We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Beautiful boutique hotel (review of the rooftop terrace restaurant)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albergo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albergo to your Saves list
Hotel Albergo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Abdel Wahab El Inglizi St, Beirut, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Beirut
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel (review of the rooftop terrace restaurant)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had dinner on the rooftop terrace of the Albergo hotel on Tuesday night with a few friends and it was the perfect send off for a friend leaving Beirut after having spent a year there. Lovely atmosphere, stunning interiors - you end up wishing you could take half the decor home with you as it's so beautiful, gorgeous damascene lamps etc. Although we sat on the terrace sitting inside is recommended too because it's so pretty. The service was excellent and very friendly - very cool 'light-up' menus. Half of us went for pasta and half of us went for the 'chicken aromatic curry' dish. I would recommend the pasta over the chicken. They brought us delicious chocolate at the end of our meal too - definite plus points :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Jasmine A,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Albergo Rooftop for your dinner and for taking the time for sharing your pleasant review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to know you enjoyed the mood and the cuisine, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future in one of our outlets,

Best regards,

Jihane Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
50
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

In a 1930s building, Hotel Albergo has a natural charm that you won't find in the more modern hotels of Beirut. The rooms are spacious and the staff are very helpful. Evidently it's on the higher end of the market but I believe can justify the prices it charges. The rooftop terrace is charming, a calm spot away from the hum of the city; just visit it to sample the pink lemonade and evesdrop on the jetset of Beirut who mix French, English and Arabic in one phrase. Perhaps to be visited before the hotel adds an extension - which is just a gaping hole behind the hotel for now.

Room Tip: I'd go for a street side room as the back rooms look over several building sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear GON_11,
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux and for taking the time to share this lovely review on Trip Advisor.
I am really glad you enjoyed it as well as the Albergo Rooftop.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon in our premises,
Best regards,

Jihane Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We loved Beirut. There are bigger and brighter hotels to stay in but we enjoyed walking around Beirut and loved this small hotel. The room was a good size and the food in the hotel was excellent. The front desk staff were excellent and helped us arrange some tours and recommended some excellent restaurants - we ate Armenian food for the first time in our lives - it is delicious.
If you are looking for something charming - I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear global_nomad_pacific,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am really delighted to know that our Front Desk staff helped you in organizing tours and recommending restaurants.

I really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in your “Home away from Home”,

Best regards,

Jihane Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed one romantic night in the Albergo in Beirut, which is located in the heart of the city in Sodeco. Honestly, i had heard so many good things about it, and still managed to get pleasantly surprised by the boutique hotel feeling with the meticulous decorations across the whole hotel (we walked around and asked the bell boy to give us a tour) and the historic artifacts where also quite interesting. The service was also very pleasant and the guys were very kind and helpful. The room was perfect in terms of bed, sofa, decoration to die for, but the best part was the bathroom with old style marble and wood. The courtesy fruit basket was replaced by a soft yumi cake and some exotic fruits with traditional charab al tut (raspberry juice) and dried fruits and nuts. In the morning we even ordered all of the breakfast (american, french and lebanese if i remember well) and they were all quite good! Jams, pancakes, labneh, zaatar, and croissant, and eggs and bacon and fruits and juices and breads of all kind were all delicious. I would definitely go again to escape the city :)

Room Tip: Depending on your budget and how many people you are, ask to see the rooms first and visit them. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear beiruti,
I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux and for taking the time to share your sincere comments on Trip Advisor.
I am really pleased to know you enjoyed your time in our premises, and I really look forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future,
Best regards,


Jihane Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The staff can't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome. As it was my second visit, they upgraded me to a suite for no extra cost and it was bigger than my flat in London! The food in the restaurant is very good and breakfast was lovely too. Best scrambled eggs I've ever had.

The staff organised cars for me and charged them to the room as I'd heard horror stories of trying to get cabs (especially as I don't speak Arabic). They also recommended some day trips for me as I had some free time.

I'll definitely be going back; really lovely hotel and city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Grattafagiolo,
I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to know that you enjoyed our rooftop restaurant cuisine as well as our scrambled eggs.
I really hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future in your Beiruti Home


Jihane Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had booked two rooms and they are very personal and different. The staff and management was very friendly and helpful in all respects. The room service came within 5 minutes of ordering!

We had dinner and drinks in the restaurant on the top floor, and enjoyed all the dished, in particular the crab salad. Thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Anne-Tine,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux and for taking the time to share your opinion on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our premises, and I really look forward to welcoming you back in your “Home away from Home” in the near future.

Best regards,

Jihane Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

Interesting hotel with stylish rooms each has a taste and experience

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Tarazitarek,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux and for taking the time to share your sincere comments on Trip Advisor.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our premises in the near future,

Best regards,

Jihane Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albergo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo

Address: 137 Abdel Wahab El Inglizi St, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#10 Business Hotel in Beirut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Albergo 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Albergo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Beirut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albergo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.