We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“clean hotel, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamra Street | Hamra, Beirut, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 113 hotels in Beirut
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“clean hotel, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in March. Booking for 1 night very spontaneous, 82$ (weekend!). Reception was very nice and friendly. Upgrade to Executive Suite. very spacious and clean. breakfast was included but I preferred to sleep out.
Location is great, just off Hamra Street.
Second night was booked on the spot for same price, but was normal room. Was still ok in size. Everyone who complains about it being noisy: YOU ARE IN HAMRA DISTRICT. This is noisy. Lebanese car drivers like to horn. And yes, if you book a taxi via the hotel it's gonna be somewhat more expensive, as this is also a private company (and those drivers tend to drive more European, if you prefer that) but do you expect anything else in another country without metered fare? (First time I went to Beirut being a greenhorn I paid 40USD from airport to Hamra. Double of what would be a fair price.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
5
21
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arrived having booked on hotels.com and behold the room I'd reserved was unavailable. I was told it was on a floor that they were "spraying for bugs" and they didn't want me to "stay there and feel dizzy." Ruh oh. They offered me a smoking room (I don't smoke) with an espresso machine or a funny smelling larger room with three tiny beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotels is at the end of Hamra Street. This street has a lot of stores, places to eat but is also extremely busy with taxis and a lot of people.
The front desk employees were really nice and helpful when I asked for questions.
Free wifi.

I stayed for 9 nights and the room didn't got clean very much. The folded the bed cover, changed towels and took out the trash. They didn't clean much. The lobby always smell like smoke because of the restaurant on that floor.

Room Tip: My room was looking at the side to another building. I hope they don't give you the room that lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The price was excellent & location was great. I stayed a night at the beginning & 1 night at the end of my vacation. Both times, I was on the street side on the 6th floor & it was very noisy, but the bed was extremely comfortable. The windows didn't lock in my room the second night. Reception was very helpful. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend to other travellers if you can sleep through traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for the Deluxe room (it has a coffee maker & expresso machine)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Avoid staying here. Bad location deep in the heart of grid lock traffic and poor internal standards.
The reviews warned that Hamra St was noisy so I requested a quiet room - however I was still given the noisest possible room at the very front of the building on the second floor directly in front of the Hotel sign.
I could hear the guy BREATHING in the next room - he wasn't even snoring (at that point).
I requested non-smoking. Woken to the waft of cigarette smoke from under the adjoining door to mine from smokers in that room at 3am on successive nights. That was after plugging in the ear plugs because of the hotel's fan that started and never stopped in the ceiling (separate to the a/c unit) on the third night.
Requested a step-in shower which was offered when booking - but given a shower over a deep bath.
The towels were dirty (looked like dried blood), the better ones were just ragged. The housekeeping staff would come through taking the towels and then hours later replace them. Why not do it all at once? The towel rail was broken.
Given a room service breakfast menu the first night which was never to be seen again.
Booking online offered an airport pickup for US$25, which was already a ludicrous amount of money. On checkout they had upped it to an even more ripoff $30.
They seemed to have some deal going with the same unpleasant taxi driver out the front for rip off taxi prices.
The hall on the second floor reeked of paint - that'd be because there was a guy painting it slowly over three days with his gear to be navigated past.
Don't know how this has been rated 4 stars. It would have been more than worth the money to stay somewhere else in one of the other areas of Beirut at double the price.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 203 or 202 - insanely noisy facing the front onto Hamra St and have aircondition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Reception was very helpful with good recommendations for restaurants such as Barbar. In contrast the restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel was very smoky and the food only adequate.

My room was spacious and clean, with sliding doors opening on to the small balcony overlooking the street. The doors did not lock, but I lost nothing so the room was secure enough, I guess.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: Hamra Street | Hamra, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Beirut
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.