We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Please do something about the breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa D'or Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa D'or Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa D'or Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jeanne D'arc Street, Beirut 113-5151, Lebanon   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free upgrade
Ranked #26 of 115 hotels in Beirut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Please do something about the breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

No complaints about the hotel, room, service... everything's perfect.

But please do something about the breakfast. It's not a place that I would prefer to start my day with. Staff are so dull out there. Apparently they forgot to smile since ages. Their faces are as cold as the food. There's no hot food available except the toasts... and hot water ofcourse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    84
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
56
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is not fancy, but safe, comfortable, and an excellent continental breakfast. In the middle of Hamra, it is convenient to many things. Rooms are adequate with a small kitchenette, desk, and bath. A safe is provided in each room. The front desk staff are alert and helpful. Internet available for a nominal fee. Laundry services available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been staying at the Casa d'Or for the past several years, and continue to return there, knowing that it is a comfortable hotel in a convenient location in downtown Beirut. Rooms are quite modern and comfortable, breakfast is a wide-ranging buffet, and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the Casa D'or for 10 days while I was looking for an apartment in Beirut. The staff were very friendly and gave me a map and took the time to explain all the different areas of the city for me, to help my house-hunt.

The room was very comfortable, with en-suite and small kitchenette. I never really used the kitchenette and found it was a little dark and damp in general. There were no utensils/cutlery but I'm sure if I asked they would have been provided. I stayed on the second floor and found it was a little dark in general. If you're staying here try to get a higher room. The location is great, Hamra is a very vibrant place and great tourist feast in terms of the lights, colours, noises etc. This hotel's building/decoration is very solid/nice in comparison to other hotels in Hamra and it stands out particularly as an older/elegant interior in amongst the heavily urbanised or new trendy outlets in Hamra.

I would recommend this to anyone who can stomach launching out onto a very busy road from a seemingly tranquil place... personally I like to feel some sort of transition from 'tranquil' to 'almost chaos', but I've found that's the essence and beauty of Beirut!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more sunlight and less street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel and nice people
I was there for the third time
It is keeps the same quality and friendly
Hope everything would be stable now on Lebanon so torism comes back as usual
Also if you can put some complementary water on the room would be very good specially that some times arriving late at the hotel would not help gust to get needed water

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Casa D'or for four days in March and had a wonderful stay.

Location:
Fantastic location. The Casa D'or is in the middle of everything. My family and I especially loved to walk down the hill to Bliss St. to eat and people watch. The Casa D'or is close to restaurants, shops, money exchangers. Easy to hail a taxi from in front of the hotel. Very accessible location.

Service:
Service was wonderful. The staff friendly, attentive, and helpful.

The room: We requested a family style room (We traveled with two young children) and the room met our needs perfectly. Often time when we travel as a family and stay in a traditional hotel room, we often feel as if we are on top of one another. With the Casa D'or Family style room, our children had plenty of room and my wife and I felt like we had plenty of room. The room was clean and the bed was big and comfortable. The room faced the street, therefore we had to contend with some street noise from time to time (Honking car horns at night or during traffic), but overall, the noise was not that bed.

Food:
My only complaint was the breakfast. Although the variety of food was not bad, the quality could have been better. At night, there is a nice cosy bar/lounge area with a variety of beverages and snacks.

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Casa D'or and we would stay there again. We have recommended to many people who were traveling to Beirut.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Clean, comfortable, all staff very helpful and professional, great breakfast, good dining, excellent location. Everything that is supposed to work - works and works well. Very accomodating. Easy stay! Would live there if I could afford it!

Room Tip: Both single and double rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa D'or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa D'or Hotel

Address: Jeanne D'arc Street, Beirut 113-5151, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Beirut
#27 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa D'or Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly European style hotel located on Hamra Street right in the middle of Ras Beirut Area, convenient for business travellers and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Casa D'or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa d Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa D'or Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.