We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“A terrible Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monroe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monroe Hotel to your Saves list
Monroe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kennedy Street, Solidere, Beirut 114850, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A terrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Recently, spent 4 nights on business and had terrible experience there. Rooms’ carpets were very dirty and smelled very bad. A/C. was not functioning properly. No A/C. inside the elevator (you feel the difference when you face the usual power interruption while in elevator. One restaurant only and the food quality and selection were very terrible (tastes like cooked few days ago). Staff not professional, you hear different opinions on single issue. One employee was only a bit knowledgeable, named Mohd. Swimming pool under maintenance since more than a year.
Overall, a hotel that I don’t recommend for any body and hardly can be classified as one star only.

Room Tip: Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnaaman, Manager at Monroe Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Salamin101,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We take our guests comments very seriously.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as you anticipated. We are looking into your comments in an effort to resolve these issues.

Regarding the pool, it has been closed for a while and still is closed. It does say so on our website as well as all online booking websites.

We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Beirut and hope to have the chance to make it up to you.

Sincerely,
Michelle Naaman
Director of Marketing & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    24
    20
    20
See reviews for
5
7
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nothing particular to say about this hotel, that is like thousand of average business hotels around the world. Average is the proper word. The good location in front of the St.George bay is balanced from the extra charged internet connection. The place it is safe, the service is a bit rough, but is efficient and helpful in case of emergency.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Monroe is a bit dated, but the rooms are clean and the sheets are comfortable. It is generally quiet other than an occasional disruption caused by honking horns of the traffic outside. Although a bit small, the rooms are adequate. The extra charge of $22.00 per 24 hours of internet is a bit annoying. On the other hand, it is a 5 minute walk to the Marina Walk district that has many excellent restaurants. Also, it is a 15 minute walk to the Souks which are new and modern.

Room Tip: Any room away from the main thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here one night for business and met some interesting people. Many of the wait staff and bar tenders are very friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: If you have time to stop by the bar ask for Johnny. He's a real nice guy and very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

On front near the marina. Friendly staff are there to greet you. Hotel is somewhat tired - swimming pool is empty and bar is not well frequented. Breakfast buffet is however acceptable and if pressed staff will provide omlettes and other dishes. Service is slow and "bored" Rooms are spacious and again a little tired. TV has enough channels for most visitors. Good location as far as airport transfers and distance to downtown. Easy 5 min walk to the new marina area or to the Hard Rock Cafe. As a business hotel this is good value and well located. It is however just a place to lay your head and is not a fully functioning hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnaaman, Manager at Monroe Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Paul Mastersrl,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel. We take our guests comments very seriously.

Thank you for your positive feedback.
As for the tired rooms, we are happy to inform you that we are planning on renovating our rooms by the end of 2013.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michelle Naaman
Director of Marketing & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I dont know where to start, but lets go
1- the AC was not working during my entire stay for no good reason
2- staff are not trained to deal with guests
3- food is of very low quality
4- the rooms are filthy
5- hotel services are expensive and take ages to get done "a very simply task of ironing a shirt took over an hour and costs more than 20 USD"

in conclusion avoid this crappy hotel!

Room Tip: just dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

just a terrible hotel, NO SERVICE, it s DIRTY, the staff changed my room just after 15 min, have to repack they even pretend to give me a better room but it was the same! AVOID ITat any price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnaaman, Manager at Monroe Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Fred M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We take our guests comments very seriously.
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We are looking into your comments in an effort to resolve these issues.

We hope to have the chance to make it up to you during your next visit to Beirut.

Sincerely,
Michelle Naaman
Director of Marketing & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monroe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monroe Hotel

Address: Kennedy Street, Solidere, Beirut 114850, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Beirut
#57 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monroe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Central district, overlooking the Beirut Marina Yacht Club. Across the street from Zaitunay Bay's Shops, Restaurants & Bars. Walking distance from Beirut Souks Shopping Center. The Hotel is within 7 km from Beirut International Airport and in close proximity to Archeological Sites and Exhibitions Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monroe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monroe Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monroe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.