We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WH Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added WH Hotel to your Saves list
WH Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue 57, Lyon Street | Rue 57, Beirut 1103, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Down in hamra. Nicely laid out perfect staff lobby so gorgeous we were upgraded to a junior suite since the room we booked was not ready at 2pm. The room was spacious with all the necessary items. Only two things are1) if you read about the noise from the club downstairs. It is true. We stayed at 5 th floor and we could hear it. Couldn't say it stooped me from sleeping since I was tired but it could be an issue for someone else. 2). The toilet needs attention and serious upgrade. Can't say it was not clean but it was old.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
17
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Koudekerk aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had booked for 3 nights, 1 on business and 2 for leisure, I would recommend the hotel for both. A first pleasant surprise was that I was upgraded from my booked deluxe room to a junior suite (room 201). All hotels in Beirut are struggling with occupancy rates and WH was no exception, however this is definitely not due to the quality of the hotel.

It's a bit difficult to find as it's in a small side street 2 blocks away from Hamra street. The room was great with a small kitchen, walk-in closet, good sofa and comfortable bed. No view as the building is in the middle of a residential area.

They provide free wifi throughout the hotel, although on the last day it didn't work in the room (but still did in the lobby). There is a very wide variety of tv channels and complimentary water bottles, tea and coffee (however the tea-bags are not replenished, so grab some at breakfast if you want tea in the room :-)). Breakfast was typical Lebanese (lots of different olives, cheeses and lebnah), so if you like that you;re good.

The location is great as it's a 2 min walk from Hamra street, but far enough not to hear the noise. Also we walked to the famous rocks at the sea-side in about 15-20 minutes.

Very friendly staff, greets every morning and always ready to be of assistance.

The only thing missing for a business trip is a gym. Also although our room was non-smoking there still was a scent of smoke in the room.

Great place, I would stay here again if I come back to Beirut.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with my kids. I was impressed with the quality of service! Room was extra clean and the breakfast was very good. Staff was very friendly. I did enjoy the stay there. Of course, every hotel has its ups and downs. The room was not very big but bigger than average rooms in Beirut. Also, I tried calling the States from the hotel phone and I was charged two minutes ($3.2) just for dialing the number! I would never call from the hotel again! But, I didn't let that spoil the experience which was very good.
Oh, and we got to get a shuttle for free to the airport so that was really good!

Room Tip: Make sure to check the mini bar so you won't be charged by mistake! That was about to happen to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Firstly, this hotel was known as the Wiener House, but has now been rebranded as the WH Hotel

Goods:
1. Location - right next to the happening Hamra district - just 10,000 LL from any destination in Beirut
2. Excellent room decor
3. Cleanliness and comfort
4. Helpful and responsive staff - though not the most warm/smiling type
5. Complimentary drop off to the airport in a London style limo cab - though this was a limited period offer
6. Free Wi-Fi


Bads:
Hotel specific:
1. They stated that they offered babysitting services on the booking.com website - but they actually do not. Seemed extremely surprised when I mentioned this. Consequently, we could not step out at night and missed out on the great Beirut nightlife
2. Bathrooms are small with only a shower cabinet and no bath - I personally did not have an issue with this, but some other travellers might - hence mentioning up front
3. Hotel relatively unknown and difficult to locate. Hotel's website should put up a detailed map/driving directions to reach there
4. Hotel offered a kettle in the room, but tea bags only for the first night - after that the tea bags/coffee sachets were charged (pretty high). I saw other guests pilfering tea bags from the complimentary breakfast in the morning and taking them back to their rooms. This is kind of pointless. Hotel should rather provide the same in the rooms along with the kettle - as most international hotels do

Room specific:
1. Shower cabinet door did not close and consequently, the bathroom got flooded every time we took showers
2. AC was working weirdly - either chilled the room down to freezing levels or did not work at all and made the room feel like an oven. To the hotel's credit, they did offer to change our room but it was 12 midnight, so we declined

Room Tip: If you/your taxi driver cannot locate the Hotel - firstly, understand that it is NOT in Hamra - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WH Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WH Hotel

Address: Rue 57, Lyon Street | Rue 57, Beirut 1103, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WH Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4+ star trendy hotel located in the vivid Hamra, maintaining high end quality services with unbelievable rates. WH hotel encompasses a number of 62 glamorous rooms divided into 3 categories, the deluxe rooms, junior suites and two-storey executive suites. The stylish hotel provides a variety of services that include free wireless internet access, 24 hour room service, laundry, car rental, money exchange, tour bookings, ticketing and flight confirmation along with airport pick up & drop off. Guests at WH hotel can also enjoy VIP treatment and services varying from its beautician and babysitting services that are ordered upon request to ensure the guests’ utmost comfort. The hotel is also equipped with a business center and fully capable to cater to all sorts of conferences and meetings. At WH hotel you will find a highly professional team willing to serve you and ensure your comfort & satisfaction.WH Hotel will also present what will be Beirut’s notorious underground nightclub Uberhaus at the beginning of 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your WH Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WH Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;