We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Good Hamra location, great value, excellent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cavalier Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavalier Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abdel Baki Street | Hamra, Beirut 9452, Lebanon   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 115 hotels in Beirut
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good Hamra location, great value, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

At the eastern end of Hamra, this hotel's location is terrific for that area, while still serviceable for walking to/from the fancier sections of the downtown and port districts. I didn't want to spend all my time in high-end American shopping modeled (literally) after Beverly Hills, but if that's your thing, you'd be better off spending a lot more money to stay downtown.

Lufthansa's connecting flight arrives in Beirut at 3:30 in the morning, so I really appreciated the hotel's advance willingness to commit to an extraordinarily early check-in.

The room itself was solidly nice. I especially liked the full-window automatic blind, which blocked both light and some sound at the touch of a button so I could sleep in peace.

As for the Internet access, it was reliable and speedy, although my experience didn't match up with Savingtheworld's; I could only log onto either my computer, iphone, or ipad but not two at a time. Wasn't really a problem. Free and good in-room Internet was very important to me, since AT&T's international data plan doesn't apply in Lebanon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    86
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
49
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After I made my reservation 1wk ahead, confirmed the reservation 24hrs before arrival, upon arrival I was told that my reservation is cancelled and they have changed it to "35ROOMs hotel" !... I can not imagine how stupid is this this thinking and treatment, I think it is just mean way to send customers to 35 rooms hotel, which is far below and for the same price, I would not recommend it at all to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights, the location is off the main street but a decent area and waking distance to all the good stuff. The rooms are good enough but nothing special, the breakfast is the same. Internet is great in that you can get as many log-ons as you need (ie not restricted to one device). The staff are friendly enough and speak English well. The elevators are the old school small European type, there are no real views from the rooms. As always in Lebanon negotiate everything outside the hotel and don't expect the staff at the hotel to assist you in negotiating, you are a tourist regardless of what you think.

I found that I could stay in a much higher class hotel down the street for the same price so I moved out eventually. Nothing against this hotel, just wanted a little more specious room with a nicer view environment as I was going to be there a while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I recently visited while on holiday in Lebanon. The Cavalier was a decent price and they very kindly upgraded us to a suite (and left some wine and cake in our room), which was kind of them, but the hotel is almost entirely devoid of character.

There was a wide range of options at breakfast but trying to work out what worked together was a slightly baffling experience (at least for those of us who aren't on the ball first thing in the morning). Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, including the early hours of the morning.

It is in a great location for the sights of West Beirut and you never struggle to get a service taxi back because all drivers know they can get fares from Hamraa, so I would probably stay again, but would rather stay somewhere with more character.

Room Tip: We told them (honestly) that we were on holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary and they very k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel location is good, very near to Hamra street, where a lot of cafes, pubs, restaurants.
Rooms a big & clean.
Breakfast is open buffet with a nice variety of everything.
Very helpful staff, free internet wifi, you have to change password daily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ideal location at one end of Hamra. Loads of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel arranged a car to pick us up from the airport which was very handy. Breakfast was included and was very good. I would definitely use again.

Room Tip: The hotel lists Wi Fi as an extra cost, but I think they will throw it in for free if you ask. (We f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Cavalier is gradually being renovated and I was upgraded to a deluxe room for my ten day stay. The room was spacious with all the amenities you would expect. The bathroom was spacious, with a walk in shower and plenty of bench space by the washbasin. It was easy to do laundry and hang it in the shower to dry. The bathroom even had a bidet. There was a large automatic blind which went up and down at the touch of a button to hide the abandoned building opposite. There was a balcony with two chairs but the view was not inviting. The breakfast buffet was huge and there was free computer use for guests. The staff were extremely helpful with directions and suggestions. The location was excellent just two doors down from bustling Hamra St and I rarely heard any noise, except for a drunken argument outside a bar opposite the hotel on my last night. You can't blame the hotel for this. They are gradually renovating the rooms floor by floor. I was on the third floor. When they finish renovating the public areas, this well - located hotel will be restored to its former glory. An added bonus is because it is a Beirut landmark, every taxi driver knows where it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet newly-renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Address: Abdel Baki Street | Hamra, Beirut 9452, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalier Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavalier Hotel , is a 4 star Hotel located in Hamra Street,the heart of Beirut,where travelers can enjoy a variety of shopping places,restaurants,pubs till late night and get back to a newly furnished rooms with high standards of comfort and facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.