We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Expensive but ok in a pinch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Private Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beirut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Private Hotel
Save
You added The Private Hotel to your Saves list
Salah Labaki Street | Achrafieh Akkawi, Beirut 7408, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expensive but ok in a pinch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We ended up here after not reserving a budget room in Beirut in high season. We stayed in a junior suite (there were 3 of us) with airconn. I think it was around $140.00. The wi-fi was broken, and any extras (water, soda) are very expensive. The front desk was very helpful however and the hotel was clean enough. Location is great as it's a 5 min walk to Gemmayze St. and this is the hotel's finest attribute. Tel:961-1-567890
If you want to be near Gemmayze it's not too bad, otherwise stay at the seaside furnished flats.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
1
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Disregard anything positive about this hotel. The only reason why you would stay here if you can not afford anything better. I filled out their online booking and stated I am coming at 1am 31st night. This means I will be staying on the night that turns from 30th to 31st. The receptionist who could barely speak English told me they though I was going to come the next day. Then asked me for an advanced payment. The first night I stayed in a room with molds in it. The next day they put me in a room where there was no mold, but when you sat on the toilet your feet had to be in the shower. I told this to the manager/owner and he told me the architect who build this building made a mistake in designing the building. The rooms were also dirty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ld
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

we arrived late at night so by the time we realized were we r it was too late. the room hasn;t been cleaned since the civil war, the walls were falling apart, AC wasn;t working, all smelly, dust 2cm under bed, bathroom has 2sqm AND ALL DIRTY AND disgusting.
the so called balcony with amazing view had 2 broken old plastic chairs.. really i;ve never seen sth like this. i donlt know how people could stay there even for a day. i wasn;t expecting luxury but for 66 USD per nigth i was expecting a clean simple place where we can stay, it was not the case.we left early in the morning.just stay away!! don;t tempt faith!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

its a very old hotel . very dirty rooms. no hot water in the bathrooms. the staff generally its not friendly. after 22.00pm they lock down the main entrance with the excuse for extra safety. its a big problem to enter the hotel after 22.00 bcz usually the guy is sleeping behind the desk and you have to knock the door several times until he opens you. much better hotels in Hamra street.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Good location for Shopping and Restaurants. It is within walking distance from the ABC mall in Achrafieh.
Stayed there for two nights last week of February. The staff were friendly and helpfull. Beirut was cold and the rooms seemed colder, had to change rooms for the second night and the hot water was luke warm. Might be better during the summer months.
It has seen better days and is long due for a makeover.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

The Private Hotel is great for the price. I was first booked at another hotel and decided to leave because it was dirty. I was fortunate enough to get in at the Private Hotel for the same price. And the room was so much better! Plenty of room and a fridge. The hotel was also very quiet at night. The staff are wonderful and kind. The location is perfect for sightseeing, places to eat and even has phone booths nearby where you can put in phone cards. I was a married woman traveling alone and always felt safe in the hotel and it's surrounding location. I have to mention that Lebanon is very safe!
Thank you again to the Private Hotel. Sincerely Nicole Stein from Canada

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

stayed in hotel private for 2 weeks in aug of this year the staff and hotel are great we had a family room with 2 rooms sleeping 4 it was that good we are going back in oct for another 2 weeks its not a new hotel as i stayed there once before in 1998 and not changed since then but its clean and well taken care of and close to everything so what more can you ask we booked with visionholidays and they to was exellent id recomened to you all this hotel it is basic but one of the best in icmeler

  • Liked — the hotel has family rooms
  • Disliked — phone didnt ring outside line
  • Tips/Secrets — get a family room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Private Hotel

Address: Salah Labaki Street | Achrafieh Akkawi, Beirut 7408, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Private Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.