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jebel Akhdar

Jebel Akhdar
Oman
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$157*
and up
Private 4x4 Safari - The Green Mountain
Ranked #52 of 97 Attractions in Oman
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
542 reviews 542 reviews
276 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
“Birkat Al Mauz: A ghost town in your way to the Green Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Right on the road from Muscat to Nizwa, make a small detour and you will find the beautiful village of Birkat Al Mauz - a real ghost town, that was abandoned in 1959, right after the Jebel Akhdar campaign. The local population was later on moved to a modern village, built on the East side of the mountains. Located at the botton of the Jebel Akhdar, at only 30 minutes from Nizwa, Birkat Al Mauz is an oasis, home to many birds, dense date and banana plantations. The village is quite impressive and will help you in understanding how was life in Oman at ancient times. Be careful while exploring the village, since the old and abandoned buildings are very unstable. Enjoy the remains of door frames, old paintings and other itens forgotten in and on the abandoned buildings. And finally, don't miss stolling along the old Al Sharieh Falaj - "Falajs" are the water channels rooted to the history of Oman and considered World Heritage by Unesco - which still runs through the village. After Birkat Al Mauz continue climbing the" Green Mountains" or Jebel Akhdar (that are not "green" indeed), enjoying the incredible views and the terraced farms, growing peaches, grapes, pomegranates and roses ... A 4x4 vehicle is a must. Enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome,Scenic....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to Jebel Akhdar,October,during Eid Al Adha holiday...So all resorts are booked...we decided to camp...from Muscat PDO it took us around 31/2 hrs...A 4WD is essential.,without it you are not allowed to cross the check post..there is so much to see in Jebel Akhder ,you need atleast two days ..first day we visit Sayq,Wadi bani Habib,...it's so beautiful,great view,,,lots of pomegranate...we spent more than 2 hours exploring the place,enjoying vews..while returning back from the Wadi ,it started to rain...still we decided to continue ..but all of a sudden it started to rain heavily..we had to stop ..temperature lower down to 11....first time in my life i was so close to nature..surrounded by mountains,havy rain,strong wind blowing through mountains ,apart from 1 or 2 cars passing by no one to see..wow!.it's entirely different feelings...i loved it...next day we trek Al Ain,Al Shareija,Al Aqar...Jebel Akhder trip was awesome....we walk through villages,explore winding ancient pathways...we viewd incrediable terraced cultivations,caves,...will visit again ,yet lot to explore.....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Nice pomegranate farms, good trek!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

You need a 4x4 to go to Jebel Akdhar. There is a checkpost where cops will only allow you to proceed if you have one. AWD are not usually allowed, but I saw a CRV up there.
You need 2 to 2.5 hours to reach there from Muscat. The weather up there was 25 during the day, compared to about 37 in muscat. There are a lot of camping shelters with small play areas, and shelter which make camping more convenient but in some ways take away the fun of camping in the dark, making a bonfire etc. You will stillfind a lot of camping areas that suit you.

We went on the trek W18b, map available at http://www.omantourism.gov.om/wps/wcm/connect/ac5623804470a00db4dabfbf0c53e49e/trekking+routs3.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CONVERT_TO=ur
Started the trek at about 8AM. The trek passes through a wadi after which you have to turn right at a house, there the trekking flag marks are not available, mostly due to the new buildings constructed. At about 3/4t of the trek you have to walk upward on a tar road. Little further one of the trek marks are in a defence area, which you dont need to enter as except this one mark, all others are outside this restricted area.
Finished the one way trek by 10AM as we had parked one of our cars at the end of the trekking route.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Great view, but take the time to explore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We made the mistake of just squeezing Jebel Akhdar into our itinerary and ended up not enjoying it as much because we didn't have time to get out of the car and explore the valleys. We were a bit surprised that it was all brown and rocky - from the name (green mountain) we were expecting lush vegetation but it is Oman I suppose. Staying on the road from Birkat Al Mawz is ok but not very interesting. I'm sure there are great walking and 4WD tracks around so make sure you allow enough time to appreciate this place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“4WD Essential”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I live in Oman and have been up Jebel Akhdar on a good number of occasions - it is 10+ centigrade cooler than Muscat and a good place to escape the powerful Omani summer. The mountain consists of a substantial high plateau (100s of square km) at about 2000m, with a series of peaks surrounding it rising to about 2800m and numerous spectacular wadis. It's worth spending at least a day up exploring the plateau; if you want 5* hotels your only option is the Golden Tulip Nizwa and driving up the mountain from there (2 hours from that hotel up to the plateau). I don't see any worthwhile day trip to Jebel Akhdar from Muscat because it's 2 hours from Muscat to the base of the climb up the mountain, and hour to the top and night driving is not a great option in Oman in general outside a few big towns (or even in them...).

The hotels up the mountain are OK but nothing exceptional, and camping is a very safe option as long as you are sensible. There's very little by way of western creature comforts up the mountain so stock up in the Lulu hypermarket in Nizwa before making the climb if you need to take those with you... remember you are at 8000ft up a mountain not far from the euqator so make sure a hat and / or sunblock is on the list. Omanis however assure me it does snow up there once every five or so years!!

A 4WD is not optional - the guys at the security services checkpoint before the main climb won't let you up without one! The drive should not however be dramatised - the main route up the mountain is of extremely high quality and you could drive up it in almost anything bigger than a 2CV; however many of the roads going down into the wadis from the plateau or up to the various peaks climbing off of it are fairly hair raising and even if you could you would be be foolish to think about driving them in a saloon. However if you have a strange desire to risk your life or invalidate your hire car insurance you can go and do this in a large number of other places in Oman - there are no such vehicle checks anywhere else.

Hire a 4WD if you aren't lucky enough to live here, buy a copy of the Oman Off Road Explorer (it has a detailed map of the routes on top of the mountain), get a GPS which allows you to input coordinates, and you won't look back - this is the best way to appreciate this spectacular area.
Al-Hoota caves, Nizwa and Al-Hamra are in the immediate vicinity and all worth visiting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jebel Akhdar also viewed

Oman, Middle East
Nizwa, Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate
 
Nizwa, Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate
Oman, Middle East
 

Been to Jebel Akhdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jebel Akhdar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.