We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“The worts hotel in the world” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Le Bristol Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mme Curie Street | Verdun, Beirut, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The worts hotel in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Where do i start,

1- Horrible, unfriendly staff, at check in , you feel they are uneducated, untrained, some cheap motel staff.
2- Horrible, old (not in a nice way) furniture and tiny rooms
3- They have signs in the rooms telling you you are not allowed to bring food and they make a big deal if they see holding a supermarket bag (and then they discover it has female pads)
4- Pool is on the roof and with no exaggeration it is smaller than a bath tub and has plastic chairs around it.. and people in most buildings around can see you and starre at you as it is too close... and they have plastic chairs around
5- Dont believe they have a gym, ask them to send you pics, it is a dirty room with 2 machines ONLY.
6- Bad quality food, breakfast was not fresh
7- Closed minded, they will ask you for marriage certificate
8- Unfriendly, unfriendly, unprofessional, horrible

It does not deserve any star..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazira E, General Manager at Le Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We thank you for the time you took out of your busy day to communicate your constructive comments.
Your note highlighted our vision towards a decision taken by our board of trustees over investing $40 Million dollars into renovating the building and recruiting new staff accordingly. We are actually in the midst of the construction site scheduled to end by February 2014. We will be delighted to extend an invitation for you and your spouse to be among the first invitees and have a firsthand experience with the newly renovated product.
Please give us a chance to compensate for your dissatisfaction and for this we thank you again.
Kindly communicate your name so we can enlist your contact on our VIP record.

Until then we remain.

Yours Sincerely,

Nazira El Atrache
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    19
    10
    10
See reviews for
10
23
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights

Check is was nice very personal no rush and was greeted upon arrival.

The check in staff where very nice to give me an upgrade and basically had a 1 bedroom flat in the heart of Beirut.


Rooms where clean and tidy a bit old fashioned but had lots of personality.

The only issues were with hot water and water pressure wasn't all that great but manageable. Another issue was sleep as there was new apartment complex being built and was a bit noisy in the morning.

Room service was extremely kind and brought lots of complimentary snacks and was treated like a king.

Room Tip: Facing the entrance of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazira E, General Manager at Le Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We thank you for staying in Hotel Le Bristol and appreciate very much the time you took to communicate your constructive comments.
Please note that reference to the water pressure, the hotel addressed that issue and will be solved permanently with the new coming renovation.

Until then we remain.

Nazira El Atrache
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel room was wonderful. Fully equipped with all amenities. Breakfast was not lavish, limited options. Staff helpful and courteous. Location wonderful near Hamra st. But due to ongoing repairs lot of noises during the day. Otherwise very nice hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazira E, General Manager at Le Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We thank you for staying in Hotel Le Bristol and appreciate very much the time you took to communicate your satisfaction with our services.
We truly look forward to seeing you again among us very soon.
Best regards,

Nazira El Atrache
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the hotel recently and found it to be excellent. The staff were always smiling and dealt with us with courtesy and respect. They were helpful and quick to deal with any issue however small. The hotel is due for refurbishment soon, however the floors that are open are immaculate. This was our first stay in Beirut and I have to say that it was made special by the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and ensure we were safe. The hotel is well positioned for the shopping areas and the coast. The pool is lovely. If we travel to Beirut again, I will definitely book le Bristol.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazira E, General Manager at Le Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
May we express our sincere gratitude for choosing Hotel Le Bristol for your stay.
We thank you for communicating your satisfaction with the services rendered.
We look forward to your next visit soon among us.
Best regards,
Nazira El Atrache
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, KSA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is nice from the inside, very clean room, helpful reception staff... maybe too helpful that makes you uncomfortable
The room they gave me was actually very hot, i had to spend the night with really light clohes and i almost suffocated.
The pool was cosy, you feel it's a tanning pool and not for swimming.
The location is in middle of Beirut which makes it near all the places you wana visit but also very crowded... you start thinking of walking better than moving in a car in that area.
I had an acceptable experience there, would of course go bak to this hotel if i'm coming for few days only and alone, but for couples? i suggest another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazira E, General Manager at Le Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We thank you for staying in Hotel Le Bristol and appreciate very much the time you took to communicate your constructive comments.
We truly apologize for the discomfort caused due to the AC condition which is totally unacceptable. We are about to start our major renovation that will first address the air conditioning.
You will be informed through our website of the date of the termination of all the works which will give us a chance to send you an invitation to come back to us so you can give us a chance to best serve you in the near future.
Best regards,
Nazira El Atrache
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Booked this hotel for our stay in Beirut since it was stated to be a 5-star. Which it is NOT and we had much trouble at our stay.
First of all we got a room at 2nd floor only to be waken up at 7 am, due to there was a big renovation going on at the 3rd floor. The bathroom door could not be closed without jamming and the lights couldn´t be switced off. We complained and was moved to a room on 4th floor, but quickly found out that the 5th floor was also under renovation. We did get a formal excuse from the hotel management plus some fruit and cakes... But if you are looking for a quiet hotel, don´t book this.
It was ok clean though, but two times we found cockroaches in the bathroom and there was a lot of nasty mosquitoes. The pool was much smaller than on the pictures and it was impossible to get any shadow at the roof terrace + the air condition was so noisy that you couldn´t stay there for long. The service was so-so, and the receptionists didn´t know much when asking for recommendations etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolmarwan, Manager at Le Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We truly apologize for all the discomfort we have caused to you due to the bad experience you went through. We are about to start a major renovation in the floors you have mentioned in your note. Nevertheless, the dates you were in the hotel had some noise due to the evacuation of some rooms in order to prepare them for the renovation phase. This shouldn’t have caused so much discomfort, and for this I truly apologize. Allow us to make sure that this proposal is mentioned on your next visit where you will be our invitee and you will for sure see the difference since we will be done with this whole project. We are starting the renovation at the end of August, 2012 and this will last for a full year, so we were promised. I urge you to give us another chance then in order to serve you best.
Our sincere apology for all what you went through.
Yours Sincerely,
Marwan el Sheikh
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The staff is very courteous and helpful. Each room has a safe, tea kettle, and coffee/tea. The manager sent up a very nice pastry from the kitchen on my birthday - I thought it was a nice touch. The hotel was within walking distance of many of the places in Beirut I wanted to see, and was also a nice $12 cab ride away from other locations... until I figured out that the cabbies were cheating us, and that you can get anywhere in Beirut for $2!!!!

I plan to stay at this hotel again - the only absurd thing is that internet is $22 a day for in-room service. This is obnoxious and an intolerable price - and the code that is provided can only be used for one device at a time! Come on, this is 2012! Even leisure travelers have to stay connected to the office, with laptops and smartphones, one room may need 4 connections at any time! $22 a day is not an appropriate price under any circumstance.

I did not wake up early enough on any day to sample the breakfast, but the room service prices were generally reasonable (and cheap compared to hotels in other cities). Maybe the rooms don't have a view, but if you are in Beirut for leisure, then get out and explore the city!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolmarwan, Manager at Le Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
May we express our sincere gratitude for choosing Hotel Le Bristol for your stay. We appreciate very much your comments on the services rendered in the hotel and we look forward to your next visit among us hopefully soon.

Best regards,

Marwan El Sheikh
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bristol Hotel

Address: Mme Curie Street | Verdun, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Bristol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 60 years of expertise, Hotel Le Bristol combines modern comfort with personalized service. Classically elegant and luxurious, Le Bristol is the epitome of timeless refinement and Lebanese hospitality.A long-established favorite in Beirut and the region, Le Bristol is a truly Five Star hotel experience, offering international standards of service with an individualized touch. Innovative and always evolving, Le Bristol knows how to answer your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bristol Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.