We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Food without taste or flavour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prune French Bistro

Prune French Bistro
Mar Mkhael, Beirut, Lebanon, Beirut 1104, Lebanon
+(961)1 569939
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 505 Restaurants in Beirut
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food without taste or flavour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Busy pace with charming deco and nice atmosphere, however the cuisine, another futile attempt to imitate Couqley and join the band wagon of the growing brasseries in town. I had moles, fresh crab salad and steak and despite the good quality it lacked taste and flavour. The crab salad didn't taste like anything and the sauce was basic lime and the moules were plain and so was the steak. An obvious sign there wasn't real ownership of the food. My impression is that it's another failure of a growing number of Lebanese restaurants trying to take outsmart the business by bringing salaried Chefs instead of giving them a stake in the business.

I wouldn't go there again because for the price it failed my expectations and could have done a better job cooking at home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A nice french restaurant located in the trendy area of Mar Michael where you can enjoy the food, the ambiance and above all this a unique selection of refined wine and desert. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice venue but very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The place is located in the best area to hang out - mar mikhael- and it looks nice. The waiters are nice too. But the food was really disappointing. The lentil salad was dry and tasteless, the fish and the steak tartatre were really average, and the pain perdu too sweet. Overall, i would go there again for the venue and ambiance but not for the food. Maybe i should try their special chicken next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“as expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

ever since i saw it opening i wanted to try it! i was caught by its warm decor and i was hoping the food would b as good as its physical setting. we went for birthday dinner.
food was great from the specialties such as poulet aux prunes to the soupe a l'ognion. we asked for an XL escalope was huge, perfect for two but not the best to order there if you wanna have the real experience. as for desert "chapeau"! can't say a word the gateau au chocolat was amazingggg!! yet disappointed that the tarte de la semaine and the macaron were not available on a friday eve! we had a french wine from their list was good. les amuses gueules (bread and butter) could be better.
service was good, mood was great. music could be chosen to better suit the place :)
will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Hearing this place was the newest thing, we booked ourselves in a week early for my birthday dinner. I was supper excited to eat here as I read a lot about it. Service was slow, I ordered scallops and got escalope (wrong) and then when they arrived they were cold. I truly believe this was a one off, as the owner was super apologetic and very kind. I would perhaps give it another shot… in some time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prune French Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Prune French Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prune French Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.